We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and breakfast surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Herndon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service and breakfast surprise”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We arrived at 9 PM and got a warm greeting from the lady at the desk. She was able to provide us with all the information we needed for the next day about the area and times and directions to places we needed. An alert and knowledgeable hoteler.

The next morning was a pleasant surprise. The breakfast area was well provisioned with cereals, chrispy bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy. Fruit juices, yogurt, and fruit. The favorite was the Holiday Inn signature danishes. Each day the main breakfast was changed with cheese omlets, sausage and the like. Pancakes which were surprisingly good were made with a push button machine.

I mention about the breakfast as it was all bountifully provieded in a 20x20 room and no more than 35 foot of wall space. Amazing!

In the evening there were cookies and coffee in the lobby.

The room was very nice, quiet, and daily well kept. The wireless was very simple to use and stayed functional all night each night. There is a printing station and high speed PCs for guest use in the lobby.

All in all I would give this a rating of 3.5 stars

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osotheold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashDCHotels, Owner and Management Representative at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi osotheold,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is always great to hear from our guests after they have left.

We are happy to hear that we were able to provide a great experience during your stay starting off with check-in and all the way to your departure. We are also glad that you were able to fully enjoy our great Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet for our guests to start their day off right. It is also great to hear that you could take advantage of the other great amenities we offer our guests.

We hope to see you again soon during your next trip to the area!

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    96
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
64
56
35
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have to stay in the Dulles airport area on a regular basis and must say that this hotel offers a over all above the average in excellence.From the moment you call for the airport shuttle through check in and check out. I was treated as if I was in the good hands of friends.The staff went out of the way more than once in kind and helpful manner.The rooms are clean with updates ie flat screen tv,free wifi. The complimentary breakfast excellent with plenty of hot and cold choices,plus fresh fruit. and great coffee and tea 27/7. The location is better the all the hotels I've stayed in the area. Located next to a enormous super market and across the street to a shopping center with at least 7 full size international restaurants it must be the envy off all the hotels.I hope to return soon. *****

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashDCHotels, Owner and Management Representative at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear victor l,

Thank you very much for writing a review of our hotel. Our guests are our highest priority and it is always good to hear how we are doing.

We are happy to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel. We strive to provide the best experience possible and we believe that starts with a great team and treating all of our guests as family. It is also great that you were able to relax and enjoy all of the other amenities we offer during your stay.

We are looking forward to having the pleasure of serving you again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Clean hotel with excellent front desk staff. I have stayed in this hotel twice in the last year for one night each time. Both ttimes were good stays with very clean rooms. The parking lot was crowded both times, this time with a large number of cherry picker trucks. The neighborhood is just across the line from Reston but Herndon has a very different feel. A litttle less upscale suburban and a little more working class. Safeway next door and many restaurant choices within walking and 5 minute drive. This is an authentic two and half star hotel. The staff does the most they can with the property. I did not sample breakfast but it looked good with hot and cold food. I really liked the free internet included and the staff made it very easy to access.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longreach06830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashDCHotels, Owner and Management Representative at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi Longreach06830,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We love to hear from our guests.

We are glad to hear that your past stays have been good and that you were able to relax in a clean room. Our hotel is definitely a seasoned property however as you pointed out it is very clean and we do renovate on a regular schedule to provide our guests with an excellent experience. We are also glad that you enjoyed the area and that our team was able to make the difference during your stay.

We are looking forward to having another chance to serve you again, hopefully for more than one night next time.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I was acquainted with the area and was staying in extended stays for 6 months before staying in the Holiday Inn Express. My experiences was by far the best. The service I received was above average from the staff. My room was always cleaned to my needs when I needed cleaning. And check out was without stess. Thanks for the great stay.

Room Tip: the room over the lobby was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashDCHotels, Owner and Management Representative at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Arthur W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We love to hear from our guests.

It is great to hear that we were able to make your training trip more enjoyable and take care of your needs during your stay. We do whatever we can to make our guests feel at home during their stay.

We are looking forward to having another chance to serve you the next time you have training in the area or for any other reason you may be coming to Reston or Herndon.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Even for "chain hotels" I often call the hotel at my destination directly rather than use the central reservation number. I'm so glad I did for our recent stay at this hotel. When I called to ask about the hotel's "park and fly" service at Dulles Airport, the call was answered by a marvelously helpful man named Tahir. Tahir provided all the information I needed and even helped me get a better rate for my stay than I would have received through central reservations. My husband and I stayed overnight at the hotel on either end of a 3-week trip out of the country. The hotel's shuttle took us to Dulles and picked us up when we returned. Our savings in not paying to park at Dulles almost paid for the two nights at the hotel, and because of our excellent accommodations at the hotel we were rested when we started the trip and were able to get a good night's sleep at the end of our long journey before we headed home. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was totally satisfactory, there are excellent restaurants near the hotel, and the service desk personnel were consistently helpful. We'll definitely stay here again when we need to fly out of Dulles, and I was pleased to meet Tahir during our stay so that I could thank him in person for his help.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels4Fun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashDCHotels, Owner and Management Representative at Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Travels4Fun3,

Thank you very much for writing such a thorough review of our hotel. We love hearing from our guests so we can try and provide the amazing experience you had to all of our other guests as well.

It is great to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and that we were able to find a great solution for your needs and parking at the hotel. We do whatever we can to address our guests unique needs. It is also great to hear you were able to take advantage of our great location and all of the comfort amenities we provide. We are especially proud that our team members were able to make the biggest impact on you as we strongly believe that great service starts with a great team.

We are looking forward to having another chance to serve you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Express Reston/Herndon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Herndon hotels
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
1.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn Dulles International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Herndon Reston
1.2 km away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#10 of 20 in Herndon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston
Address: 485 Elden Street, Herndon, VA 20170 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport)
Region: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Herndon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Herndon
#9 Family Hotel in Herndon
#11 Romantic Hotel in Herndon
#16 Business Hotel in Herndon
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,558 - ₹ 11,891
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 4 miles from the Wiehle Reston East Metro Station and 7 miles from the Dulles International Airport, our Herndon, VA hotel offers free shuttle service to both locations upon request. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast everyday of your stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston. Other amenities that highlight this hotel are complimentary wireless internet, 24 hour business center and 24 hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport Herndon/Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Reston Herndon-Dulles Airport Hotel Herndon
Holiday Inn Herndon
Herndon Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing