We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Other better choices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Harrisonburg
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Other better choices”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I booked this hotel mainly because of the indoor pool which I thought could provide some entertainment for my kids while we visited the area. We paid more for this hotel than other non-pool hotels in recognition of this amenity. The other comments I read, after booking unfortunately, were right! The pool is freezing cold. My kids actually got in, but I would not let them stay in for long because seriously the thermometer on the pool filter said 72. 72 is all right for air temperature but look it up-generally 80 is considered cold or cool for pool water! On a positive note, it was clean. Probably because most people are not brave enough to use it! Overall I felt the hotel was clean. The decor was attractive. The free breakfast had the most offerings of any I've seen for a comparable hotel. There was a funky chemical odor throughout the hotel-cleaning supplies and/or deodorizer. They were just stronger than what seemed normal for a hotel to me. Also our refrigerator in the room was broken and I got the distinct feeling from the girl at the front desk that she was all alone there in terms of any support to fix any problem that arose. I felt bad for her actually. Overall I felt like the indoor pool was a huge disappointment since it was the main reason we chose this hotel over others. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toonces76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    165
    55
    17
    14
See reviews for
273
119
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed at the Country Inn/Harrisonburg while attending a JMU football game. The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. Location was good, just off I-81 and convenient to free shuttles to football game. The downside was the building construction - walls are paper-thin. We heard conversations from adjoining rooms spoken in **normal** volume. I can see where loud-talkers/screaming could penetrate the walls ... but hearing conversations from folks in the next room was plain odd. Noise from hallway was also excessive. My hearing is bad to begin with. Family residing with me in the same room had the same complaint. My second complaint was value. I paid $150 including local taxes for 1 night. For that amount, I can get a real nice (and quiet) room in Vegas.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the larger suites that had a seperate sitting area with a desk and a fold out lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DodgerDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
201 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

After reading some of the other reviews, I wonder if I stayed at the same hotel. We had a room at the end of the first floor and had no issues with it at all. The rooms are very spacious, well kept, and modernized. The staff was very gracious, this hotel made me want to look for a Country Inn and Suites whenever I travel. This is the last hotel we stayed in on our two week vacation and, trust me, we stayed in some doozies, this one was one of the best by far. The only complaint I had was that the pool was supposed to be heated, but clearly was not, as it was definitly freezing! The breakfast was good and my husband loved the free cookies offered at the desk! Will stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Room smelled moldy, mixed with a cleaner smell in an attempt to mask odor. Hotel ran out of shampoo, tissue and sugar. The place is nice looking with a good set up.. The breakfast was pretty good for the price. I would return there, but I would ask for room on higher floor and make sure to bring my own supplys.

Room Tip: Take room on higher floor and bring on supplys
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Catharines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stopped here on our way home from north carolina via blue ridge parkway. We had a lst floor room which was our error as the pool was downstairs and checkin was near the pool and lst floor smelled very musty therefore our room was very musty and was in need of some renovations. We were there only overnight so we persevered. The rate was good as we used a traveller coupon. Don't think I would stay here again as I can see no reason to come back to Harrisonburg again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
5.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
6.0 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
2.8 km away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
Address: 27 Covenant Dr, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-2682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisonburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisonburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrisonburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,545 - ₹ 10,238
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Harrisonburg Hotel Harrisonburg
Country Inn And Suites Harrisonburg
Country Inn Harrisonburg
Harrisonburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing