We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experiance”
Review of Our Mom Eugenia

Our Mom Eugenia
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Great Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 75
Description: Authentic home-style Greek comfort food in the heart of Great Falls, Virginia!
Restaurant details
Description: Authentic home-style Greek comfort food in the heart of Great Falls, Virginia!
Reviewed 23 September 2018

I very rarely write restaurant reviews, but felt compelled to share the great experience we received at "Our Mom Eugenia" .

My wife and I visited Our Mom Eugenia yesterday for diner (eighth time?) and true to form the food, service, and atmosphere was spectacular, perhaps one of the best in Great Falls. Making reservations could not have been easier, the manager who greeted us at the door was extremely gracious, and as always the wait staff was polite, friendly, and knowledgeable.

Needless to say, we will be back. Life is too short to miss out on such great dining experiences especially when accompanied by such great food in an open and friendly environment. Cheers!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobertPav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia_Alex_Phil, Owner at Our Mom Eugenia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Robert, thank you so much for your review, we're always happy to see you in the restaurant and it's a pleasure to serve and cook for you. Looking forward to seeing you again soon, all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2018

If you like authentic Greek food and excellent service and a welcoming staff and owners, then you need to visit Our Mom Eugenia. Nestled in a cozy shopping center right off Hwy 7, you may want to live closer to this restaurant.

My amazing fiance and I took our moms here last night for dinner. Their first visit, definintely not our first though.

My mom had fond memories of the "flaming cheese" saganaki, when we grew up in Chicago. She ate half of the order when it arrived! She also said it was the best veal burger (with feta on top) she ever ate. Their hand-cut french fries...let me tell you...a must - i ate more than i should from her plate.

The tzatsiki is fantastic. The beets...the large Greek Salad...my fiance had a lamb shank special.

Naturally, we were too full for any dessert but the owners sent out some dessert anyway because we brought our moms! That was the sweetest thing to do.

What a surprise...we ate all the desserts! Get the Greek milk custard pie with fyllo pastry: official name: Galaktouboureko. Also: Greek orange sponge cake in sweet syrup. Official name: Portokalopita.

Special place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CoronaOldTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia_Alex_Phil, Owner at Our Mom Eugenia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you so much for your support, it was a pleasure seeing you and your fiancee come in with both your moms! It's an honor and a blessing to have customers like you, you feel like family to us! Much love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

2 of us dined here for the first time on a Saturday night. The decor is casual and unpretentious. Our waiter was friendly and fairly attentive. We chose a Greek white white, new to us, which was good. We had a variety of appetizers. The spanikopita and imam baildi were excellent. The grilled octopus was good, but a bit bland. We split the mixed grill entree. The chicken and steak were good. The lamb was surprisingly bland. The baclava was good. It had more cinnamon and less honey than usual. The prices were very reasonable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 58SAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia_Alex_Phil, Owner at Our Mom Eugenia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I very rarely write restaurant reviews, but felt compelled to share the egregious treatment we received at this establishment.

My wife and I tried Our Mom Eugenia several weeks ago for the first time. Although the food during that first visit was far from spectacular (in fact, I would rate it well below most other Great Falls restaurants), we were passing by on a Saturday evening and decided to give it a second chance. As this is not a destination or special occasion restaurant, we did not think to make a reservation. This did not seem to be a problem, as a friendly waiter immediately began to show us to a nice table in the corner. Seeing this, the manager (actually one of the owners I believe) swept in and rudely informed us that he had a number of reservations at 7 pm (it was 5:40 pm) and that if we elected to sit at a table, we absolutely would need to be finished by 7 pm. He also stated repeatedly that he thought we would be more comfortable at the bar. When we stated that we just wanted a quick bite and would easily finish by 7 pm (we were intending to have a full meal after all, and yes, we understand how reservations work), he seemed annoyed and reversed course, leading us away from the nice corner table to the absolute worst table in the empty restaurant, right by the front door.

When the same friendly waiter returned, we asked if we could perhaps move to a different table in the completely empty restaurant given that some of those surely were reserved for the same 7 pm slot. The waiter looked nervous, and stated only that the manager had told him that was the only table available. By that point, we had had enough, and got up to leave. As we walked out the door, the manager ran over, demanding to know why we were not satisfied. When we told him, the manager incredibly attempted to blame the poor waiter (the only redeeming employee we had met thus far) for the "table mix-up," which was not a mix-up at all.

Needless to say, we will not be back, which is a shame as we live nearby and dine in Great Falls at least four times per week. Life is too short for appalling and passive aggressive management, especially when accompanied by mediocre food.

1  Thank trotamundos0881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia_Alex_Phil, Owner at Our Mom Eugenia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

So you gave us a one-star review because you were, in fact, seated immediately upon arrival, without a reservation, early one Saturday evening at the only table that was available, just before the dinner rush. We made our best effort to accommodate you by offering you two options: either the window table from 5:40 when you arrived until 7PM when the next party arrived, or anywhere at the bar. You chose to be seated at the window table, the only table available, after having been informed of the reservations situation that evening by one of the owners. Your server also explained the situation. Yet, you decided that you did not like that table and demanded that you be seated somewhere else, even though we explained to you that every other table was reserved. How inconsiderate of you to make such a demand while our other patrons had planned ahead and made a reservation. Your reaction was to leave abruptly before ordering and threaten us with a bad review. We anticipated your extortionist actions so we went ahead and took a screenshot of our reservations for that evening, which we showed you then in an attempt to explain your seating arrangement. The screenshot is available for everyone to see at this link: https://ibb.co/mCoVC9 These are the ways of society these days that we have to deal with a feckless person's diatribe written under the cloak of anonymity. Instead of trying to show some understanding and put yourself in the other person's shoes, you retreat behind your screen and furiously bang away at your keyboard to vent your frustration over things that don't matter: a table you did not like. Really?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We went for my bday lunch without the kids and the food was so delicious, you could tell their Greek mother was putting her touch on every dish! It felt authentic and the drinks were excellent too. I had an Ouzo martini and was feeling really great by the end of the lunch. They even brought out a superb orange sponge cake for my birthday... what a pleasant experience. I’d definitely love to come back.

Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenia_Alex_Phil, Owner at Our Mom Eugenia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Thank you Jessica for your wonderful review, we're so happy you had a great experience at our restaurant and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Our Mom Eugenia also viewed

Great Falls, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 
Great Falls, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 
Great Falls, Fairfax County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to Our Mom Eugenia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing