We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Party. We were well looked after.”
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stanford
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our Old English Restaurant with its oak beams, inglenook fireplace in our front bar and new log burner in our eating lounge room area which is very popular with our patrons especially in our winter months. Good quality meals are enjoyed in comfortable surroundings with a choice of our Chef's Specialities on the A La Carte menu. Our ever popular Sunday roast lunches are available from 12 noon.The restaurant seats approximately 150 guests and bookings for parties both large and small can be catered for. This includes weddings, see our wedding package on our website. You will receive a warm welcome if you choose full meal or a just drink at the bar. We have now launched our new senior citizens menu, two courses for £7.95 And three courses for £9.95. We also have a lunch deal available to all ages, this includes two course for £9.95 or three course for £11.95. We have also just launched our Christmas 2016 menu which is also available to view on our web site
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

There were ten of us and we were looked after from the moment we arrived. The starters all came out at the same time, were piping hot and delicious. After a nice gap, the mains all arrived together. I had the lamb which was almost tender enough to fall off the bone. All in all everyone loved the food, and there was plenty of it. The staff brought out the birthday cake singing Happy Birthday.My wife and I stayed for the night. The room was big, the bed comfortable and tea and coffee is in the room. Beautiful modern clean bathroom and shower. There’s even a tv on the wall in there.
A lovely evening, nice beer, great food.

Thank Bedfordshireclanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, General Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

thank you for your review and we are pleased that you and your family had a great experience here with us at the green man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2018

Simply awful experience which we would not wish on others. The chicken was dry and almost inedible. The food was stacked on the plate in an appetising manner

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chris_stevens491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

7 of us came here for a lunch we had booked table
Waited an hour for food and we were 2nd people in restaurant
I had chicken so dry and dauphonise Potato’s burnt, pizza was swimming in crease and the cottage pie cold by this time restaurant really busy and never got a waitress to come back and ask if food was ok
When asked to take pizza away not even touched never asked if everything was ok
Waitress attitude stinks and has no interpersonal people skills in the wrong job
DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ITS THE PITS !!!

1  Thank familygirl22Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Your comments have been taken on board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

It is such a shame because the food is actually ok however it is completely overshadowed by the terrible service. We waited well over an hour just for our mains to arrive. No one came to our table in that time so had to order drinks at the bar. When we chased it up and said it wasn’t good enough we barely received an apology. The food finally arrived but again no one came back to check everything was ok. No one came to clear the plates. Just had to get the bill and leave. Almost 2 hours in the restaurant and all we ordered were 4 main courses. The young staff then insisted on discussing the customers behind the bar while we could hear them..... that includes our table. This is was the second visit after a fairly bad first visit but thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt and try again. Certainly will not make that mistake again. NEW STAFF NEEDED.

1  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018
Google Translation

Your comments have been taken on board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Fourteen of us were looked after splendidly last week at this friendly pub. Food was great as was service. We were a large group but the staff managed us very well and we all had a good meal - tasty and good potions. Very good experience.

Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A, Front Office Manager at The Green Man, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for such a brilliant review and it is appreciated very much by our staff who try their best to make all our guests happy. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Northill, Bedfordshire
 
Old Warden, Bedfordshire
 
Henlow, Bedfordshire
Henlow, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing