We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Gloucester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gloucester
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Chose this hotel as we were able to use point on a suite. Perfect for our family of 6. Two queen beds and a pull out double sofa. Double size room with a mini fridge, microwave and small kitchinette area. Just worked out excellent for our 3 night stay. Very clean, very new hotel. About 20 miles or so from Busch Gardens and the water park. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSGAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnGloucester, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Water Country USA and Busch Gardens are two of our favorite weekend getaways as well. 30 minutes of driving, an entire day of fun!

-Beverly Black, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    77
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
159
62
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This Hampton Inn is nicely located for a quiet stay while remaining close to the attractions of Colonial Williamsburg and Jamestown, not to mention the lovely town of Gloucester and its sister towns in the area. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet. Since the area is covered with creeks and inlets we got a parking lot serenade from a bull frog.
The Inn is located off in a retail strip off a busy highway but it's set back from the road and a quick turn off the main highway leads through the towns.
The pool is your usual, over-chlorinated indoor pool - fine for exercise or allowing the kids to let off steam.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Argon321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonInnGloucester, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
We are so happy you enjoyed exploring our hometown, we love it too and you are welcome back anytime!

-Beverly Black, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby,England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Having stayed previously at the Williamsburg Hampton Inn Central, we knew what to expect here, and generally speaking, we got it. The same very comfortable bed, and decent sized room, with a pool had we so wished.

Breakfast offers good fruit and sticky pastries etc, as well as a curious McDonalds kind of hot offering - typically meat patties and powdered egg eaten with bend plastic cutlery off cardboard plates.

The hotel is only a mile at most from Gloucester, which has a pretty little high street with the old courthouse, though not a lot else. There is a pretty park nearby (Beaverdam).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We come to Gloucester every year to visit relatives and go to the Oyster Festival in Urbanna. This is probably the 4th or 5th time we have stayed at this hotel and once again, we enjoyed it. My kids love the pool (though it is a bit overly chlorinated - bring goggles). The breakfast is always plentiful and well stocked and I really like the dining area. The cookies are also a nice treat when coming back to the hotel in the evening. I want to give a special thanks to Mary on the front desk, who called me on my cell phone to let me know that the cleaning crew had found my daughter's wallet left behind in the room. We were already on our drive back home, but they sent it back to us. It was really appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bitttybee, General Manager at Hampton Inn Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for staying at the Hampton Inn. Looking forward to having you as a guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linthicum, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed 2 nights and loved it. The room was spotless and spacious and the hotel staff could not have been nicer. We were pleasantly surprised with our included breakfast. We expected a continental breakfast and were happy to find eggs , sausage and waffles plus many other choices. Will be staying here again when we are in Gloucester.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tibbiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.1 km away
Quality Inn Gloucester
Quality Inn Gloucester
#2 of 2 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
38.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Kilmarnock
24.7 km away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport News Inn & Suites
19.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
17.1 km away
King's Creek Plantation Resort
King's Creek Plantation Resort
#18 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gloucester

Property: Hampton Inn Gloucester
Address: 6638 Forest Hill Ave, Gloucester, VA 23061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Gloucester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gloucester
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,109 - ₹ 11,248
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gloucester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gloucester Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing