We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Doctor's Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 135
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
US$ 67
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 124
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
US$ 58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
107
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver trailfront porchthe blue ridge parkwaybed and breakfastcomfortable bed we have ever sleptblue grassprivate bathroomfresh baked cookiescommon areasnext morningwe've stayednice breakfastother guestsone night stayconventionkeys
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Doctor's Inn is the best ever. Margo is an innkeeper at heart and makes a wonderful breakfast. The Bowie Room is warm, inviting and comfortable. Visiting on the front porch topped off a great trip. I will definitely return next year and recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast to all my friends.

Room Tip: The Bowie Room is wonderful. It is away from traffic, and therefore is very quiet. The view of the garden is beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdytrt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Doctor's Inn is just a lovely B&B - one of the best. Visited for biking on nearby trails. Wish it was closer to my home so I could stay there regularly. The accommodations were so clean, comfortable, elegant - loved sitting on the front porch. Margo was a great host - breakfast was terrific and the bedrooom was so restful. I was complete charmed by the place and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Accommodations were VERY nice, host was lovely, amenities superb, and breakfast delicious. Downtown Galax is a short walk with several nice restaurant options and a wonderful fiddle store. Also wonderful walking trails nearby, and the Blue Ridge Parkway is about 10 minutes away. Would definitely stay there again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsy_stoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We had to go to the Blue Ridge Music Center for a work trip, and we were lucky enough to stumble upon reviews for The Doctor's Inn in Galax, the closest town to the music center on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the sweetest dogs (outside, of course). When we got there, we had to check in quickly to get our event on time, and innkeeper Margo was very accomodating and helpful in helping us get set up in our room and back out the door (with water and a cookie in hand). The inn was beautiful and clean, with interesting furnishings and details that were perfectly done. The decor and furnishings of the inn look more like the house of a well-traveled, well-read, interesting neighbor vs. the standard B&B decor.

When we arrived back to the inn at 11pm that night, it turns out that we didn't have the right key. One call to Margo and she was there within minutes apologizing to us for the inconvenience (when we should have apologized to her)! When we settled in, the bed, room, and pillows were so comfortable and we got a wonderful nights sleep. The shower and amenities were fabulous, too.

Breakfast the next morning was delightful, and Margo was careful to make a breakfast that avoided my many food allergies, but still met the needs of the whole group. She was attentive without being overbearing, and the dining room was the perfect size for us to interact with the other guests.

It was the best B&B we have stayed at and we will be back. From my research, the price wasn't too much more than mid-range hotels in the area and it is absolutely worth the cost. Wonderful, wonderful! I hope we have the occasion SOON to stay more than one night and actually get to spend some time in the rest of the house and on the insanely perfect front porch.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The old antiques and beautiful wood decor, took our breath away! We were thrilled with the accomodations and Margo was a fantastic hostess. She was able to help us with last minute plans and make our honeymoon stay the memory of a lifetime. Thanks Margo!

Room Tip: Lots of sun/warmth in the morning = Bolin Room
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwbraman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews