We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back again!”
Review of The Doctor's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Doctor's Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Galax B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Will be back again!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Margo's unique abilities make this B & B the place you want to come back too. Her warm smile & friendliness makes you feel at home. Each breakfast was different & delicious from most B & B's due to her tallented cooking. If in this area do not miss staying here!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCOLLINS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
68
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nesbit
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Doctor's Inn is the best ever. Margo is an innkeeper at heart and makes a wonderful breakfast. The Bowie Room is warm, inviting and comfortable. Visiting on the front porch topped off a great trip. I will definitely return next year and recommend this wonderful bed and breakfast to all my friends.

Room Tip: The Bowie Room is wonderful. It is away from traffic, and therefore is very quiet. The view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdytrt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Doctor's Inn is just a lovely B&B - one of the best. Visited for biking on nearby trails. Wish it was closer to my home so I could stay there regularly. The accommodations were so clean, comfortable, elegant - loved sitting on the front porch. Margo was a great host - breakfast was terrific and the bedrooom was so restful. I was complete charmed by the place and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Accommodations were VERY nice, host was lovely, amenities superb, and breakfast delicious. Downtown Galax is a short walk with several nice restaurant options and a wonderful fiddle store. Also wonderful walking trails nearby, and the Blue Ridge Parkway is about 10 minutes away. Would definitely stay there again next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsy_stoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We had to go to the Blue Ridge Music Center for a work trip, and we were lucky enough to stumble upon reviews for The Doctor's Inn in Galax, the closest town to the music center on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the sweetest dogs (outside, of course). When we got there, we had to check in quickly to get our event on time, and innkeeper Margo was very accomodating and helpful in helping us get set up in our room and back out the door (with water and a cookie in hand). The inn was beautiful and clean, with interesting furnishings and details that were perfectly done. The decor and furnishings of the inn look more like the house of a well-traveled, well-read, interesting neighbor vs. the standard B&B decor.

When we arrived back to the inn at 11pm that night, it turns out that we didn't have the right key. One call to Margo and she was there within minutes apologizing to us for the inconvenience (when we should have apologized to her)! When we settled in, the bed, room, and pillows were so comfortable and we got a wonderful nights sleep. The shower and amenities were fabulous, too.

Breakfast the next morning was delightful, and Margo was careful to make a breakfast that avoided my many food allergies, but still met the needs of the whole group. She was attentive without being overbearing, and the dining room was the perfect size for us to interact with the other guests.

It was the best B&B we have stayed at and we will be back. From my research, the price wasn't too much more than mid-range hotels in the area and it is absolutely worth the cost. Wonderful, wonderful! I hope we have the occasion SOON to stay more than one night and actually get to spend some time in the rest of the house and on the insanely perfect front porch.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galax
4.8 km away
Hampton Inn Galax
Hampton Inn Galax
#1 of 5 in Galax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
34.9 km away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.2 km away
Knights Inn Galax
Knights Inn Galax
#2 of 5 in Galax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Alleghany Inn
Alleghany Inn
#1 of 1 in Sparta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
25.5 km away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
34.7 km away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doctor's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doctor's Inn

Property: The Doctor's Inn
Address: 406 W Stuart Dr, Galax, VA 24333-2736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Galax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Galax
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,731 - ₹ 10,899
Hotel Class:4 star — The Doctor's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, The Doctor's Inn is the first Bed & Breakfast in downtown Galax, Virginia. Walk to downtown shopping and eateries. The New River Bike trail is only a half mile away as well as Felts Park, home of the Old Time Fiddler's Convention (less than a mile). One visit at the Inn and you appreciate the "Elegant Simplicity Prescribed by the Doctor." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Doctor's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing