We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Laurel, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I've stayed in countless hotels and resorts over the years. This hotel is outstanding. Our unit was so clean, it looked like everything was brand new. I have NEVER seen a shower as clean as this one. The grout between the tiles was so white, I had to double check to make sure it wasn't an acrylic 1-piece unit. The caulk was also perfectly white. I appreciate a clean bathroom, but this one took the cake!

We stayed in a corner suite on the fourth floor and had a wonderful view of the golf course. My husband enjoyed watching people play the hole under our window. While we didn't use the pool, it looked like a nice one, and the patio outside of the pool offered a nice view of several of the golf course holes.

Our king sized bed was very comfortable and we had a choice of firm or soft pillows. The suite was actually larger than the condo we lived in when we were first married. There was a nice refrigerator, microwave, small sink, and cabinets in the kitchenette, a large desk/table, couch, chair, coffee table, and flat screen TV in the LR, and a TV, two night stands, lamps, and king sized bed in the bedroom. The living area and bedroom had separate thermostats, and they worked well.

We had no issues with noise, in fact, the thick carpet made it very quiet, even in our suite. I couldn't hear my husband walking from room to room. There were quite a few guests there, but we don't know if they were full.

We found the employees to be friendly and helpful. They let us check in early, and did what they could to put our friends in a room near us.

With so much to do in the area, and such a comfortable place to go to at night, I would highly recommend this hotel to any close friend.

Room Tip: Corner suites facing the golf course are large, sunny, and have a great view of mountains and course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Sharon O,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a thorough and thoughtful response to your stay. We appreciate your candid feedback. I see you also left a great tip for our future guests. We hope that you found your trip to Front Royal to your liking and we would love to see you as a guest again soon. Thank you very much!

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    147
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
121
190
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is a beautiful motel with excellent rooms, clean, luxurious, and the lobby is the same!! A very comfortable and exquisite place to stay, especially for the money you'll pay to stay here, which is VERY nominal!! This motel MUST be one of the jewels in the Holiday Inn system.

In addition, the staff was extremely friendly and easy to work with and the lobby very comfy with relaxing couches and comfortable amenities to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.

The rooms were great! We ended up with a suite on the top floor and corner of the motel. All we lacked was a balcony to make this an absolutely perfect room with a view of a beautiful golf course and the sunset below the mountains.

To help things out, there is a Houlihan's restaurant attached that was excellent as well. Were celebrating my wife's birthday that evening and the wait staff worked with me and our friends to provide her with a nice surprise dessert!! The food was delicious as was the service too!

Room Tip: Try and get a corner suite! It was just great!! And a beautiful view of the golf course! All we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
JerBob,

Thank you for choosing our property. I feel very proud to read about the service you received. From the excellent room to the great birthday celebration in Houlihan's. I will certainly share your comments with our entire staff and I am sure that they too will feel pride. Thank you.

Brent C Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I can see why this is the top-rated hotel in the Front Royal area. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Great location, very comfortable bed, friendly staff. I stayed here 2 nights.
There is so much to do and see in the area. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EpriseMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
EpriseMan,

We appreciate your business at our property and that you took the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We hope that you had safe travels back to Alabama and we will always be here for you if you find yourself traveling through Virginia again.

Brent C Jackson, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeastern Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Wife and I stayed here as a base to visit the Luray Caverns and the Skyline Drive. The hotel exceeded our expectations by far. Very clean, comfortable, and a friendly and polite staff. Great location, with lots of shopping and dining choices nearby, as well as a restaurant on the property. I highly recommend this hotel. No negatives whatsoever.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor. No noise from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
JoeinMD,

Thank you for the awesome review of our property. We are very excited to see that you enjoyed your experiences at our facility. I will let our entire hotel staff know that they hit the mark with cleanliness and politeness. We hope to have you as a guest again soon!

Brent C Jackson, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here after a trip up the Skyline Drive and arrived tired. We were greeted by a line of about four couples at the reception desk, all waiting to check in. I felt sorry for the clerk on duty who was the only employee in the entire facility. She did well, kept her composure, remained unflappable and managed well, although the size of the line never appreciably changed. When she got someone checked in, another couple would arrive.

We spoke to a young lady at check out the next morning who identified herself as the front desk manager and admitted she was understaffed and looking for desk help.

Other than a protracted check in, the hotel facility was very nice. Rooms are spacious, spottlessly clean, and nicely appointed...just what we have come to expect from this chain. Rates were very reasonable and the value we recieved was outstanding.

We cannot say as much for the restaurant. There is a Houlihans attached to the hotel, and we thought the meal was overpriced and the service, both out of the kitchen and by the wait staff, could definiely have been better. Probably because of the attached restaurant, there is no continental breakfast, which we have come to expect as the norm for this chain. There are other restaurants within a mile or so, and our fellow travelers might be well advised to take a serious look at those options.

Room Tip: stay here, eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnFrontRoyal, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
gramps-nanna,

Thank you for taking some time to leave a thorough review of your experiences on TripAdvisor as this truly means a lot to us. I have reviewed your comments with my management team here at the hotel and Houlihan's Restaurant and we will do our best to correct some of the items you mentioned. Shirley Palmer, Front Office Manager, was correct that we were slightly understaffed to assist you that night. We have made the necessary corrections to ensure that our check-in process will be better for you on future stays. Thank you for your patience that evening.
Regarding you restaurant experience, did you know that Houlihan's Restaurant serves made-from-scratch cuisine. Breads, soups, sauces, dressing are all made fresh, in house, daily. The goal is to provide a higher quality product, at a slight premium in price over our competition. Regarding the service, I have spoken with our management team and we will address your concerns.
Thank you , again, for your feedback and we wish you the best!

Brent C Jackson, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
3.2 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
844 reviews
14.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
7.9 km away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
9.5 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
86 reviews
32.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Address: 111 Hospitality Dr, Front Royal, VA 22630-6928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,217 - ₹ 16,177
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an award winning hotel. The Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows is the recipient of the 2014 IHG Quality Excellence Award and the 2013, 2012 and 2011 IHG Torchbearer Award (awarded to the Best Holiday Inn hotels) and 2010 IHG Newcomer Award (Best New Holiday Inn). Sophistication and natural beauty unite at this Front Royal, Virginia hotel. For sophisticated but affordable accommodations, look no further than the Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows. We're situated above the award-winning Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club and surrounded by the beautiful mountains of Front Royal, VA. Our hotel's location is ideal for travelers to immerse themselves in the outdoors. You can take a leisurely drive on Skyline Drive to experience breathtaking views, enjoy a canoe trip on the beautiful Shenandoah River or explore the caverns around Front Royal. Lodging here is also convenient for business travelers visiting the Virginia Inland Port, Ferguson Enterprises, Family Dollar, Toray, American Woodmark, Axalta and other businesses in Front Royal. Our 24-hour business center, free high-speed Internet access, heated indoor pool and 24-hour fitness center are available for your use. Overlooking the beautiful mountains around Front Royal, our hotel rooms and suites offer triple-sheeted bedding, 32-inch LCD flat screen TVs with HD and HBO and refrigerators. From Houlihan's Restaurant and Bar, serving made-from-scratch cuisine three meals a day, to our 4,500 square feet of meeting space for hosting your special event, this Front Royal hotel's amenities provide a relaxing environment for our Virginia guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows Hotel Front Royal
Holiday Inn And Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
Holiday Inn Front Royal
Front Royal Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing