We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional accommodations and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Channel Bass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Channel Bass Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional accommodations and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at Channel Bass Inn this past weekend, and our experience couldn't have been better. David and Barbara were delightful hosts and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we wanted or needed. My wife, a non-coffee/tea drinker, was offered a generous mug of hot chocolate (which she said was delicious) for breakfast and afternoon tea.

Be sure to partake of the afternoon tea service, and come hungry... Barbara's scones were the best we've ever eaten, and the event will definitely act as a substitute for dinner that evening!

Two bonuses about the location is that there is ample free parking right behind the Channel Bass Inn, and you're right in the downtown shopping/dining area. Aside from our visit to the beach at Assateague, we were able to basically keep our car "parked" all weekend long. It's a very walkable area.

We would wholeheartedly recommend Channel Bass Inn for anyone planning to stay at a B&B in Chincoteague.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ks21620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
177
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Barbara and David are warm and attentive hosts at the Channel Bass Inn. I was so relaxed by the experience and touched by their sincerity that I was teary at our parting.

Our room was meticulously clean (how do the housekeepers erase all the evidence of beach sand!?), the bed was comfortable, and the decor elegant without being fussy. The bed was double sheeted with high thread-count sheets. While there were a few times when the shower's temperature was a little tricky in our particular room, the bathroom came with a full tub and had plenty of space for two people to share a bathroom. There was a sense of privacy and calm, and I couldn't hear any of the other guests even though there was a full house of them over the weekend.

At the Channel Bath you feel as if you are staying with family who is kind enough to lend you all of their beach-going paraphernalia so you don't have to schlep it hundreds of miles from your home or buy it at Chincoteague. It's all neatly stacked in a side room. Barbara made sure we had towels, a beach umbrella, and a cooler with water bottles.

The real treat was the cuisine. Barbara oversaw three course breakfasts that included items such as fruit salads with berries and fresh mango, various breads such as ginger & zucchini, and fluffy herbed eggs with toasted croissants.

If you get a chance be sure to reserve a space at an afternoon tea. Also, be sure to go with an empty stomach because there are FOUR courses of sandwiches and pastries- all made in-house with a deft baker's hand. It's nearly a two-hour experience.

I appreciated that guests' food preferences and allergies were addressed without a hitch. During tea my partner tucked in to smoked salmon sandwiches since she didn't eat the traditional ham sandwiches, and I saw Barbara accommodate the gluten allergy of another guest without batting an eye.

The one thing that always makes me a little nervous at B&B's is making conversation with other guests at breakfast, especially when it's a longer, multi-course meal. Luckily I didn't need to worry about this at the Channel Bass. Barbara is such an outgoing and witty host that soon you are talking with everyone else at the table. You'll learn a bit about proper table manners, but you will also laugh at a bawdy reference here and there as Barbara dips in and out of the conversation with her schtick. She will tell you all you want to know about the ponies and their foals at the Pony Swim week, but she might also make a joke about doing a strip tease out of her apron. "At the end I won't be wearing my apron" she dryly remarked.

So, if you're in for a bit of loopy fun, you love good food, and your want a quiet retreat near the beautiful Wildlife Refuge and beach, head to the Channel Bass.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCHoosierGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The house is well maintained and in a great location. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. We have a toddler, and Barbara helped us with our milk warming needs and made special breakfasts suited to her. Breakfasts were delicious, though sometimes a bit on the salty side. Her crab quiche, though, was one of the best crab recipes I've had. If you stay, I also highly recommend the English Tea. Barbara's scones were fabulous.
They also stock everything you will need while there including bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, suntan lotion and DEET (highly recommended for hikes in Assateague). Barbara and David pay exacting attention to detail.

Room Tip: We liked the suite with our daughter. It gave us some privacy and allowed our daughter to sleep more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nondescript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My mom and I stayed here for a few nights and it was wonderful. Barbara and David were so nice and helpful. They made us feel welcome and helped make our trip sucessfull. Breakfast was extremely good both mornings, I wish we had stayed long enough to try the afternoon tea. The location is great, close to many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Thanks Barbara for the wonderful stay in your house! The breakfast is very good and the atmosphere makes it even better: you get welcome in British English, switch over and talk in Spanish and finish in German and this are only 3 of the many languages Barbara knows. Absolutly great to borrow everything you need for the beach and in the evening you will get the best tables in the best restaurants in town if you like. Just let Barbara know and you will spend some wonderful days you will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.9 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
2.2 km away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.7 km away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#10 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Bass Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Bass Inn

Property: Channel Bass Inn
Address: 6228 Church Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's Most Personable Bed and Breakfast & Tea Room ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing