We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need, they have” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channel Bass Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chincoteague Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Channel Bass Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Everything you need, they have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The house is well maintained and in a great location. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. We have a toddler, and Barbara helped us with our milk warming needs and made special breakfasts suited to her. Breakfasts were delicious, though sometimes a bit on the salty side. Her crab quiche, though, was one of the best crab recipes I've had. If you stay, I also highly recommend the English Tea. Barbara's scones were fabulous.
They also stock everything you will need while there including bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, suntan lotion and DEET (highly recommended for hikes in Assateague). Barbara and David pay exacting attention to detail.

Room Tip: We liked the suite with our daughter. It gave us some privacy and allowed our daughter to sleep more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nondescript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
177
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My mom and I stayed here for a few nights and it was wonderful. Barbara and David were so nice and helpful. They made us feel welcome and helped make our trip sucessfull. Breakfast was extremely good both mornings, I wish we had stayed long enough to try the afternoon tea. The location is great, close to many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Thanks Barbara for the wonderful stay in your house! The breakfast is very good and the atmosphere makes it even better: you get welcome in British English, switch over and talk in Spanish and finish in German and this are only 3 of the many languages Barbara knows. Absolutly great to borrow everything you need for the beach and in the evening you will get the best tables in the best restaurants in town if you like. Just let Barbara know and you will spend some wonderful days you will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband and I just returned to Ohio after 5 perfect days at The Channel Bass Inn.This was a wonderful experience.The rooms are all very different and all very charming.The service is excellent ! You will want for nothing. Barbara & David are the perfect hosts.The location is perfect for walking the town and visiting Assateague.The price is very very reasonable.My only complaint is the food.It was too good and I ate too much.!Best breakfasts ever.!We also enjoyed the Tea.We had a fabulous time and will definitely be back. It was a slice of Heaven!

Room Tip: The rooms vary greatly in size from small and cozy to large suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at channel bass inn in April 2011, and had a wonderful time. Barbara and David treated us like family, and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were the best we had on a 2 month trip and the afternoon tea was sublime. It was great to get a proper cup of tea! We would love to return in the future.
Jo and Lincoln, Australia

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.9 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
2.2 km away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincoteague Island
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chincotea...
#6 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#16 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Bass Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Bass Inn

Property: Channel Bass Inn
Address: 6228 Church Street, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chincoteague Island
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincoteague Island's Most Personable Bed and Breakfast & Tea Room ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing