We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Don't even consider it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chincoteague Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chincoteague Inn
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't even consider it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

My boyfriend and I booked a couple nights at Chincoteague Inn and when we arrived, first off, they charged us full price even though we had already paid our deposit. They said that they didn't..even though we had a bank statement... We had paid for a NON-smoking room, we get into the FIRST room and right outside the door is a bucket FULL of cigarettes, the room's smell was unbearable and musty. We then asked for a different room. The SECOND room was even worse, there was an ash tray and an awfully strong odor of mold or musk. So then they gave us a twin bedroom and said we could move into another room the next day.. no that's not how we're spending our vacation. That THIRD room was just as bad. We told them we did not want to stay there anymore and wanted our money back. They told us "no refunds for checking out early" ..they gave us THREE different rooms and we hadn't even moved our bags into any of them. I barely consider this checking in. I asked to speak with a manager..of course not present or within reach. It took the girl 15 minutes find the "assistant manager" ( whom I had recently just saw sneaking around the side of the building with two other young men). This assistant manager presented herself with an "epic fail" necklace and about three different colors of neon pink, purple, and yellow in her hair. And no name tag or anything stating that she even worked there. All she did was tell us the same thing, ABSOLUTELY NO HELP AT ALL AND NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. I then asked to speak to the owner and she responded "he won't be in for awhile." THIS PLACE IS ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING AND RUN DOWN.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kayla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    46
    35
    12
    15
See reviews for
54
43
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
adirondack mountains
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

our room was decent,it was clean,no bugs, the fridge,microwave,and tv worked well and the ac unit worked great,as it was 90* out. but this place definitely needs some deep cleaning and attention to detail. they never emptied the trash in the stairway in the 4 days we were there,nor did they vaccuum or clean any of the nasty cob webs and dead bugs in the walkways.the pool was nice and clean and well maintained and our family enjoyed it with their nice gazebo next to it. they have a nice backyard if you want to play volleyball and a pavillion with stove and fridge- but all this was nasty too! It was too bad that all was let go,we would have enjoyed it if it wasn't such a turn off.On the positive note, this motel is in a great location next to some nice shops and we walked to the BEST ice cream place-The Island Creamery.The trolly stops right by this motel in the evening,making for a nice conveinance.The maids were nice and always made sure we had plenty of clean towels,soap and shampoo.Stay here if you are on a budget,want a clean room, and the kids want a nice pool to play in,but don't expect perfection! oh, and bring your own clock,as like another reveiwer's, the one in our room didn't work either!

Room Tip: stay in a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WildPonyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

My family and I stayed at the Chincoteague Inn Motel for Pony Penning and it was SO nice!! I was a little worried because of other reviews, but I should not have been. The motel was very clean and the staff was super nice and helpful. Nothing fancy, but we did not want fancy. The pool was wonderful and our 3 children loved it! I made reservation to stay there again in October AND we made next summers reservations!

Room Tip: we liked 3rd floor front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leprechauneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

The whole building was run down and dirty. When got to our room the door was unlocked, turned out that the door was broken and could not be locked. The room smelled like mildew and something musky. The carpets were dirty and there were body hairs on the sheets when I pulled back the cover. When my husband pulled out a hand towel he said a dead cockroach looking thing fell out. They switched our room to another, but it was just as bad.
I finally went to the front desk, the lady working there was obviously in high school and had all her friends in the lobby doing their hair and make-up with her.
I told her that due to my allergies I just cannot stay there, I couldn't breathe! The lady called the manager who was away, who told her to just give me some air freshener. I declined the air freshener knowing that it would not help my breathing issue, and asked for my money back atleast for one day since we had paid for two nights. They would not return our money.
I just returned my keys and we went to the Quality Inn next store. That room seemed like a piece of heaven compared to that youknowwhat hole.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahSJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chincoteague Island hotels

Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were appalled at the condition of this hotel. The floors had dead cockroaches and other strange bugs. The walls and floors were dirty. There was garbage sitting in the hallways and the carpets were disgusting! We would not recommend this hotel if you like cleanliness. They refused to refund our money and we refused to stay.

Room Tip: The Sunrise Motel is clean and comfortable with the best rates on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank princesspmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.7 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
BEST WESTERN Chincoteague Island
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.4 km away
Refuge Inn
Refuge Inn
#2 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#15 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chincoteague Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chincoteague Inn

Property: Chincoteague Inn
Address: 4417 Deep Hole Rd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,959 - ₹ 9,762
Hotel Class:2 star — Chincoteague Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 70 unit motel, just minutes away from the Assateague Island Beach and Wildlife Refuge, the Inn is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the solitude and the breathtaking sunsets our Island has to offer.Conveniently located at Maddox Blvd. and Deep Hole Road, the Inn is within walking distance of many art galleries, restaurants, shops and the Civic Center. For those that desire a little adventure, deep sea fishing charters are available or take off on a bicycling excursion on one of the many trails available on the Chincoteague and Assateague Islands.We offer modern, spacious, extremely clean accommodations, daily maid service, complimentary coffee and a selection of newspapers.Be our guest as you enjoy our outdoor pool with large surrounding deck & gazebo. A screened pavilion equipped with cooking facilities will accommodate most any gathering, large or small. For those wanting to picnic, we have barbeque grills available as well as a volleyball court. There is ample parking for cars and a designated area for boats and buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chincoteague Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chincoteague Hotel Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing