We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island
Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best place for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Americas Best Value Inn and Suites is a nice little place to stay. For the cost it is the best deal, but I would like to mention that the place is been updated and trying to be a great place that is close to most everything. The wifi is okay for the first few rooms, but I don't know anything beyond room 110. The continental breakfast is only during the high season and ends before October. Room 110 smelled like it had been smoked in at some point and time, but over all the beds were nice and the place was pretty good. The rooms all had mini-refrigs and microwaves and decent tvs and personal a/c units. I would rate it higher, but the room was a wee bit smoky.

Room Tip: People have smoked in room 110 at some point and time. Though it says no smoking you could tell it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theleesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvichincoteague, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear theleesons,

Thank you for sharing a review with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our updated rooms. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. I am also sorry to hear about the smoke odor. Perhaps your room was located next to a smoking room? You may want to request a room away from the smoking rooms in the future to help prevent this issue from happening again.


Regards,
Raman-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Chincoteague Island, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    29
    22
    13
    18
See reviews for
32
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend to visit my sister and her family (who were visiting family/friends in near by Parksley). The day we went the beach was packed, water was VERY cold and VERY rough. Kids lost interest within 30 minutes. Luckily there was a pool at the hotel! We spent the majority of the day playing in the pool which we had by ourselves until late afternoon. Once it cooled off some we did some site-seeing around the island and on to Assateague Island. That evening we took the kids to the Fireman's Carnival. This was my second time to the Island and Carnival but my husband and sister's family first time. ALL had a great and memorable time.

That being said, the room was average. What you expect for the price. We had a LATE check in due to traveling (after midnight) and the manager was very accomodating. No issues. Continental breakfast was very limited and the incense smell was a little disinviting but hey...hold your nose or go to McDonalds!

My husband and I took some time to drive around the island and looking at some of the other options were really pleased with our choice. We were a little nervous when making the reservations but we pleasantly surprised. Not the Ritz but good enough for the little bit of time we were actually in the room. Nice, clean pool was GREAT.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amberlwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

the carpet looked very dirty, the furnishings are very dated as well as the curtains..etc. rooms are very small. The place needs to upgrade the tv, beds are kinda worn out. property looks ok from the street, however inside is very misleading.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c2it03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at this so called "hotel" over 07/31/2011 weekend. What we failed to understand was how could anyone call this place anything but a dump. Your interpretation of cleanliness may differ from ours, but stained carpets, moldy smell, someone's hair everywhere including towels, bathrooms, bedding, never washed comforters and blankets, never cleaned surfaces, and overall impression of unkept place had overwhelmed our senses. Add to that a complete absense of any service, stale looking food which they call "breakfast" we did not touch, loud air conditioner, stone pillows, etc.. Worst part: they charged us $145 to stay in this place. Perhaps the price we paid is our own failure to negotiate. Never again. Pay a little more and stay at Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GregTheBMWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvichincoteague, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear GregtheBMWTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Our rooms were updated with new night stands, headboards, armoirs, painting, mattresses, drapes, and bed frames. All claims will be further investigated and the appropriate action taken. However, many of the reviews on Tripadvisor even mention our clean rooms. Please give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Raman-GM
Americas Best Value Inn- Chincoteague Island,VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chincoteague Island hotels

Shillington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The guy at check in was very friendly and accommodating. The room was more clean than I expected. Fridge was not plugged in so it did take over night to reach proper temp. Continental breakfast was small chocolate muffins, small waffles that were already made and huge bagels. We kept the do not disturb sign on the door so I can't rate housekeeping

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbraz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
1.4 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.5 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#15 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 km away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#13 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincoteague-Waterfront
Hampton Inn and Suites Chincotea...
#1 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
1.9 km away
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
#18 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island
Address: 6151 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,113 - ₹ 8,934
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn and Suites of Chincoteague Island, Virginia. We are conveniently located off VA-175, following the signs to "Chincoteague Island/Assateauge Islands". We have plenty to offer, as we are situated nearby many popular attractions including the NASA Wallops Visitor Center, Chincoteague Island Lighthouse, Chincoteague Pony Center, Refuge Waterfowl Museum, Beebe Ranch, and the Wildlife Expedition. If you are into sports or just getting out and having fun, there are a number of recreational activities less than 1 mile away including the Chincoteague Hunting and Fishing Center, Surfside Golf, Captain Barry's Back Bay Cruises. Here at the Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Chincoteague, we also have several dining options to choose from just minutes away including Steamers Restaurant, AJ's on the Creek Restaurant, Great Wall 2, Don's Seafood Market and Restaurant, and Maria's Restaurant and Pizza. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Chincoteague Island features 23 guest rooms generously equipped with free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - Chincoteague Island
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing