We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest Hotel on the Island...but you wouldn't know it by what you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend to visit my sister and her family (who were visiting family/friends in near by Parksley). The day we went the beach was packed, water was VERY cold and VERY rough. Kids lost interest within 30 minutes. Luckily there was a pool at the hotel! We spent the majority of the day playing in the pool which we had by ourselves until late afternoon. Once it cooled off some we did some site-seeing around the island and on to Assateague Island. That evening we took the kids to the Fireman's Carnival. This was my second time to the Island and Carnival but my husband and sister's family first time. ALL had a great and memorable time.

That being said, the room was average. What you expect for the price. We had a LATE check in due to traveling (after midnight) and the manager was very accomodating. No issues. Continental breakfast was very limited and the incense smell was a little disinviting but hey...hold your nose or go to McDonalds!

My husband and I took some time to drive around the island and looking at some of the other options were really pleased with our choice. We were a little nervous when making the reservations but we pleasantly surprised. Not the Ritz but good enough for the little bit of time we were actually in the room. Nice, clean pool was GREAT.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amberlwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

the carpet looked very dirty, the furnishings are very dated as well as the curtains..etc. rooms are very small. The place needs to upgrade the tv, beds are kinda worn out. property looks ok from the street, however inside is very misleading.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c2it03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at this so called "hotel" over 07/31/2011 weekend. What we failed to understand was how could anyone call this place anything but a dump. Your interpretation of cleanliness may differ from ours, but stained carpets, moldy smell, someone's hair everywhere including towels, bathrooms, bedding, never washed comforters and blankets, never cleaned surfaces, and overall impression of unkept place had overwhelmed our senses. Add to that a complete absense of any service, stale looking food which they call "breakfast" we did not touch, loud air conditioner, stone pillows, etc.. Worst part: they charged us $145 to stay in this place. Perhaps the price we paid is our own failure to negotiate. Never again. Pay a little more and stay at Best Western.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GregTheBMWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvichincoteague, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear GregtheBMWTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Our rooms were updated with new night stands, headboards, armoirs, painting, mattresses, drapes, and bed frames. All claims will be further investigated and the appropriate action taken. However, many of the reviews on Tripadvisor even mention our clean rooms. Please give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Raman-GM
Americas Best Value Inn- Chincoteague Island,VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The guy at check in was very friendly and accommodating. The room was more clean than I expected. Fridge was not plugged in so it did take over night to reach proper temp. Continental breakfast was small chocolate muffins, small waffles that were already made and huge bagels. We kept the do not disturb sign on the door so I can't rate housekeeping

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbraz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

My wife and I used to stay here at least twice a year, to vist relatives. Date is not accurate, but My wife and I believe the Motel staff went through our things and took controlled substance medications. It used to be a great place, but fool me once...

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
7  Thank travlr1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvichincoteague, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Travlr1960,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. I am sorry to hear about this incident from 2010. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. To my knowledge, we have never had a theft issue at this property. In the future, I would recommend safeguarding any valuables to prevent this from happening again.


Regards,
Raman-GM
Americas Best Value Inn- Chincoteague Island, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
305 reviews
1.5 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
804 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#4 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#11 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
194 reviews
1.8 km away
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
#16 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
569 reviews
1.4 km away
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Marina Bay Hotel & Suites, an As...
#7 of 21 in Chincoteague Island
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island

Address: 6151 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2619
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price Range: ₹ 3,042 - ₹ 5,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn and Suites of Chincoteague Island, Virginia. We are conveniently located off VA-175, following the signs to "Chincoteague Island/Assateauge Islands". We have plenty to offer, as we are situated nearby many popular attractions including the NASA Wallops Visitor Center, Chincoteague Island Lighthouse, Chincoteague Pony Center, Refuge Waterfowl Museum, Beebe Ranch, and the Wildlife Expedition. If you are into sports or just getting out and having fun, there are a number of recreational activities less than 1 mile away including the Chincoteague Hunting and Fishing Center, Surfside Golf, Captain Barry's Back Bay Cruises. Here at the Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Chincoteague, we also have several dining options to choose from just minutes away including Steamers Restaurant, AJ's on the Creek Restaurant, Great Wall 2, Don's Seafood Market and Restaurant, and Maria's Restaurant and Pizza. Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Chincoteague Island features 23 guest rooms generously equipped with free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, and free local calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island Hotel Chincoteague Island
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - Chincoteague Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing