We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Grab and go," takes a little time, quality ingredients, only take cash”
Review of Sea Star Cafe

Sea Star Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Sea Star Cafe Gourmet Carry Out is locally owned and operated! We opened on Main Street in 2000 and moved to our new location on Maddox Blvd. in 2013. Serving gourmet sandwiches, fresh salads, vegetarian & vegan fare as well as homemade soups, sides and baked goods. All of our food is MADE FRESH to ORDER by the 2 OWNERS..... everyday all the time! Our soups, sauces, hummus, baked goods etc. are made by us right here! We intended Sea Star to be carryout but do have some outdoor seating limited to 3 picnic tables. Check us out! CALL FOR HOURS!
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“"Grab and go," takes a little time, quality ingredients, only take cash”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

City folk: send your teens and tweens out on a bike for the day with a $20. Tell them to get lunch here, take it over to the shady/breezy picnic pavilion by the island library, and watch the boats go by. Very therapeutic!

Sea Star is tucked back from Main Street, adjacent to Don's. Wonderful spot to pack sandwiches for the beach. Last time I checked, hours were something like 11-6 so you can't do late dinner. But lunch is luscious.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaPMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    114
    20
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The top restuarant on Main Street for vegetarians”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is a no no-nonsense cafe that lived up to its "excellent" reviews. My wife and I both had vegetarian lunches (a sandwich and a wrap). The ingredients were fresh and the portions were generous. The hummus was homemade and the avocado was of perfect ripeness. The sprouts were fresh and crisp. The feta cheese, olives and dressing were just right. No wilting lettuce or spinach! The pickles were individually wrapped. And there was no Styrofoam (just paper). The tea was unsweetened. There are enough choices for vegetarians and meat eaters alike. There is no inside seating and no bathroom. Expect lines in peak season. We would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best sandwich I have ever had”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Always fresh and delicious, got there at 11:30 and got my order in 5 minutes but before I left the order line was long, it is a popular place

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Selectrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, fresh vegetarian options”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Liked the super veggie wrap and fresh lemonade - not too sweet or too tart and very refreshing. Good location.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tremendous vegetarian food at the beach! Can't beat it!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012 via mobile

Tons of vegan, vegetarian (and non-vegetarian) items to choose from. All fresh and crisp. Santa Cruz sandwich with avocado and hummus was fantastic! Homemade hummus was really good. Taboulie was ok - lots of bulgar wheat. Really great sandwich shop near the beach. I would most definitely go here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NavyDave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Star Cafe also viewed

Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Sea Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing