We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Captain is a native Chincoteaguean, and he really knows the area, its scenery and wildlife.”
Review of Island Cruises - CLOSED

Island Cruises
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island Cruises is a tour company based out of Chincoteague Island, Va (Year round tours!) and Naples, Fl (Jan-Feb) offering luxury boat tours. From Scenic Nature Tours, Sandbar Shuttle, Annual Pony Swim Encounter, Sunset Tours, private parties and more! Come and experience the rich history and nature which surrounds the beautiful islands of Chincoteague and Assateague with an island native, Captain Carlton Leonard. Journey aboard one of our state of the art vessels while seeing breathtaking views, and have a variety of nature encounters! Dolphins, osprey, bald eagle, egrets, and the famous wild ponies of Assateague - only name of a few of the likely sights you may catch on your tour. A memorable trip sure to pleasure any visitor or sightseer! Reservations suggested call now, visit our website, or find us on Facebook.
Wildwood, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Our Captain is a native Chincoteaguean, and he really knows the area, its scenery and wildlife.”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Well worth it.
A great way to spend the day at Chincoteague.
The Captain was very knowledgeable and informative.
The tour was fun.
We will recommend it to our friends, and we shall return.
Best to take a jacket, camera(s) and sunglasses.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
“Two thumbs up for Captain Carlton”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were in town on our honeymoon, and trying to find things to do with our puppy. Thankfully we found Captain Carlton and his shuttle out to the Sandbar in Tom's Cove. We were in town after the season, so the transportation was less regular than the hourly in-season schedule. But it did not matter - we had the opportunity to soak up the sun and our puppy had the chance to swim to her heart's content. We enjoyed it so much, we came back for a second day, and brought friends!

Captain Carlton and the Sandbar the highlight of our trip, and a gem in Chincoteague.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank PaulJ_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience! What a wonderful day!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband called and made reservations with the Captain this morning. We arrived at the harbor and left the dock on time. The weather was wonderful today. We were fortunate to be the only customers that Captain Carlton had on his 2pm nature tour today. It was 2.5 hours of fabulous scenery and wonderful stories from the captain. He knows quite a lot about the history of the area since he grew up here. We saw dolphins, tons of waterfowl and even bald eagles! Our six-year-old had a great time. We highly recommend Island Cruises AND Captain Carlton Leonard. Just a perfect afternoon!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank DuckyOne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglassville, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tour to remember”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My sister and I visited Chincoteague for the first time this June. As many times as we have been to the beach in Delaware we just never ventured to this Island. I wanted to see the ponies and possibly an Eagle. We had Captain (the grandaughter of the family) and she was absolutely the best. It was just the three of us and she told us so much about the Islands and the cruise was perfect. Yes the bugs were bad at the lighthouse, but not on the boat! It was a wonderful trip and I am so glad we went. And oh by the way, I saw the ponies and an EAGLE in flight. Could not asked for a more perfect guide and a wonderful day. ISLAND CRUISES ARE THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Buzzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantasitc!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had an amazing sunset cruise n September 16 2011. Captain Carlton was friendly and informative and lots of fun! We saw dolphins and ponies and learned a lot about Chincoteague and Assateague and had some amazing views perfect for photos. It was a great time! Big Thanks to the Captain again! We can't wait to bring our family back this summer for trips to the sandbar and another cruise!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Cruises also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing