We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Chincoteague Natural History Association Wildlife Tour
Ranked #10 of 29 Tours in Chincoteague Island
Attraction details
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Take the bus tour first to learn about what is there..then go off hiking..

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank gemswinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    10
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great views of the refuge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We took this last Saturday, had a GREAT time, saw many ponies, lots of birds, and some bald eagles to boot!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank spend1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great inexpensive way to learn about the natural history of the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This comfortable bus tour took us from south to north on Assategue Island. We saw many ponies and learned a lot about other animals and how much the barrier island changes.A worthwhile two hour tour. The visitor's center where you buy the 12.00 tickets is beautiful and has excellent displays.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank poortiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herminie, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The ABSOLUTE BEST WAY to see the ponies!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

This was actually the second time taking this tour for my wife and me. The bus actually takes you on part of the refuge that are off limits to anything but foot traffic. The ponies were actually on the road, and it was nearly the entire northern herd that we got to meet up close and personal. Last year there was only a handful of ponies that came close to the bus. This year, we were absolutely surrounded on three different occasions. Of course there's always a foal or two willing to ham it up for the camera! This is a fantastic tour, so I don't know why it's so low on the list. The bus leaves from the visitors center which can be found across from the Assateague Lighthouse trail. Rest rooms are available at the center but NOT on the bus. The bus does however have a wheelchair lift. Upon request, the driver will stop or even back up to assist in obtaining that perfect photo shot. Also of note, the tour had a number of children under five years old. For the most part they were well-behaved, but did get restless, as one would expect, near the end of the almost two hour tour.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank nature-seer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Best unknown thing to do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We took the Chincoteague Natural History Association 2 hour tour with our older parents and we loved it. You ride a small air conditioned bus through the reserve to places that regular visitors cannot access or are not accessible by car. We saw a lot of wildlife including the wild ponies. In fact, the ponies were about 2 feet from the bus! The great thing is you are protected from the many mosquitoes. The tour guide told us about the reserve, the island, the wildlife and would stop and even back up if we saw some interesting wildlife. The tour has room for 30 people and cost $12. It is not very well advertised and most people seem to not know about it. I only learned of it by seeing an ad in one of the local magazines. You can buy tickets at the refuge visitor's center. We went in October and they only had 5 tickets left about 1/2 hour before the tour started so get your tickets early! Bring your camera and binoculars. This is a great tour for older folks who cannot walk the trails.

Helpful?
4 Thank biology44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chincoteague Natural History Association Wildlife Tour also viewed

 
Chincoteague Island, VA
Chincoteague Island, VA
 

Been to Chincoteague Natural History Association Wildlife Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing