We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Excel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Excel Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Location & Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

If you have any business to do with UVa, Budget Inn might be the best choice other than Cavalier which costs a lot more. Otherwise you should consider futher up Emmet St North where there are a wider range of hotels/motels to choose from.

Price wise it is not cheap but still relatively low compare to many other hotel chains, especially on Friday and Saturday. It is difficult to find a room in Charlottesville on Friday/Saturday when there is an event like ball game. The prcei goes up quite steep Friday/Saturday.

The breakfast is nothing to talk about, same old stuff every morning, The owner/manager is friendly and helpful.

Still I would stay here if I need to go to campus everyday. It is definitely better than the EconoLodge next door!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    57
    35
    17
    17
See reviews for
50
42
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have stayed at the Budget Inn a number of times. First time I went to visit my son who was attending UVA I stayed at the Cavalier across the street. The Cavalier was noisy, cost more and a garbage truck woke me up at 5:00 a.m.

If you want fancy, go elsewhere. If you want a place that is kept clean and doesn't break the bank right near the UVA campus, you can't beat the Budget Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleDevoShamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I have stayed here on about 6 trips to Charlottesville over the past 20 years. The same extended family has owned the motel throughout that time period. They are friendly. The rooms are small but clean, and the price is affordable. We prefer the second floor to avoid the sounds of footsteps overhead. Our room had soap, shampoo, nice towels, a fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV, and a comfortable bed.
There is a northbound bus stop right outside the motel, but no longer a stop across the street, due to changing traffic patterns after a road widening/parking garage project. The nearest stops for buses going into town and returning from the malls were about 2 blocks away, not bad in the daytime but a little worrisome at night. But, we left our car in the lot throughout our stay and walked and rode the bus everywhere.
The atmosphere was quiet during our stay. We brought our own coffee-maker and supplies along, knowing that the rooms don't have coffee makers. There's no good coffee in the vicinity of the motel, so I recommend self-sufficiency!
We are thrilled that they don't allow pets. Travelers have enough worries these days without wondering about some mutt having snoozed on your pillow!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter and rooms parallel to the street, toward the soccer field would likely be the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
265 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Small two story budget style hotel across the road from the Cavalier Inn. So great location for the University. Well lit for safety.

Its basic, but they have spent some money on making it more comfortable and the money was spent on important visible items. New microwave. Good size SANYO flat screen TV. Fridge. Room safe (that didn't work). Hairdryer and iron. Some new tile work in bathroom. Free Wi-Fi.

What I didn't like: Slowest Wi-Fi of all time – and intermittent connection. No in-room coffee service. TV remote desperately needed cleaning (God knows what was on it). A stain-hiding pattern for a carpet as well as the bed spread. Again, no telling what was hiding in those colors. Open closet. Very spartan walls. The walls, ceiling and floor looked from the 1950s. Very squeaky floors (wood), so lots of floor noise from above. Breakfast very basic (cereals, coffee and prepackaged bread items of some sort).

Budget means budget, so you must anticipate it won't be deluxe, but at $68 a night compared to the Cavalier Inn at about $10 less, it's rather steep for what you get.

I would always look for something else, but this was a last minute reservation adding an early night in Charlottesville due to anticipated snow moving in. Appeared to be the last hotel room near the University, so I was glad to have it.

There's noting wrong with it as long as you accept that it's a bottom of the line place.

Room Tip: Take the second floor to avoid the creaking floor above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This motel is a good value. Clean and reasonable, can't ask for much more. I would stay again but I am moving into an apt here in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.2 km away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.2 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.0 km away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Inn & Suites

Property: Excel Inn & Suites
Address: 140 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,451 - ₹ 15,643
Hotel Class:2 star — Excel Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the University of Virginia, we at Excel Inn & Suites (formerly Budget Inn Charlottesville) welcome you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), JPJ (John Paul Jones) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. Our Excel Inn & Suites is a SMOKE-FREE facility offering Standard and Suite room types. Complimentary to our guests...Hot Continental Breakfast w/ Waflles, Coffee and Computer Lounge. In room amenties include LDC TV w/ cable, USB charge station, free Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada), Microwave / Fridge, Iron & Iron board, Safe and Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Excel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing