We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An adequate place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Norwood, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An adequate place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This property is showing its age. The check in process was unnecessarily lengthy. The room was adequate, and had a refrigerator, which was useful. The room was rather cramped, as it had two beds; however, it was clean. We did not stay for the breakfast, which didn't begin until 7 a.m., and we needed to be on the road earlier than that. For what this property offered, we thought it was over priced, even though we were supposed to have a special rate for a block of rooms that were reserved for an event.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking time to let us know about your stay. Our breakfast is served on weekends from 7am to 11 am to accommodate later check out times, 99% of our weekend guests like the later breakfast so I am sorry that it did not fit your schedule. We will certainly take in the suggestion to start breakfast earlier on the weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    151
    140
    79
    51
See reviews for
204
93
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My mother-in-law recently stayed 3 mights at the Cavalier Inn. The Cavalier is close to the UVA hospital so that was a big plus since she was there to be close by my sister-in-law who had surgery at UVA. The staff of the Cavalier Inn went above and beyond to help out my mother-in-law during her stay. My mother-in-law is 81 years old and was there without a car. The staff talked to her and told her that they would personally take her to UVA each day whenever she wanted to go and then come back to pick her up each day whenever she was ready to leave. They made sure she had the desk number to call them when she was ready to come back to the Cavalier. On one of the nights, they could not pick her up, as promised, because their car had broken down but they sent a cab to get her and they footed the bill for it. They did a wonderful job helping her out, making sure she was safe, and making sure she got where she needed/wanted to go when she needed/wanted to go. She said the room was nice, the bed was comfortable, the staff were great, and she had no complaints. If she's happy, we're happy. Many thanks to the staff for their help during a difficult time!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hello

Thank you for writing a your review, we are pleased that you were happy with your stay and appreciate you taking time to let us know about it. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Charlottesville, and we are very happy that things worked out ok with your sister in-law. we wish her a speedy recovery.


Thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

When we entered the lobby to inquire about room availability it was nice and clean. Once we got in our rooms, we found them far different. Small and dirty. Walls were very thin and I heard neighbors all night. No thanks.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amsterdamtennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hello

thank you for letting us know about your experience while staying at our hotel, I am sorry to see that you were not satisfied with your stay, our hotel just finished renovations in 2011 so it is coming up on a year since we have completed those, with new wall vinyl, carpeting, drapes, new flat screen TV’s, new refrigerators and microwaves I am surprised to read that in your comments and I am sorry to see you felt that the room was not up to your standards. I hope that you will give us another chance if you should return to Charlottesville again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charlottesville hotels

Thomasville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I have been staying at the Cavalier Inn frequently over the past nine months. They advertise a "full hot breakfast". Waffles and coffee is not a "full hot breakfast". Their breakfast is carb heaven and that is not what I was looking for. For the first time since I have been staying there the past nine months, they did have the artificial looking scrambled eggs this week. That is a slight improvement. Also the artificial fruit for decoration has to go, especaily when they had no fruit. There were mornings when they did not even have cereal. The staff were extraordinary! Always very friendly and helpful! Their cheap inkjet printer for guest use has been broken for nine months, that is atrocious! Off-season price is tolerable but what they have been charging recently is outrageous for what they offer. I also hate their electronic keys. I have more problems with their keys than any other hotel!

Room Tip: If you have a warm spell in the winter ask for the pool side room. The glass wall on the street sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retty57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Hello

thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking time to let us know about your experience, we change our breakfast items all of the time, we always serve fresh whole fruit with apples, bananas and oranges, when the seasonal comes in we do serve it, I am not sure how you missed it, our business centers has been a big challenge, on a weekly basis someone uses it and breaks it, or they take the ink cartridges out and as I am sure your aware it cost money to replace them, and that adds up fast on a one or twice a week basis, so we do our best to keep ink the machine, we did put a larger more expensive printer out and less than 2 week someone broke it, it is not so easy to replace a $1,000.00 piece of equipment. I am sure if it were your business and this damage was happening all of the time you would be less app to keep replacing expensive equipment that people do not respect and take care of. We hope next time if you stay you will see the new equipment that has come in and replaced the other, We just hope no one breaks it before you get a chance to see and use it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you are visiting the University of Virginia as I was last week, this is a terrific location for all aspects of campus and the immediate community. Parking is a challenge on campus, but the hotel offers free parking to guests, and you really can walk everywhere from there. The staff is very friendly and helpful, even googling a restaurant that was suggested to me by a Charlottesville native, but which the front desk was not familiar with. They got out a map for guests and marked it clearly for the drive to the restaurant. However, the rooms are a bit tired. They are perfectly functional, and the beds were comfortable. On a scale of 1 low - 5 high, I'd say the bed comfort was a 4. But there were little things that were unappealing, like loose molding and the hot water nob in the shower was loose from the tiles. The bathroom was strictly functional, nothing more. All in all, would I return? Probably if my business or visit was at UVA. If you are spending time elsewhere in Charlottesville, I'd look around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the campus and playing fields, as opposed to the parking lot. Though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavalierInn, General Manager at Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hi

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay, I am sorry to see that you had a few problems in the bathroom, I am not sure if you saw some molding or one of several of the bathrooms that were we're experimenting in on new grout color in small sections along with a coordinating caulking on several rooms on the tub walls bath floors and caulking area in the tubs to try and figure out what we would like the best, but I will certainly have my staff go through every bathroom to check the all the tub knobs and check to make sure we have no mold, since we spray the tubs and shower walls daily with bleach cleaner, it is not often that we see mold in our bathrooms, but we appreciate you bringing all these things to our attention. I hope you will come back to see that changes that we are making in our guest bathrooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 km away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.0 km away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.1 km away
Courtyard Charlottesville - University Medical Center
Courtyard Charlottesville - Univ...
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.0 km away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia

Property: Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Address: 105 N. Emmet St, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,939 - ₹ 13,171
Hotel Class:2 star — Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY RENOVATED "September 2014" all of our guest rooms now feature 4 Star Hotel mattress bedding, pillows and luxury linen collection that extends to our bath linen and feature new bath amenities by Bath & Body Works. Cavalier Inn is located directly on UVA Grounds one block to the Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and the UVA Bookstore. Just 3 blocks to the new Battle Building Children's Hospital, UVA Medical Center, and only 2 blocks from The Jefferson Rotunda and the UVA Chapel. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charlottesville directly on UVA Grounds and only minutes from Monticello, Miche Tavern, Ashlawn Highlands, and a short drive to James Madison’s Montpelier. The hotel offers a Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, cafe patio, and for our business guests a self-serve business center with copy, fax and printer services. Complimentary Shuttle Sunday to Thursday 8am to 5pm must be scheduled in advance. The hotel is a 100% SMOKE FREE property. Our Hotel features deluxe 2 room suites, mini suites and business class suites. Each room features a refrigerator and microwave, iron & ironing board, electronic laptop size safe, free high speed internet and Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms along with a 37” inch flat screen TV with cable in our standard rooms and 2 flat screens in our suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalier Inn At The University Of Virginia Hotel Charlottesville
Cavalier Hotel Charlottesville
The Cavalier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing