We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveller rating
724
379
141
44
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
379
141
44
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies high tea community garden bagel place bodo's bagels indoor pool hot breakfast french toast king suite main building a great place to stay oatmeal convenient location free breakfast front desk staff sitting area mews
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel was quaint. Affordable price, clean rooms, nice breakfast area, and quiet. Breakfast was a nice continental breakfast with plenty to choose from. Even though our room was across from the elevator it was still very quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LizaKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We stayed here over a muggy hot Memorial Day weekend. I had read some reviews stating the air conditioning struggled but ours was great. The hotel is a little dated but everything was clean & quiet. The mattress & pillows could use updating but was manageable for one night. It was close a great shopping center & easy to get over to the downtown/university.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the nice, cool A/C during your visit. We apologize that you were not happy with the pillows and mattress. We will work hard to get this fixed. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

We had our son's rehearsal dinner at the English Inn. We also had over 100 guests stay at the English Inn for the wedding weekend. The staff was incredible...they were helpful, friendly, kind and went out of their way to make sure everyone had a fabulous experience!! We would highly recommend this hotel!!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cade602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent visit. We are so glad your son's wedding was a success and that we were able to be a part of his special weekend. I will share your comments with the team. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

The English Inn is older, and can use some updating. But, for us, it's location close to UVA is perfect. The employees are very friendly, the breakfast is great, the indoor pool makes my daughter happy, and the price is very reasonable. I'd say, not fancy, but a great value.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christine861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and that your daughter likes the large, indoor pool. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

The hotel was nice and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was better than some. The only real detractor was the housekeeping service that didn’t seem to pay enough attention to details - pillows left on a chair instead of the bed, failing to retrieve dirty towels, and failing to restock soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DuneHiker2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G, General Manager at The English Inn of Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. We apologize for the issue you encountered and will work hard to get this fixed. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Charlottesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews