We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappoints!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have stayed at the English Inn many times over the past several years. The rooms are nice and clean, and the lobby is a delightful place to gather for coffee, which is always available. The breakfast is served in a charming room and has many, many selections. We were particularly delighted by the Inn's acknowledgement of Commencement weekend in May, with decorations in the lobby, and a beautiful, large sheet cake served late in the day...perfect for a snack after the ceremonies. How thoughtful! The Mews is beautiful, if you are lucky enough to get a reservation there! This hotel is really a gem. Don't miss it if you are staying in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    291
    104
    28
    18
See reviews for
387
311
54
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed in the Mews, which was new and nice. Our suite was huge, with a well-equipped kitchen. Good-sized fridge, sink, microwave, dishes/pots/pans, and even a small dishwasher. The indoor pool is nice. The free breakfast buffet was ample, with a wide selection of hot and cold foods, although the quality of the food was mediocre. The staff were all very friendly.

Room Tip: The suites in the Mews are very inexpensive for what you get - a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I read the reviews and booked anyhow, and I am glad we stayed here despite the slightly dated rooms in the main building. Apparently the other buildings have already had an upgrade. It's nice to get out of the chain hotel habit from time to time. For one, the room could not have been any cleaner. The bed was very comfortable and the place was quiet. I did not hear any other tv or talking while I was in the room.Those are my big three! On the way out I had to tell them of toilet issues, broken hairdryer. I did not see any binder with info about the hotel or area in the room. The breakfast room is nice, and the free breakfast was great! Way better than many, with steam table hot eggs, bacon and sausage, pancakes or french toast...but also plenty of healthy options and great coffee. I liked that there is free "tea' at 4pm each day. We missed that but it would have been fun.Tea and coffee are available in the lobbly 24/7 which is nice. There is a large indoor pool that we did not use. For a more than one night stay, I'd consider booking in the newer part. Book online, it is cheaper. btw, The A/C unit worked but it is old and could use some attention. Kind of grungy. Also there are many many restaurants in Charlottesville. I used my TripAdvisor App on my iPhone to find some!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Based on its ranking on TripAdvisor, I had high expectations. Unfortunately, on arrival, I came to discover that this was an old property that tries really hard to have a lot of charm. When you first enter the lobby it seems like it has potential: nice sitting room ahead, courteous staff at the front desk, quaint English music playing in the background, tea and cookies at 4...

Typical sized room with two Queen beds, but when you walk in you can tell right away that it is an old room. The AC was barely working (not good in 100 degree weather!) and you couldn't even read the dial because it was so old that the printed text had worn away. We called down to the front desk and they sent up someone right away to fix. He was able to fix it after a couple tries and the front desk kept calling to check in on us, so that was nice--good customer service.

Breakfast--complimentary so that's a plus, but if you like to start your day with a good meal, head to the bagel place next door. English Inn has a wide variety but nothing out of the ordinary: cereal, bagels, english muffins, fruit, yogurt, grits, eggs, bacon, sausage, coffee, juice.

Fitness area and pool--walked by it to check it out. Again, nothing special. Fitness area has a treadmill, elliptical, bike, that's about it. Did not hear anything about Gold's Gym as other reviewers have mentioned.

Unfortunately, our stay here coincided with the recent thunderstorm that knocked out power everywhere in Charlottesville. We had no power or hot water all night and it was still out the following day when we checked out. Front desk was going to charge us full price but we asked for a discount because of the situation, and they gave us 1/2 price. Nice that they did that, but they should have offered upfront.

Location is good, it's right off 29 and 250. We visited Monticello and it was only about 15 mins from the hotel.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay but if I ever visit Charlottesville again, I will probably try a different location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Ah Charlottesville, genteel and green. Home to UVA and all those classy, preppy, brainiacs. This motel has rooms in need of updating and a silly lobby with a gas fire that is probably supposed to be quaint. This is NOT a country inn. But it is a perfectly adequate place to stay. Breakfast is included and no worse that what you'd find at a Hampton Inn. The price is right, but don't fool yourselves into thinking this is anything more than a clean roadside motel. Aims high, misses the mark, but serves its purpose.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pickynotsnooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.9 km away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.8 km away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.2 km away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The English Inn of Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Inn of Charlottesville

Property: The English Inn of Charlottesville
Address: 2000 Morton Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22903-6800 (Formerly The English Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#6 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,622 - ₹ 11,280
Hotel Class:3 star — The English Inn of Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
106 well-appointed rooms and suites. Enjoy all the pleasures of a fine Charlottesville hotel blended with the charm of a country inn. You’ll find the heart of the English Inn is our dedication to uncompromising quality and exemplary personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The English Inn of Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The English Hotel Charlottesville
English Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing