We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dive alert dive alert!!”
Review of Econo Lodge North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Dive alert dive alert!!”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

WOW where to start it was all so bad. On a 3 day motorcycle ride stayed the night before at a great HoJo's in lexington for the exact same price and it was great dated but great. This was dirty, carpets showers beds wall furniture etc etc. The outside is dismal with new paint. The party upstairs went all night and we heard it had to turn on the ac unit just to cover it up. The desk staff needs to work on courses to interact with customers. If it costs a few bucks more to stay accross the street in one of the other hotels do it We sure will the next time we have to stay in this area. So if you stay be warned the next sound you will hear is the DIVE DIVE DIVE warning from a 60's sub movie.

Room Tip: at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    28
    45
    17
    20
See reviews for
34
41
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

2 out of 3 nights were acceptable, except for the general smelliness of the place. Noisy plumbing woke me up an hour before the alarm clock, and kept me awake. Stay away on college football weekends: even this far from campus, the kids were drinking and yelling until 3 am, in the motel, and up and down the street, and tossing footballs over cars in the parking lot. The staff were nice and professional, but I would not stay here again if I could find a budget room elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

During our recent stay in Charlottesville, we decided to try the Econolodge North. We usually stay in a little nicer line of hotels, but had read some reviews of this one and decided to try it. This is an Econo Lodge, so we started with an idea of what we were getting into. We had stayed at the Econo Lodge University (1 mile south) and swore to never stay at an Econo Lodge again.

What a pleasant surprise. This is an older motel. As we entered, we noticed how well maintained and freshly painted the property was. The staff was prepared and our check-in was easy. Once to our room, we were pleasantly surprised to find it clean, well maintained and odorless.

New, it is not, some fixtures were new, some were old, but well maintained. The room was relatively quiet, although we did have some noisy neighbors (college students, loud music) one night.

As you look for hotels in Charlottesville, you quickly realize the area is not cheap. I would recommend that you give this hotel a chance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waxrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girard, il
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Bed and bathroom is about it. So called truck parking is parallel on street. Breakfast is a joke. Lots of imigrant workers staying there. For the few $ more, I would stay across street @ days inn or other motel in area. No bargain! Never again at this one

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rottieluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I checked in yesterday for 3 nights, I am leaving today after my first night, bathroom was not clean enough, the water was not running properly while taking a shower it was like taking a bath because the water was reaching the ankles; the lighting was loose, some body's short (clothing) was in the bathroom, there is not even a coffee maker or a iron board in the room, I woke up with allergies, breakfast is coffee, muffin and slice bread, not even a space designated for breakfast, exterior looks very old, air condition panel has a whole, I called to customer service and I was told all the bathrooms are like that, I had to go and get the iron board myself, small iron board.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jblackmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
Red Roof Inn Charlottesville
#26 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.3 km away
Excel Inn & Suites
Excel Inn & Suites
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlottesville - UVA Medical
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte...
#18 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#13 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.4 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
2.4 km away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#28 of 35 in Charlottesville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Property: Econo Lodge North
Address: 2014 Holiday Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22901-2817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,942 - ₹ 7,367
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge North Hotel Charlottesville
Econo Lodge Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing