We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,260)
Filter reviews
1,260 results
Traveller rating
705
318
139
68
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
705
318
139
68
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old mill sports club beautiful resort boar tennis facility peanut soup hunt club the main lodge lake view walking trails our room was spacious long weekend fitness center charlottesville area bistro property squash
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 1,260 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Large rooms, very clean, but some of the rooms need refurbishing and modernizing. This is definitely a family or sports oriented resort as it offers all types of activities for kids and people who do sports, e.g., swimming, tennis, racquetball, and the like. They are very pleasant and accommodating. Lots of walking paths with beautiful gardens and plantings. Each room has a patio or balcony and this is a pet friendly property. About 5 minutes outside Charlottesville.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over a garden view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChefAnnMt_Laurel_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russcronberg_gm, General Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear ChefAnnMt_Laurel_NJ,

We appreciate your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at Boar’s Head. We value guest comments and view them as a way to improve the guest experience. We hope you will return after our renovations if not before to enjoy all that Boar's Head has to offer.

Best,
Russ C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Unhelpful staff, rooms not clean, WIFI very spotty, no one helps, amenities in the room insufficient, equipment did not work, terrible mattress. No concierge service, no one to help. For the cost of rooms the quality is very deficient.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sa2018413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russcronberg_gm, General Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear sa2018413,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor post. We are sorry we didn't live up to your expectations of Boar's Head and apologize that your room was not for what you had hoped. We'll share that with the team and use that information to make improvements. We appreciate your stay and hope that you will visit again the future.

Sincerely,
Russ C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This was just a quick overnight stay for us while we were in town for our son’s baseball tournament. We have always heard great thngs about the resort and decided we would give it a try. We will definitely be back when we can spend more time enjoying the resort facilities and grounds!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thbailey2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russcronberg_gm, General Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear thbailey2018,

Awesome! We love to see reviews where our guests enjoyed their stay with us at Boar’s Head, even for just an overnighter. It’s such a great place to stay whether you are with family, friends or even at a meeting. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit when you can spend more time with us. I hope your son's baseball tournament was what you'd hope it to be!

Best,
Russ C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

A quintessential place to stay while in Charlottesville. It would definitely be a place Thomas Jefferson would stay, and I’m pretty sure Tony Bennet lives there. If you are coming to Charlottesville and don’t stay here, you missed out!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ZachW506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russcronberg_gm, General Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Zach W,

Boar’s Head thanks you for your TripAdvisor post. We are delighted that you experienced Boar’s Head as a quintessential Virginia resort, offering a warm, intimate ambiance,exceptional service and unparalleled Southern hospitality. We are working hard to continue to improve upon the already outstanding Resort while maintaining the elegance and character it has always possessed. Boar’s Head is conveniently located close to many local attractions, shopping, and restaurants.

Thank you again for your review. We do appreciate every guest who takes the time to visit and share their experience with others. We look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Russ C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

I have been to the Boar's Head many times and the staff is always helpful. The rooms and food are usually very good. The construction has disrupted service, but I'm sure they are doing the best they can and of course we all know that you cannot please everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bgladding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
russcronberg_gm, General Manager at Boar's Head Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you so much for your recent review of your visit to Boar’s Head. We are so pleased when we are able to welcome returning guests. It is always nice to hear such kind words about the service you received from our associates. We look forward to having you return again when you are in the area.

Best,
Russ C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews