We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (4,140)
Filter reviews
4,140 results
Traveller rating
3,518
541
68
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,518
541
68
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air and space museum space shuttle dulles airport observation tower parking fee on display museum is free imax theater sr blackbird amazing collection great museum national mall aviation history control tower smithsonian museums shuttle discovery downtown dc
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 4,140 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Pay $15 to park and admission is free. Bring your camera. Enter and go directly to the free guided tour. Dave is a pilot and docent. Dave showed us highlights of the museum including a Concorde and Discovery Space Shuttle. You can walk around the shuttle, inspect heat damaged tiles and view Discovery from the second floor. If you like the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum in DC you will enjoy this museum. If you are hungry McDonalds is inside next to a large gift shop.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Gatorartlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This museum is amazing! I even prefer it to the Air and Space museum on the national mall. It has the most amazing aircraft, including the Concorde, Space Shuttle Discovery, and even the Enola Gay. It's a real stroll through history. Don't miss the Blackberry (I think that's what it is called.) It flew from coast to coast in about an hour in the 1960s. I wonder what amazing feats today's secret technology is able to do. Very entertaining and highly recommended.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank MamaAyinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Annoyed at guards that said it’s unsafe to carry my tired 2.5yo on my shoulders/in my arms, I stated parents carry their kids all the time, and he said it was unsafe...so we left, depriving the other three kids in our party of the full experience.

And $15 is a rip off for parking as it’s out in the middle of nowhere.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank timmerfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We had previously toured the original air and space museum on the Mall in DC. This one is so much better...bigger and more to see. There is a Space Shuttle and the Concorde, inside huge hangars surrounded by other aviation relics. Truly something for everyone to marvel at. Allow yourself several hours. Have I mentioned this place is huge??

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 1958Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The Udvar-Hazy Center in Chantilly, Virginia is the companion facility to the Air and Space Museum on the National Mall.

The Museum is in an enormous hanger chock-full of historic airplanes, helicopters, gliders and the Space Shuttle Discovery.
There is an observation tower where you can watch actual aircraft take off and land at Dullies Airport next door.
The Museum is open from 10:00AM to 5:00PM daily (Closed Christmas Day) Admission is free although parking is 15.00 USD. (Parking is free after 4:00)
There are plenty of clean restrooms and a McDonalds onsite.
Plan to spend at least a couple of hours at the museum.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews