We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Boyce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

This is a nice place conveniently located close to the DC area, and close to the beautiful Shenandoah mountains. It's small and manageable. Our room/suite was nice (Van Gogh) and comfortable except for the bathtub which was hard to get in and out of and made a huge water mess when you took a shower. It's really meant just for baths but who needs one in the middle of the summer?
Also, this place is located on a large state road and cars come flying by all day long. It's quieter at night, but early morning cars and trucks start zipping by. Not the most relaxing place if you're looking at getting out of the city to decompress, and listen to birds and bees.
At close to $500/night not really good value for money for our travel budget.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank TheTravelerDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

As we are located off Lord Fairfax Highway, there are peak times of day in which you are able to hear a harmonious hum of travelers passing, pasturing cows, and whimsical valley winds. The road was much less travelled when we opened our doors 37 years ago. Our property's perimeter fencing and traditional Provencale curtains over every guest room door and window are provided to help reduce any unwanted noise. The Van Gogh suite does have a jacuzzi jet bathtub with a shower head attachment. We have several other rooms and suites with shower/tub combos as well as aromatherapy steam showers. While not all guests may prefer the jacuzzi bathtub, we are happy to accommodate those needs. L'Auberge Provencale is perfect for a relaxing getaway with the beautiful orchards and gardens on our property, throughout which we have picnic tables and chairs - great for afternoon strolls and picnics! We are also just a 3 minute drive from the Virginia State Arboretum, where there are breathtaking views, walking and biking trails, and driving tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Traveling from New York to Florida looking for a place to stay and eat and charge my car. A Tesla destination charge place was this bed-and-breakfast. I was a late check in but was able to order from the "bar menu" which turned out to be a five-star meal. The bar area was very accommodating, peaceful, and wonderfully stocked. The rooms were beyond amazing and I had a wonderful night sleep only to be served a breakfast that almost surpassed the dinner. I will be returning to stay for a longer period of time when I am not on a quick road trip. Thank you to the hosts for a great stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Owner at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

So happy you were able to take advantage of our Tesla charger on your way to Florida. It serves our guests very well when on road trips such as yours, We also, have a charger for other electric cars and our customers are welcome to use both no charge!
The new bar menu and venue is a great place to unwind on a road trip as well as enjoy our bistro style cuisine served there. It compliments our fine dining side of the restaurant and allows our guests a lot of flexibility to enjoy the great farm to table cuisine coming from our newly renovated kitchen.
We look forward to seeing you on your way back and hopefully you can stay longer at L'Auberge Provencale to enjoy the Shenandoah Valley and Virginia wine country. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We stayed in the Van Gogh suite. This is a large suite with a large sitting area with fireplace and a nice tv. The large sunken bedroom has a great bed ! The nice bathroom has a very modern and great jacuzzi tub for two. This room is at the end of the inn and is just about as private as you could want. I can't say enough about the wonderful landscaping and all the flowers. You truly feel that you are in the french countryside. The breakfast is fantastic and we had a truly 5 course dinner in the restaurant. It is a little pricey for some, but truly makes a very special meal and worth every dollar spent. The owners are wonderful people and the Maitre De, Christian is such a pleasure !

Room Tip: All the rooms are so beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mem413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you for your review! It was such a joy getting to know the both of you during your stay at L'Auberge Provencale. During your next visit, make sure to dine in our bar and lounge which features a brasserie fare menu such as moules frites, cheese and charcuterie and much more! We hope to host you again soon. Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We stayed at L'Auberge for two nites and we will definitely be back. Everything was wonderful from start to finish. The room was gorgeous and well appointed. There was great attention to detail - our ice bucket was automatically fillled each afternoon! Perfect to take a cocktail out to the garden to enjoy. The food was spectacular! We enjoyed the 4 course meal and couldn't have been happier. The sommelier recommended a wine to pair with our meals and it was perfect! Every staff member was attentive and friendly. Honestly, I can't think of any recommendations for improvement!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We're happy you enjoyed yourselves during your stay with us. Make sure to try out our bar and lounge during your next visit which features brasserie food with craft beers and cocktails. We hope to host you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We visited this place for our 40th Anniversary and it was an experience we would quickly like to forget. There were flies in the room, it was very hot and we were forced to eat at their most expensive restaurant. 100.00 per person without drinks. We payed 400.00 a night for this and would definitely not be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Your input is very valuable to us as we strive to maintain high standards and make sure our guests have the best experience possible. We do request our guests to eat with us on weekends as we are a foodie destination and this is our season. All of our guests have the option to dine in our casual bar and lounge or in our formal dining rooms. In the bar our guests may choose from an a la carte menu, while in the formal dining room we do have 3 types of pre-fix menus for our guests. Our guests are not "forced" to dine in the formal dining rooms, as they have the option which is outlined in our policies online, in the confirmation emails we send as well as when during our follow up phone calls to confirm reservations. We apologize your stay isn't what you had hoped, however no staff members were made aware of any concerns or discomfort during your stay particularly with any flies or complications with the air conditioner. We have also had no complaints regarding those that you mentioned in that room since your departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyce
14.1 km away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
32.2 km away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,438 reviews
30.5 km away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 8 in Middleburg
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
259 reviews
14.3 km away
The Ashby Inn
The Ashby Inn
#1 of 1 in Paris
165 reviews
16.5 km away
Lackawanna B&B
Lackawanna B&B
#3 of 11 in Front Royal
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13630 Lord Fairfax Hwy, Boyce, VA 22620-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Boyce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boyce
Price Range: ₹ 12,184 - ₹ 27,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic Shenandoah bed and breakfast in beautiful White Post, VA. Our bed & breakfast, a Select Registry Property, in Virginia features luxurious rooms and suite with comfy beds, fluffy robes, flat screens and fireplaces. Don't miss out on a once in a lifetime dining experience at one of the best French restaurants in America. Executive Chef Joseph Watters at our Northern Virginia B&B creates culinary works of art utilizing the freshest local ingredients for an unforgettable romantic Virginia getaway. Enjoy too our Second Tier Wine Spectator awarded wine cellar with over 1,000 selections. Utilize our concierge service to tour the local vineyards, arboretums, art galleries and civil war museums in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Provencale Hotel Boyce
l`Auberge Provencale b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing