We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
400
74
40
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
400
74
40
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showerfrench countrythe main housevirginia countrysideb bsromantic getawayamuse bouchenext morningbusy highwayauberge provencalechocolate covered strawberriesmain roadgourmet breakfastlocal wineriesrolling hillswine tourfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We stayed at L'Auberge for two nites and we will definitely be back. Everything was wonderful from start to finish. The room was gorgeous and well appointed. There was great attention to detail - our ice bucket was automatically fillled each afternoon! Perfect to take a cocktail out to the garden to enjoy. The food was spectacular! We enjoyed the 4 course meal and couldn't have been happier. The sommelier recommended a wine to pair with our meals and it was perfect! Every staff member was attentive and friendly. Honestly, I can't think of any recommendations for improvement!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We're happy you enjoyed yourselves during your stay with us. Make sure to try out our bar and lounge during your next visit which features brasserie food with craft beers and cocktails. We hope to host you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We visited this place for our 40th Anniversary and it was an experience we would quickly like to forget. There were flies in the room, it was very hot and we were forced to eat at their most expensive restaurant. 100.00 per person without drinks. We payed 400.00 a night for this and would definitely not be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Your input is very valuable to us as we strive to maintain high standards and make sure our guests have the best experience possible. We do request our guests to eat with us on weekends as we are a foodie destination and this is our season. All of our guests have the option to dine in our casual bar and lounge or in our formal dining rooms. In the bar our guests may choose from an a la carte menu, while in the formal dining room we do have 3 types of pre-fix menus for our guests. Our guests are not "forced" to dine in the formal dining rooms, as they have the option which is outlined in our policies online, in the confirmation emails we send as well as when during our follow up phone calls to confirm reservations. We apologize your stay isn't what you had hoped, however no staff members were made aware of any concerns or discomfort during your stay particularly with any flies or complications with the air conditioner. We have also had no complaints regarding those that you mentioned in that room since your departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I have been visiting L'Auberge for almost 10 years now and it just gets better every time! It started as a fun way to celebrate my mother's birthday. We had such a great experience that we visit a few times a year. I can't say enough about the wonderful owners and the entire team. Everyone goes out of their way to make the best experience for their customers. Not sure what I love the most - the service, new lounge, breakfast, dinner, cocktails, the pool in the summer, or being greeted by Bernadette and Noel! Can't wait to visit again soon!

Room Tip: So many great things to do in the area!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChloeVinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words! It's always a pleasure to host you. L'Auberge Provencale believes in having delicious, decadent food topped with gracious service for all of our guests. We also, have to agree with you, it is a tough call especially with Noel and Bernadette! We look forward to your next visit with us here in the Shenandoah Valley. Merci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

My husband and I spent a night last week and loved it. The staff was lovely and attentive, our room was perfect, and we enjoyed a cocktail in the new lounge area and a fabulous dinner and breakfast. I am gluten-free, which I noted when I made the reservation, and everyone on staff knew and took care of me. Both meals were outstanding. It was a perfect ending to our week of solitude before collecting our children from sleep-away camp. (And my husband said the croissants were to die for!)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank akardis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your night away before picking up your children from camp. We ask all of our guests upon making a reservation whether there are any dietary restrictions or allergies we should be aware of; so that we may accommodate them. Here, at L'Auberge Provencale, we believe everyone should be able to enjoy a spectacular meal, regardless of any restrictions. We serve a full gourmet breakfast to all of our inn guests that consists of fresh fruit, breakfast breads, house-made granola, house-made croissants and a hot entree. We are happy your husband enjoys the croissants as much as we do! We hope to host you again soon for another getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We had a truly enjoyable, relaxing visit for our anniversary. The staff was cordial, the location peaceful, the facility very well kept, and the meals were outstanding! L'Auberge Provencale is a great location to enjoy a quiet, special get-away. If Trip Advisor had an Outstanding rating, L'Auberge would get it!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words! Make sure to join our mailing list for upcoming specials and events. We hope to be able to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews