We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest thing to France you can imagine...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Boyce B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I recently visited for the second time and this time surpassed our expectations -- once again. This time we stayed at Villa Capanette. Our room (#13) was cheerful, spacious and overlooked the meadow. The Villa has a beautiful pool which was very welcome with the heat. Breakfast was served around the pool the next morning. On our previous visit (February), we stayed at the main Inn. The room was again beautiful, spacious and had the most exquisite bathtub. The meals at L'Auberge are divine - from the full breakfast (our first morning five courses including peach panna cotta and second morning an incredible eggs benedict) to the dinners (which defy written description here except to say that EVERYTHING is worth having. If you stay two nights, you must go there both nights so that you can plan your next night. The grounds are beautiful with many spots to just sit and take in the countryside. Day trips include Winchester and wineries. Celeste, Alain and Christian are wonderful hosts for an extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. We enjoyed #13 at the Villa (overlooking the meadow) in July and the pool was...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneymoonEveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

They say that Virginia is for lovers, well you two were the perfect loving couple. We enjoyed helping with your year long "honeymoon" and am glad you returned for another visit to L'Auberge Provencale! Thanks for the beautiful pictures as well.
We will look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Everything was impeccable, the rooms are clean, very tastefully decorated and welcoming, giving you the feeling you are actually in France. The grounds are well taken care of, with a beautiful garden and flower beds in front of each room. They also have their own herb and vegetable garden, a large porch in front of the house, and a patio area outside the restaurant, refreshments and pastries for the guests.

Dinner was amazing, both in terms of plating as well as taste. We tried the three-course menu for one person and the five-course menu for the other and split everything. It's the kind of food you have to savor slowly paying attention to every taste and texture. It may seem a bit pricey, but the executive chef does an amazing job. We heard him explain to someone that he personally picks the ingredients for each day's menu, so everything is fresh. The service was outstanding, better than at any other restaurant we had been to before. Wine is expensive.

Breakfast was cooked by one of the owners, who is French, and was delicious.

What impressed us the most was the attention to detail in every category. You cannot stay/dine here and not notice the effort that goes into ensuring you, as a guest, feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our renovations including a new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Spent one night and would love to go back for more. It was a beautiful place with great staff and a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilliemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words. The staff and myself, are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps next time you can make your getaway a little longer so you can really get a chance to relax and enjoy the Shenandoah Valley. Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We received a one-day gift certificate for L'Auberge and stayed for a special package--2 nights and get the 3rd free. This was an exceptional value and we were so glad that we had those extra days. We chose to stay at the Villa La Campagnette which is about 3 miles down the road. The gardens and pool were heavenly and the countryside peaceful and gorgeous! It was worth the stay just to have the delicious and generous gourmet breakfasts served at poolside! The large room had an attached sitting room--both comfortable and cozy.There were cookies, fresh fruit, and lemonade available in the dining room throughout the day, along with soft drinks and water in the pool area.The area surrounding the inn had many activities to enjoy when not relaxing at the pool or in the room. We enjoyed touring Virginia wineries, walking the roads/paths of the state arboretum and hiking up to the Appalachian Trail. The innkeepers were friendly and informative; the staff at the restaurant were attentive and efficient; the housekeeping staff were nice and friendly. All in all, we had a wonderful time and look forward to returning to experience a different season in the Virginia countryside and to feast on more local fare prepared with elegance and fabulous flavors!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here at L'auberge Provencale. Not only to hear about the inn, but also, to hear that you really enjoyed the local area of the Shenandoah Valley. We are truly blessed to have such a wonderful place to be, with the proximity of some of Virginia's best wineries, the State Arboretum, Skyline Drive, and great hiking. Also, just lazing by the pool can be a welcome respite from the otherwise hectic world.
If you come in the fall you can enjoy the changing of the leaves, the harvest of grapes, and crackling of a nice fire in your room. Crisp air and warm and cozy nights by our outside fire pit. S'mores?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a B&B that you would love to tell everyone about, but then again wish not to, just to hopefully keep this one to yourself. First of all, you're surrounded by the Shenandoah mountains and far enough from DC that you have enough bars on the mobile phone to make that text or phone call. If you're looking for an outstanding stay and absolutely marvelous fine dining experience without breaking the bank (well almost), then pack your overnight bag or maybe stay a few more nights, drive West for about 1.4 hours, well, maybe you should stop at our favorite winery (Barrel Oak) and visit these fine folks (Celeste and Alain Borel, Innkeepers). You will not be disappointed... if you're disappointed, then nothing will satisfy your palate or comfortability. Enjoy!

Room Tip: TV or no TV that is the question!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATC_EWD_Voyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProvenceVirginia, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Thank you for your review! We invite you back to experience our renovations including a new bar & lounge featuring herb-infused drinks from our garden, brasserie/bistro fare, over 100 whiskeys and liquors, and local cider and beers on tap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boyce
15.1 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
857 reviews
12.0 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
14.1 km away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
16.5 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Middletown
89 reviews
32.2 km away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast

Address: 13630 Lord Fairfax Hwy, Boyce, VA 22620-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Boyce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boyce
Price Range: ₹ 13,383 - ₹ 28,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a romantic Shenandoah bed and breakfast in beautiful White Post, VA. Our bed & breakfast, a Select Registry Property, in Virginia features luxurious rooms and suite with comfy beds, fluffy robes, flat screens and fireplaces. Don't miss out on a once in a lifetime dining experience at one of the best French restaurants in America. Executive Chef Joseph Watters at our Northern Virginia B&B creates culinary works of art utilizing the freshest local ingredients for an unforgettable romantic Virginia getaway. Enjoy too our Second Tier Wine Spectator awarded wine cellar with over 1,000 selections. Utilize our concierge service to tour the local vineyards, arboretums, art galleries and civil war museums in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your L'Auberge Provencale Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Provencale Hotel Boyce
l`Auberge Provencale b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing