We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blood on the walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This place is a total dump. There was blood on the walls. I contacted the front desk attendant. She contacted the front desk manager and the general manager. The general manager, ANDREW authorized a one night credit, but no phone call. The front desk manager , JEREMY never contacted me. Housekeeping came to clean the room, did a so so job. I could still see blood. There are families living their. I feel bad for them, but it must be better than what they had. I am grateful that they are not on the street. I am going to take my complaint to the corporate office. Please join me with your complaints.

Room Tip: I was able to see inside a few rooms. All the rooms I saw looked l dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbenns8622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

We take all guest concerns and feedback very seriously and apologize if our staff failed to communicate how seriously we took your concerns. Thank you for reaching out to us during your stay regarding the stain on the wall so that we could ensure that this issue was addressed immediately. I am pleased to report that, while perhaps disconcerting in appearance, the stain was found during cleaning to be a tomato-based sauce.
After speaking with you directly during your stay, our Host and General Manager was under the impression that you were satisfied with the resolution to this issue. He asked me to share his apologies for not following up with an additional phone call after your stay. Please know that we do take all guest concerns seriously and welcome any additional comments or concerns you may have regarding your experience. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly so we can ensure your concerns are addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2017

No non-smoking room, despite that being our reservation months in advance. The room they gave us smelled awful and there were bugs climbing out of the air conditioner. We left immediately, they had no other rooms. We were stuck in Blacksburg, late at night, on move-in weekend, with no place to stay. They made no apology, no effort to help us find another room, no suggestion even. We will never return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank tyegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. Unfortunately, when guests book through third-party websites, we are not always made aware of their room preferences prior to their arrival. We want all our guests to enjoy a great stay and are always happy to accommodate preferences upon check-in when it is possible for us to do so and we apologize that this was not possible in your case. We have high standards for the cleanliness of all our guest rooms and I am sorry to hear that your room failed to meet our standards. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you encountered and we hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future so that we may have the opportunity to replace this experience with a superior one. We also hope you will consider booking with us directly so that we can be sure your room preferences are noted prior to your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I would've been satisfied with my stay if it wasn't for the fact that I booked a non-smoking room and our room had such horrible cigarette smell we couldn't sleep. I late realized the hotel had smoking rooms and I was probably given one of those. When I brought it up to the receptionist in the morning I was told "yea, you got the smoking room". No apologies, nothing. It makes a huge difference for a person who doesn't smoke to get a room where the whole place, especially the bed, reeks of cigarettes. I will not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank 91justynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We are disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. We do have a small percentage of rooms that are still designated as smoking optional in order to accommodate those guests with that preference and it is unfortunate that we were unaware of your preference for a non-smoking room. Should your travels permit a return visit, and we sincerely hope that they do, please consider booking directly with us to ensure your preferences are noted on your reservation. We do hope to see you again and we hope your next stay will exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank O4822NUmichaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 August 2017

It's really a shelter for homeless families.That's OK, just don't book as a hotel. Rooms and towels smell like smoke. Only 2 towels/rooms for 4. Children living there eat all of the breakfast food. None left for 'hotel' guests. Fake eggs. RAN OUT OF TOILET PAPER!!! My newphew booked a block of rooms for out of town wedding guests. No block. Rooms were all over the building. Also, it's not a hotel, it's a motel with a huge hill and steep steps to climb for room on the front of the building. There are many fine hotels and air bnb's in Blacksburg. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sheerinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

You can be assured that our hotel is certainly not a “shelter for homeless families”. Our convenient location near Virginia Tech and great value for travelers does appeal to many types of travelers including VT football fans, parents and alumni, overnight guests passing through the area, long-term guests working in our area, and those visiting friends and family or attending events in the area, such as yourself. We are sorry to hear that your stay failed to meet your expectations and apologize if there was a delay in food being replenished during our free breakfast buffet. It is our goal to ensure we provide each of our guests with a plentiful and fresh buffet.
Our Team strives to address any concerns that arise regarding a guest's stay and we are sorry to hear that, despite our Team's efforts at a resolution upon receiving your feedback, that you were still disappointed with your experience. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly utilize it to improve future guests’ experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blacksburg hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#8 of 10 in Blacksburg
226 reviews
5.4 km away
Hyatt Place Blacksburg/University
5.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
#3 of 10 in Blacksburg
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blacksburg - University Area
5.3 km away
Residence Inn Blacksburg-University
2.6 km away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#7 of 10 in Blacksburg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center

Address: 3503 Holiday Ln, Blacksburg, VA 24060-7005 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Blacksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Blacksburg
Price Range: ₹ 2,930 - ₹ 6,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect southern hospitality and a warm welcome at our Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center hotel, off Interstate 81 and near Virginia Tech. Stroll around our spacious grounds as you enjoy the scenic mountain views that surround our pet-friendly Blacksburg, VA, hotel. Start your day with healthy free Daybreak continental breakfast, then connect to the office with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Work out in our gym, swim in our seasonal outdoor pool or get work done in our business center. Each room comes equipped with a microwave and refrigerator, and handicapped-accessible rooms are available. We offer free parking, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Blacksburg Hotel Blacksburg
Days Inn Blacksburg Conference Center Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing