We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel with Nice Rooms but needs a Major Refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Williston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights the weekend of February 24th 2012. The check-in process was very quick and while the desk agent did not mention my Elite status I was given key cards showing my status.
We reserved and were provided a Penthouse Suite. The room consists of a living room, kitchen, bedroom with queen bed and an upstairs loft with a queen sized bed. There are 2 bathrooms in the suite. The room was clean with plenty of soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. There was also one package of microwave popcorn for the first night along with coffee and tea which we did not use. Access to the room is through outside access or from an exterior pathway between the buildings. There are no interior hallways at this property. Our room was clean as it should be however, the room does need a refurbishment with many items out of date such as CRT style TV's, old furniture, noisy appliances, worn carpeting and worn tile and fixtures in the bathrooms. The exterior of the buildings have rotting wood trim and siding and several broken stairs.
Breakfast is included with the cost of the room. Breakfast is from 7:00 - 10:00 am and includes eggs, sausage patties, potatoes, waffles, orange juice, cranberry juice, a large bowl of yogurt, English muffins, regular muffins, bread and bagels. The scramble eggs are hand made an while most items are fresh, the baked goods did not seem to be fresh. The lady attending the breakfast is very nice and is very dedicated to her job. She did an excellent job servicing the area and preparing the food. The pool and spa are only able to be accessed from the outside. The pool temperature was about 80 degrees making for a cold short swim. The spa was warm and not too hot. However the spa is in one corner of the pool and is very small. holding only 4 people. The pool area is clean but the pool needs a major refurbishment. There are rust stains in the bottom of the pool, exposed electrical wires and a missing light inside the pool, cracked areas in the pool and many tiles are broken and need to be repaired. While this was a pleasant stay and the hotel is clean. The major problem with the property is simply it is worn out. This is apparent especially in the pool area and the common areas of the hotel. While the room are clean the dated furnishings and worn out rooms do not measure up to the Marriott standards I have see at other properties. As a result I would not stay at this hotel until it has been refurbished.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby to minimize walking in the cold to get to the pool and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 419 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

First i must tell you that i am a Gold member of the Marriott Reward's program and frequently stay at all type of Marriott properties so my perspective is not limited. The room layout was fine, for the most part the place was very clean (kitchen, bathrooms, beds) my problem was with the furniture, rugs and the outdated room (needed to be redone some yaers back). The chair and sofa were so stained that neither of my two kids would go near them in fear of catching something. We discoved a very staind ottaman for the chair in one of the closets (like it was being kept in the dark to culture something). Sad to say that unless I know that this place is scheduled for a complete room makeover, I would not consider this location as an option to stay. We were booked to be there 5 nights, we stayed one and despite my Gold status with marriott we went to another non-Marriott property near by.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The place was immaculately clean, and a fireplace to boot! Logs for sale in the lobby. Breakfast was average, at least it had proteins. If you are not familiar with this chain, they are like small, fully stocked apartments. This had everything you could think of - large and small appliances and kitchen tools. Free cocoa in the lobby to bring back to your room and drink by your fire. Only down was the bedding was a bit thin... the room was warm enough though. The location is great too. About 45 minutes to Sugarbush and 10 minutes to downtown Burlington.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvvlngkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I thought this Residence Inn was perfect for my 6 week assignment in Vermont. The rooms are clean and the bedding is very comfortable. The daily breakfast and dinners a couple times a week really helps keep costs down. Exercise room has basics and pool area is good during the week but tends to get crowded with families on weekends.

Room Tip: Select near checkin buliding and away from Route 89
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mddawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just back from our third (or fourth?) stay at the Residence Inn in Williston. We love this place! Homey, close to Burlington, close to various ski mountains (Bolton Valley is about 30 mins away; Stowe and Smuggs under an hour), awesome and friendly staff. I was surprised to read negative comments--we have never had a bad stay here! Jennifer at the front desk and the gentleman who works the desk in the mornings are both unfailingly friendly, informative, and helpful. The rooms are large, with comfortable beds,kitchens, and a condo-like feel. This time, they upgraded us (unasked to a suite--what a nice room. Loft bedroom, spacious downstairs, would be perfect for a family, I think, as it had a murphy bed and (I think) a pull-out couch. With just two of us, space was ample!

Breakfast is included and decent enough--eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, cereals, breads, coffee, juices, etc. It's not five star dining, but for a free breakfast, it's filling and pretty good. If you want more, you're right off the I-89 (10 minute ride to Burlington) and right off a main drag with a Starbucks and other options less than a mile away. So if you need options, there you go.

The staff is what sets this place head and shoulders above other Marriotts we've stayed at (and as members who like to rack up free nights, we stay at a lot of them). While the Residence Inns are lower-tier hotels in the chain, this is nicer than some of the higher tier Marriotts we've stayed at, in terms of amenities and service. Again, our thanks to Jennifer, our superfriendly and hardworking housekeeper, Karen, and everyone else who made our stay this time exceptional. See you guys again soon!

Room Tip: Every room we've stayed in has been great, but if you're a family, book one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlingtongm, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thank you for your comments about your stay. I appreciate you adding associates names who delivered amazing service. I will ensure to recognize them and share your comments with them. Look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williston
7.7 km away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
5.8 km away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
700 reviews
6.4 km away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Hotel Burlington & Conference Center
1.7 km away
TownePlace Suites Burlington Williston
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Burlington Williston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Burlington

Address: 35 Hurricane Ln, Williston, VT 05495-2071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Williston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Williston
Price Range: ₹ 7,023 - ₹ 13,917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Burlington, VT has all you need to rest, work and play. Located just a short distance from Burlington International Airport, this upscale, extended-stay hotel in Burlington, VT offers spacious suites with full kitchens, free wireless Internet, a heated indoor pool & whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center (guests also enjoy access and classes at the nearby Sports Edge fitness facility) and a complimentary daily breakfast buffet. A short drive to Stowe, Sugarbush and Smuggler's Notch, it's easy to enjoy four seasons of outdoor activities such as hiking, boating, fishing, skiing and skating. Cruise Lake Champlain on the Spirit of Ethan Allen or the Lake Champlain Ferries, or visit ECHO Lake Aquarium, Shelburne Farms, and the Ethan Allen Homestead instead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Burlington/Williston Hotel Williston
Residence Inn Williston
Williston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing