We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place. Cheap on weekends. EXCEPT IF YOU HAVE A DOG!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Williston
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester VT
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place. Cheap on weekends. EXCEPT IF YOU HAVE A DOG!”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The place is very nice,, fully equipped and a bargain in the Burlington area if you are spending a weekend night when the business travelers are gone. But!!!!! They advertise as "pet friendly". We booked this through Yahoo Travel Best Buy, so we prepaid. I assumed there would be a pet fee, but when I looked on the hotel's own website I saw it was $75. After I had already paid just $99 for the room! We have been in a bunch of hotels with our dog, and have paid from $10-$25 pet fee. (the Hilton in Burlington is $25, with a lake view!) We argued them down to $50, but I have never heard of this kind of extortionary pet fee before! Gracie (dog) likes this place too but she's not paying the fee! Buyer beware if you have a pet. (A refundable deposit in any amount would be OK, but this is not that.)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItzikWorcesterVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlingtongm, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Burlington, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you so much for leaving your comments on tripadvisor. I am glad you and Gracie enjoyed your stay here. The pet fee is high due to the special cleaning that goes on in the room once you leave. We do not have designated pet rooms at the hotel as we are a home away from home for so many and their pets. When a guest leaves the hotel and had a pet we want to make sure the next person doesn't know there was a pet there. We also want to make sure the room is allergy free. Thank you for your feedback and for choosing the Residence Inn Williston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    158
    67
    38
    23
See reviews for
225
96
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Wish I had read these reviews more carefully before I booked. I stay at ~10 Residence Inns/year, and this is by far the worst I've ever stayed in. The building is just worn out.

Or should I say buildings? Trying to get a family of skiers in/out of separate Motel-style exterior access rooms, in snowy/icy conditions was a PITA. Everything was worn out and rusty. I imagine the CapEx budget was shut off mid-2008.

The staff was perfectly nice, but the infrastructure was shot.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinoTheDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Sometimes it is the little things that keep a place from being a great hotel. This RI has many little problems. In over 50 days not once could the breakfast crew have things in order and ready to roll at the correct time. The oatmeal was never cooked until mid morning. The selection was great for a mom with kids staying one to two nights. But for the typical RI long term resident it was boring. The evening manager specials were a joke. This RI manager never was present for the manager's toast. At other RI, they are there, cooking, pouring wine etc. No wine or beer in VT. A light was out in the parking lot, never fixed, because it takes time to get the parts... over 55 days, really!. The rooms were typical Marriott attire and the housecleaning crew did an excellent job with keeping them clean. It is still better than other brands but falls short overall. There is another RI in the Burlington area which is new and worth a try.

Room Tip: Smoke rises so get a first floor room since smokers all stand outside their room to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airdronepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This Inn is relatively easy to find, but is a bit out of the way.

It's clear that the management has done a very good job maintaining the rooms, although the cabinets in the kitchen probably do need to be redone (at least in our unit). They were a bit shopworn. Our room(s) were sizable and very comfortable. A really nice experience in that regard.

But it's not easy to get to many of the rooms. That's often the case at Residence Inns, but especially so here. The area is a bit hilly and our room was a good haul away from the nearest parking space. Indeed, in many respects, this Inn has been poorly designed in its exteriors and needs better exterior maintenance as well.

Specifically, it tends to have many stairs in its interior walkways (necessitated by its hilly location) and those walkways are also fairly narrow. I can't imagine how they handle the snow during the winter. The walkways were cracked in spots and the exteriors of the various units clearly needed painting in various places and even some more significant repairs where chunks of wood had suffered significant damage.

The Inn doesn't have a license to serve alcohol and so its "manager's night" consisted of cheese and crackers and various carbonated beverages in cans (as well as some coffee and tea). The "atmosphere" in the room was certainly the worst of any Residence Inn we've ever stayed at. Indeed, virtually no one actually lingered in the room. People came in, grabbed whatever they wanted and got out.

Breakfast was, as so often is the case at a Residence Inn, disappointing. It's better than nothing. Most of the time (and this time) about the best items are the bananas and apples.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close as possible to parking spaces--otherwise you may be in for quite a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel over the Columbus weekend. The location is good, retired in the wooded area but not far from shopping, restaurants and Burlington. A car is needed to access these locations.
We received an upgrade to a 1 bedroom with mezzanine suite that was pretty clean and was quite big. It could have accomodated 6 people as it had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. Ample space, 2 full bathrooms and full kitchen. The interior furniture is quite dated but is clean.
The lodging units need some work on the exterior as the paint is peeling off, is yellowish and the buildings look old. The hotel has 12 separate buildings with 4-6 suites each with separate exterior suite access. There are no elevators therefore people with reduced mobility should get the lower floor suites.
The main building has the main desk, the swimming pool, the exercise room, the breakfast area and the so called lobby. None of the hotel buildings is connected to the main building and the access is from the exterior.
Staff is very nice and helpful. The free cold and hot breakfast is good and plentiful. Coffee, teas and hot chocolate is available in the lobby 24/7.
This is not a luxury hotel but is a clean accomodation that offers home type ammenities if you like to roam all day and come to a home type environment instead of a little hotel room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williston
5.8 km away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
669 reviews
6.9 km away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
653 reviews
6.3 km away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Burlington Williston
0.1 km away
Courtyard Burlington Williston
6.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Burlington

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
Address: 35 Hurricane Ln, Williston, VT 05495-2071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Williston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Williston
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,056 - ₹ 18,690
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Burlington, VT has all you need to rest, work and play. Located just a short distance from Burlington International Airport, this upscale, extended-stay hotel in Burlington, VT offers spacious suites with full kitchens, free wireless Internet, a heated indoor pool & whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center (guests also enjoy access and classes at the nearby Sports Edge fitness facility) and a complimentary daily breakfast buffet. A short drive to Stowe, Sugarbush and Smuggler's Notch, it's easy to enjoy four seasons of outdoor activities such as hiking, boating, fishing, skiing and skating. Cruise Lake Champlain on the Spirit of Ethan Allen or the Lake Champlain Ferries, or visit ECHO Lake Aquarium, Shelburne Farms, and the Ethan Allen Homestead instead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Burlington/Williston Hotel Williston
Residence Inn Williston
Williston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing