We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail yet non-pretentious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deerhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deerhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Attention to detail yet non-pretentious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We loved our three night stay. It was a beautiful setting, very comfortable and welcoming and non pretentious. No frills to be seen and the art and craft work exhibited, added a contemporary feel to the traditional country style. We had fantastic views of the mountains from our upstairs room 'Evergreen'. The food was really lovely - fresh, local, seasonal and reasonable sized serves (not overflowing the plate). I can recommend the pancakes - a different flavour each day. I can't imagine a more enjoyable breakfast in Vermont, looking out the windows watching the hummingbirds feeding with the beautiful background scenery. It was what I hoped it to be - not disappointed in any way. Ariane was very professional, warm and also a lot of fun. My only complaint is that we didn't have any bad weather days where we could have curled up to read a book in one of the many comfortable spaces available in the Inn.

Room Tip: Evergreen was upstairs at the end (good privacy) with good views from the verandah. A very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sth-aussie-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
236
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My daughter and her fiance had booked the Inn for their wedding with the previous owners six months prior to the new ownership so we were not quite sure what to expect. I have to say, Arianne and her husband Scott handled the event for the family wedding flawlessly. They saw to everyones smallest need and their staff was pleasant and professional. They were gracious, the Inn was immaculate and the food was wonderful, even the wedding cake, rich, moist and not too sweet. The gardens provided a romantic backdrop for the ceremony and flowers were growing everwhere. We saw all the rooms and they were light and airy. A truly charming place for any type of stay.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This was our first visit to this inn. The TripAdvisor reviews were the deciding factor in selecting it. The setting with the view of the mountains was good. The warmth of welcome that we received from the new owners was exceptional. The facility was well kept and comfortable, as was the room. Both breakfast and dinner were superb. Not only was the food delicious, but every morsel was at the proper temperature. The wine list was more than adequate and the prices were good. Service was fine in every instance. The other guests appeared to enjoy their stays, as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasteful1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Get ready for a relaxing stay at a quaint Vermont Inn. When you walk in, you will see that it is exactly as you envisioned a Vermont Bed & Breakfast to be. Rustic furnishings, relaxed lighting and peace and quiet....who could ask for more? Step outside the front door and see a beautiful mountainous view right in front of you. Then - just sit down on the patio furniture and enjoy it.
Our room was beautiful and very tastefully furnished....and comfortable. Although there is no air conditioning, on most nights it is not needed. Open all of the windows and enjoy a cool breeze! The room has all of the amenities one would need to be comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning? Excellent! Dine in peace & quiet as you look through the large picture window in the diningroom that captures the spectacular view of the mountains.
The property is meticulously maintained.
Be sure and chat with the owners - Adrianne & Scott. VERY interesting people who are extremely friendly & accommodating to their guests. If you are a pianist (as I am) - be sure to crank out a couple of tunes on their baby grand in the parlor.....Adrianne will make you feel like a million dollars (if you're any good that is!!-LOL) with her compliments.
We hope to return in the fall for leaf peeping time.
WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our stay at the Deerhill Inn was - in one word - wonderful. My boyfriend and I were going up to Vermont for his birthday weekend, and before we had even arrived, Ariane and Scott were so helpful in my planning and preparation for the weekend. They had emailed me a long list of recommendations and information on where we should eat, go biking, kayaking etc. which was extremely helpful for us to plan the weekend.

We had arrived early and they allowed us to check in about 3 earlier then the normal check in time. We were given a tour of the very cute, remarkably designed inn. We stayed in the Delphinium room which I would definitely recommend: A beautifully painted room with an open deck to view the blooming garden right outside our doors - as well as a short walk to the outdoor pool!

Overall, we had absolutely no complaints. To top all of this off, Sunday morning we had biked into Wilmington for some breakfast (Dot's - ask for the homemade blueberry french toast!) and had unfortunately biked the 7 or so miles back to the inn only to realize we had left our keys back in town. With checkout only an hour away, not only did Ariane and Scott allow us to stay later to catch our breath, pack our bags, and relax - but Scott also offered to drive into town to pick up the keys for us while we tended to showering and packing....And he even offered to pick us up a latte also! The service was above and beyond what we could have asked for and Ariane and Scott are both two extremely kind and welcoming hosts. I would recommend this inn to anyone who wants a certainty of an amazing stay :)

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jahnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
4.2 km away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
5.1 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.2 km away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.3 km away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#7 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.3 km away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhill Inn

Property: Deerhill Inn
Address: 14 Valley View Road, PO Box 136, Dover, VT 05356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,117 - ₹ 13,919
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful hillside above historic West Dover, Deerhill Inn faces Vermont's tranquil Green Mountains. It's a special place with a warm welcome. Guestrooms feature jetted tubs, fireplaces, TV/DVD players; balconies or decks have Mountain or garden views. A pretty pool nestles in flower-filled gardens. Sitting and dining rooms welcome with log fires, candles and views. Menus feature fresh local ingredients and a Wine Spectator-awarded wine list. Full country breakfast, afternoon refreshments and WiFi are complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deerhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhill Hotel Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing