We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away.....please!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snow Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snow Lake Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dover
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay Away.....please!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Extremely disappointing hotel. Run-down, dirty, rooms are extremely small, bugs/insects in the rooms. Breakfast was digusting.....pre-pack cereal, stale bagels and packaged fruit. These folks had the nerve to charge $170 per night for this wonderful experience. Staff is friendly and nice, but that is the best thing I can say about this place.....of, I forgot the shuttle to Mt Snow is also convenient. This place need to be taken down and fully rebuilt if it has any chance to give Mt Snow a chance to compete with Stratton and Okemo. Go to those place instead for a better overall experience. West Dover has no character and very limited restaurant choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    34
    63
    29
    30
See reviews for
60
32
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
241 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is an economy hotel with small rooms, dated finishes and noisy hallways. But its worth it for the great view of the ski mountain from the outdoor jacuzzi and especially looking out from the room in the morning. Anyway, after a hard day of skiing I can sleep through almost anything.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ilkkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Myself and two friends stayed here for mount snow's college week. We found a deal from snosearch.com for $300 a person for 5 lift tickets and 5 nights. For being a cheap old lodge near a ski resort, we were pleasantly surprised with what we found. We needed a refrigerator for someone with dietary issues in our group, but the double we booked didn't have one. They gave us a free upgrade to a very nice suite with a King bedroom and pullout sofa. Joel and George at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The pullout bed sheets were not made, and they came up to change the them right away. The indoor hot hub is huge, and the sauna is clean but there are large windows from the bar, and the patrons are sometimes inclined to stare at the bathers in a creepy fashion. The outdoor hot tub is a great place to relax and look at the mountain after a day on the slopes. The maids were very through and pleasant. They even folded clothes laying around. The double bed rooms were rather small. Pretty decent continental breakfast. The Moover shuttle stops at SLL and can take you to the mountain and surrounding areas. Bottom line: Great staff and service make up for it being a kind of antiquated hotel.
PS- If you are traveling as a family with kids or really mind noise, don't go during college ski week. It will be loud.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AL13210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The Snow Lake Lodge is an economic opportunity to stay & ski Mount Snow. The lodge offers moderately sized rooms with views of the mountain (depending upon where you are located) in close proximity to the Main-base, Sundance, and Carinthia lodges. The lodge itself is still in need of some additional upgrades to individual rooms and common spaces in order to compete for customers that would prefer more defined amenities (room size needs to be increased or furniture needs to be slimmed down to allow for more floor space, bedding needs to reflect a higher quality, continental breakfast options need to be more robust and environmentally friendly (everything is disposable), hallway carpets need replacing, and board game options need to be more numerous & replaced).

However, our stay was pleasant and employees were friendly and well organized to meet customers' needs upon arrival. The lodge itself houses pictures of the lodge from previous decades that depict the charm and splendor that it offered to the Mount Snow area. In many ways the pictures make you feel connected to other ski areas showcased by the New England Ski Museum which allow you to overlook the many updates that the lodge needs.

The valley itself does not seem to have many economic lodging options so the Snow Lake Lodge permits a family to stay & ski Mount Snow more affordably than many of the surrounding inns and hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the mountain offer the most enjoyable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scienceonseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at Snow Lake Lodge for 4 nights (December 23-27) and fortunately we didn't experience the "frat house" feel that other reviewers experienced. We weren't expecting much because of the price we paid compared to what our friends paid to stay at the Grand Summit Lodge during the same period as us (we saved $730!)...The Snow Lake Lodge is not fancy and it is old so don't expect plasma tv's, wi-fi in the room etc...What you do get is a basic room that is clean, small but quaint, quiet, well maintained considering how old the place is, with a friendly staff. The location of the lodge is very convenient and the "moover" shuttle bus comes every 15 minutes so you do not need to drive to the slopes. Also, all the restaurants a very short drive away...We didn't see or hear anyone running or shouting in our 4 night stay and we thought the lodge was too quiet considering the place was almost sold out during the Christmas week. Breakfast is minimal and very basic (cereal, donuts, bagels, coffee, juice, tea...). The heat in the room worked very well and you get to adjust the temperature...If you are looking for a clean and economical place to stay, I would recommend this hotel but if you are looking for a luxurious hotel with a spa, activities, etc. then you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaysgrl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
16.8 km away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.2 km away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#9 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
10.1 km away
Vintage Motel
Vintage Motel
#1 of 3 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.8 km away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lake Lodge

Property: Snow Lake Lodge
Address: 7 Snow Lake Road, Dover, VT 05356
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,174 - ₹ 13,091
Hotel Class:2 star — Snow Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Snow Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lake Hotel Dover
Mount Snow Snow Lake Lodge Hotel
Snow Lake West Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing