We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Escondido, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My daughter Jessica was married last week at Honora Winery in Vermont. We had lots of family attending from across the country. The Grand Summit Resort Hotel was our choice of residence for two nights. They also prepared the food for the Wedding reception and a brunch for our out of towners the morning after the wedding. Everything was superb. The food for the reception was transported from the hotel to the winery about 40 minutes away and was hot, fresh and delicious. The brunch was spectacular with a great variety including fresh fruits, breads, custom made omelets and more. The staff went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and fun. And this was all done in the midst of full occupancy due to the Tough Mudder taking place at the same time. Kudos to Grand Summit Resort. And especially to the catering staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdchap1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    135
    37
    26
    14
See reviews for
116
91
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Was attending a wedding during the weekend the Tough Mudders were in town, everything was well organized and there wasn't any problems with parking or getting around. They also have fun events like smores evening, or hiking, and yoga. Didn't have time to attend any of them because of the wedding but next time we'd love to come back for a vacation. The food in the restaurant is amazing, they have Vermont fresh produce and everything from the home made clam chowder to the Harvest salad with fresh grilled scallops was delish!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeneeofdalamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I were doing the New England Tough Mudder and booked a 2-bedroom suite at the Grand Summit for the weekend. There were 3 adults and 1 child in our party. We had a GREAT experience at this hotel and can't wait to return. I'm a little baffled by some of the previous reviews. Obviously it's not a Four Seasons -- it's a New England ski lodge. And our expectations were low since it was an "event weekend" and the hotel was filled to capacity. But I must say, the hotel far exceeded our expectations in just about every way.

The suite was super roomy, comfortable, and well-appointed. I actually think the website does them a disservice -- the accommodations were much nicer than the description and pictures led me to believe. It's not necessarily luxurious, but I much prefer it to anything else we've seen in Dover (i.e. hundred year old B&B's in need of repair). We were very happy with it.

The service was outstanding. This was better service than I've had at some 5-star resorts. The staff seemed very prepared for the weekend and very organized. The front desk was friendly and helpful, housekeeping was very quick to bring extra towels, and even the staff keeping watch at the pool were making sure things ran smoothly.

We did not eat here, so I can't comment on the food. We took advantage of the kitchen and had breakfast in the suite, and then went out into Dover for other meals.

I loved this place. The hotel itself is nice, maybe unremarkable in some ways, but the service and the atmosphere made it very memorable. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Mount Snow (or as a "home base" for any Southern VT vacation).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east lansing, michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The extended family will wrap up a week at Grand Summit. It has been a delightful stay. The grandchildren attended day camp while the adults did daily touring of the beautiful countryside.

Our respective one-bedroom suites were spacious and clean and we did use our kitchen to cook some basic meals. The restaurants nearby offer decent food fare at reasonable prices. The artisan cheeses and farm-frsh produce are excellent,

The hotel service has been both cordial and helpful.

I would recommend Grand Summit for family get-togethers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed here for a week in June 2012 for a scientific meeting. The property is lovely and the staff pleasant and helpful. My room was a small efficiency that had a Murphy bed (as did many others I am told). This thin mattress did not provide a great sleep experience. The curtains did a very poor job of blocking light which further impaired sleeping. The worst part of the stay was the food. In a word, it was abysmal. Perhaps the worst I have ever had at a conference. Overcooked, tasteless, and low quality are perhaps the most complimentary descriptors I can use. It was so bad, that I and several colleagues started having our lunch and dinners off site, despite that we had to pay extra.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bblumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
I appreciate that you took the time to detail your visit to the Grand Summit Resort. I am glad that the staff exceeded your expectation and hope you enjoyed all of the amenities from the outdoor heated pool & Spa to the mountain resort experience. As for the room experience, I will speak to our refurbishment team to review options that may be more appealing. I do apologize that you had issues with the food and can ensure you that we will make the necessary changes; had we heard this feedback during your stay we would have made the corrections immediately. Our standard is to provide an unsurpassed service to all of our guests and apologize that we did not meet this goal during your stay. I hope you will take the opportunity to visit us again and see that we can provide the service that you are looking for. Feedback like yours gives us the opportunity to build on a memorable guest service experience that we strive to create. Thank you again for your observations and I hope you will take the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
16.5 km away
Stratton Mountain Resort
Stratton Mountain Resort
#1 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
193 reviews
26.4 km away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
314 reviews
16.6 km away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
169 reviews
26.2 km away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
4.7 km away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Address: 39 Mount Snow Road, PO Box 2805, Dover, VT 05356
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,151 - ₹ 27,065
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Summit Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escaping to a world of complete relaxation and exhilaration to fulfill your next great adventure craving has never been easier than visiting the Mount Snow Grand Summit Resort Hotel. Located in the renowned Green Mountains our idyllic, year-round resort is an incomparable staging ground for your outdoor vacation activities with family, or for a romantic getaway. We offer guests just about every amenity imaginable so there is truly something for everyone. This is in part why we’re fast becoming a leading wedding and conference destination. Let us help you begin your Grand Vermont adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Summit Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Hotel
Summit West Dover
West Dover Summit
Grand Summit West Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing