We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not a bad place to stay the night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay the night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I will begin this review by stating that our primary reason for going to Waterbury was to see Ben and Jerry's. If we had more than a one night stop, I'm sure that we would have been able to see more of the beautiful area - although I can say that there were some beautiful Autumn/Fall colours as we drove in from New Hampshire.
We had two rooms (213 and 215) which were interconnecting and on the 2nd floor (no elevator that we could see - so be mindful if you have difficulty navigating stairs). Room 213 had 2 queen beds that were quite comfortable, but the deadbolt door lock didn't work and the bathroom had no de-mister (which left the bathroom surfaces wet after a shower). The view from both rooms would be lovely in the right season - if you look past the carpark to the mountains!
The Wandering Moose Cafe is the in-hotel restaurant - "cafe" is an accurate description. It was OK for dinner and the breakfast buffet was free but basic (mini box cereals, waffles, toast, yoghurt, fruit, orange & apple juices, coffee and bagels).
The hotel also has a fitness centre, which was well equipped with weight machines, treadmills, rowing machine and exercise bikes).
I would definitely recommend Best Western Waterbury-Stowe for anyone looking to visit Ben & Jerry's - it's only a five minute drive - but don't expect anything special.

Room Tip: There does not appear to be an elevator, so you'll need to carry your luggage to 2nd floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    273
    55
    17
    9
See reviews for
318
244
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Based on the reviews, we decided to stay here and we are very pleased with our choice.
I stayed here with my wife and 2 teenage kids (15 and 13).

Pluses:
Great location - 30 minutes to either Stowe or Sugarbush
Clean rooms
Quiet for hotels near ski areas
Ample parking
Heated indoor swimming pool
Open sitting area with large screen TV
Continental breakfast. I've read about people complaining about this breakfast. All the ski area hotels offer the exact same thing - waffles (self made with a waffle maker), cereal, fruit, coffee, pastries, milk, OJ/apple juice, hard-boiled eggs and bagels/toast. Typical VT continental breakfast. Hearty and gets you ready for a full day on the slopes.

Minuses
The hot tub jets were very weak.

Waterbury has a relatively limited amount of places to eat. Jimmz Pizza is okay. The Reservoir has good food, but it takes a LONG TIME to get your food. So if you go there, expect to wait a while to eat.

If you are looking for a fancy place, this is not the place to go. But if you are going for a clean place to sleep and be close to multiple ski resorts, I highly recommend this place.

Book early online with Best Western for the best rates. That's what we did and we got a great deal!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sapamire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We've stayed here 2 nights in the last 2 weeks. Very clean and very comfortable rooms! Handy location for skiing at Sugarbush or Stowe. Look forward to our next visit. Wish they had a bigger breakfast selection. But all else was great. Loved the Keurig in the room!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mew6160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I've stayed at the Best Western in Waterbury a few times over the past few years and have found the rooms to be clean and pretty well kept up, if somewhat small. It's basically a decent place to sleep and not much more.

There's an indoor pool that's pretty neat to swim in especially in winter since it's surrounded by glass walls, allowing a view of snow just feet away.

Here are a few problems, though, that I recently encountered: the restaurant was highly touted when I checked in, but when I tried it it turned out that they had insufficient staff; only two (albeit hard working) wait people to cover the restaurant and room service. It took about three-quarters of an hour to be served after being seated--and that was after a half-hour wait. Then it turned out they were out of my first selection for an entree; my second choice turned out to be barely edible. It was also pricey for what I received. An accompanying family member barely touched her dish.

I found that the game room had broken equipment, but learned that only after losing money in the machines. Despite notifying the front desk about the problem, the machines were still broken later in the week; no signs were posted warning other patrons.

One morning I put up the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door while at breakfast. I took down the sign after breakfast and then went out for the day. When I came back that evening, the room had not been cleaned. That wasn't so big a deal (although the rate paid that night had risen to $170), but it irritated me when the front desk explained that if housecleaning sees the "Do Not Disturb" sign they don't come back. Really? I've never seen that happen before and I've stayed at a lot of hotels. I think they simply forgot to come back--mistakes happen, after all--and the front desk was just coming up with excuses.

I've found that by and large the staff is friendly and helpful. Overall I think the hotel is a good place to stay, convenient, and with reasonable rates (though at peak times the rates soar).

Room Tip: A small family is better off with two doubles rather than the queen-and-sleeper combination; the sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dc888traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed one night in December. The room was very nice. Great location. Plenty of parking. The free breakfast was really terrible so don't even go there.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
20.7 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
20.3 km away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
14.5 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
13.0 km away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
Address: 45 Blush Hill Rd, Waterbury, VT 05676-9067
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,114 - ₹ 14,932
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterbury - Stowe Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing