We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of 1824 House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1824 House Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The room was perfect for my wife & I on the king bed with our grown daughter on an inflatable mattress. My son and friend had a smaller room also upstairs. We all enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and welcoming host, Emily.

Room Tip: The second floor Washington Room was spacious & comfy with a quirky diagonal window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbatwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have stayed at this Inn in the past under the previous owners. This time we stayed with our friends and rented several rooms. The staff were very good and the rooms were very clean. The grounds were very beautiful. A always you get a great sleep as you are in the Green Mountains and in the countryside.
The inside has not changed with good common areas. We stayed in the Franklin room on the second floor. The breakfast was very good. They run a fantastic restaurant in the renovated barn however they only rent it out for weddings now.
Good location not far from town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suntripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in The Franklin room. It is very small with a large, high bed. The bathroom is also very small. The whole house is fresh looking and immaculately clean. There are no tea making facilities in the room, though you are invited to use the facilities in the kitchen. We felt a little uncomfortable with this, but that was more our feeling than any impression given by the owner. There is a small living room for guests to use with TV and wi-fi. The breakfast was typically American with delicious home baked cakes. We struggled to find somewhere to dine in the evening of our first night because although the website states there is a restaurant, this is now closed. Be warned - everywhere closes on a Monday! Eventually we ate at the local cinema! The only place that was open - but we had surprisingly good food and a fantastic American experience with the locals.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We loved the traditional atmosphere, the helpful innkeeper, Emily, and her delicious and generous breakfast. Crispy cotton sheets (ironed!) and fluffy down comforter were the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M3618XDcarolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for our wedding this fall. The staff were incredibly professional, accommodating, and friendly. The breakfast was incredible and the rooms were beautiful. I recommend this to anyone looking for a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask Emily for what room would be best for your needs. She was very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonbug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
5.2 km away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
326 reviews
1 km away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
241 reviews
6.7 km away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
The Hyde Away Inn
The Hyde Away Inn
#10 of 15 in Waitsfield
67 reviews
8 km away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
8.4 km away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1824 House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1824 House Inn

Address: 2150 Main St, Waitsfield, VT 05673-6173
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: ₹ 9,503 - ₹ 11,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1824 House Inn resonates with the charm of the past, while retaining the comforts of today. Conveniently located on historic Rt 100, The 1824 House is just minutes to both Sugarbush and Mad River Glen ski resorts. We are proud to offer eight comfortable rooms with private baths, featherbeds, beautiful views and hearty homemade breakfasts. Guests also enjoy our cozy fireplace, wi-fi access throughout as well as a television in the common room. Swim in our clear Mad River swimming hole in the summer and snowshoe or sled our property in the winter! The inn also serves as an idyllic Vermont wedding and event venue. Don't miss our rustic barn or the views from our river-front pasture and hilltop meadow which serve as the property's most celebrated event sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1824 House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing