We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1824 House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1824 House Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
New England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The room was perfect for my wife & I on the king bed with our grown daughter on an inflatable mattress. My son and friend had a smaller room also upstairs. We all enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and welcoming host, Emily.

Room Tip: The second floor Washington Room was spacious & comfy with a quirky diagonal window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbatwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    14
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have stayed at this Inn in the past under the previous owners. This time we stayed with our friends and rented several rooms. The staff were very good and the rooms were very clean. The grounds were very beautiful. A always you get a great sleep as you are in the Green Mountains and in the countryside.
The inside has not changed with good common areas. We stayed in the Franklin room on the second floor. The breakfast was very good. They run a fantastic restaurant in the renovated barn however they only rent it out for weddings now.
Good location not far from town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suntripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in The Franklin room. It is very small with a large, high bed. The bathroom is also very small. The whole house is fresh looking and immaculately clean. There are no tea making facilities in the room, though you are invited to use the facilities in the kitchen. We felt a little uncomfortable with this, but that was more our feeling than any impression given by the owner. There is a small living room for guests to use with TV and wi-fi. The breakfast was typically American with delicious home baked cakes. We struggled to find somewhere to dine in the evening of our first night because although the website states there is a restaurant, this is now closed. Be warned - everywhere closes on a Monday! Eventually we ate at the local cinema! The only place that was open - but we had surprisingly good food and a fantastic American experience with the locals.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We loved the traditional atmosphere, the helpful innkeeper, Emily, and her delicious and generous breakfast. Crispy cotton sheets (ironed!) and fluffy down comforter were the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for our wedding this fall. The staff were incredibly professional, accommodating, and friendly. The breakfast was incredible and the rooms were beautiful. I recommend this to anyone looking for a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask Emily for what room would be best for your needs. She was very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonbug8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
5.2 km away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
15.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
17.5 km away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.7 km away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
6.1 km away
Weathertop Mountain Inn
Weathertop Mountain Inn
#9 of 15 in Waitsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1824 House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1824 House Inn

Property: 1824 House Inn
Address: 2150 Main St., Waitsfield, VT 05673-6173
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,516 - ₹ 11,111
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1824 House Inn resonates with the charm of the past, while retaining the comforts of today. Conveniently located on historic Rt 100, The 1824 House is just minutes to both Sugarbush and Mad River Glen ski resorts. We are proud to offer eight comfortable rooms with private baths, featherbeds, beautiful views and hearty homemade breakfasts. Guests also enjoy our cozy fireplace, wi-fi access throughout as well as a television in the common room. Swim in our clear Mad River swimming hole in the summer and snowshoe or sled our property in the winter! The inn also serves as an idyllic Vermont wedding and event venue. Don't miss our rustic barn or the views from our river-front pasture and hilltop meadow which serve as the property's most celebrated event sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing