We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Find somewhere different to eat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Find somewhere different to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Basin Harbour ticks all of the boxes except for food. If you want a grown up atmosphere and decent food find somewhere off site. A reaI pity as Basin Harbour is somewhere where you want to forget the car and the outside world! On our first night we reserved a table in the main dining room - we were shown to our table an hour late and still had to wait to order. When the food finally arrived it was pretty mediocre and minimalistic - unlike our experience so far in the USA! So the next night we tried the Red Mill a pub which is also on the site, this turned out to be just as expensive. We went for the steak - my plate comprisied of a tasty but cool steak, a luke warm wrinkled baked potato and 3 pieces of stone cold brocolli- nothing more, nothing less. We had to ask for sauces to accompany our dinner and water - again not typical of our experience so far of eating out in America. The Red Mill had several families with children eating - all well behaved and bundled off to bed at an appropriate hour; however at 8:15 the floor managers wife arrived with new baby and a toddler, they had come to eat and to see 'Daddy'. When we left after 9:00pm their food had just arrived and the toddler was sitting in the middle of the table with a milkshake and Mum was teaching her table manners. I didnt come all this way and incurr all this expense to experience this!

Room Tip: Choose on overlooking the water - privacy and views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    112
    38
    29
    13
See reviews for
128
146
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had a wonderful time at this friendly resort, where the staff is warm, outgoing, and helpful and many guests exchange greetings with a smile. The Lake Champlain setting is beautiful, with well-kept grounds and lovely gardens.

Our studio cabin, consisting of two units, faced the North Harbor. We were delighted with many aspects of our accommodations: the good-sized room had a small fridge and sink, very clean bathroom, and—best of all—a glassed-in sitting area where we could eat and/or gaze out at the peaceful view. Aspects that we were less pleased with: we didn’t find the bed that comfortable, the bathroom shade was broken, and we heard one set of neighbors through the wall (but not the ones after them). If we had paid rack rate, these things would have been very aggravating but the reduced rate made them less so and, regardless, we very much enjoyed our visit.

Breakfast was lavish and delicious with all kinds of selections: pastries, fruits, yogurts, juices, hot and cold cereals, and other hot and cold dishes; and the main dining room overlooking Basin Harbor is very pleasant. We also enjoyed an early dinner at the Red Mill Restaurant.

Had we spent more time here, I would have liked to take the boat ride and visit the Maritime Museum. The resort offers many inviting things to do--including simply sitting on the porch swing or one of the brightly colored Adirondack chairs, relaxing, and enjoying the scenery!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aFellowTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We just got back from a two-night stay after buying a voucher on Travelzoo. We stayed in the Northway Cottage, which is the last grouping of cottages on the north harbor. It had a perfect view of Lake Champlain and because it was the last cottage on the road, it was quiet! The only downside being it was right next to the kids camp, but because it was one of the last nights of the weekend, there were very few kids around, I could imagine in the summer this would be mobbed. The cottage itself was cute, with plenty of room for the two of us. The furniture was a little dated, and there was a fridge but NO tv, but that proved not to be an issued because we had wi-fi in the room and it worked great.

I can't say enough about the place itself. The grounds were beautiful, the view was beautiful, it couldn't have been anymore picture perfect New England Fall if you took it out of a tourism travel book. And it happened to be their "Haborween" weekend, so the place was decorated with a ton of halloween theemed things to do for kids AND adults.

The food was incredible. I preferred the Red Mill to the Main Dining room, there were more food options and it was a little more low key, but both places had their own charm and I would HIGHLY recommend trying both. The breakfast was also delicious, with a GIGANTIC selection, making it nearly impossible to find something you like to eat.

We also did the boat cruise on the lake. It was an hour and a half, the guide was great and it gave you a great perspective on the lake and also a little history, not only of Basin Harbor, but the entire region itself.

Because we only stayed two nights, and because it was fall, I feel like we missed out on a lot of the other ammenities the hotel had to offer, swimming in the lake, kayaking, canoeing, tennis, and golf, and I would be eager to go back and stay a little longer in order to take it all in.

All in all I would say it was the perfect trip for a New England Fall weekend and I would head back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The further from the lodge, the quieter it tends to be because the main events are centered around t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bree0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

.......the weather had not been a washout. The grounds are beautiful and walking or biking would have been fun. We stayed at the Gardenside #2 cottage which overlooks the grounds. The cottage was clean and a bit dated, but this is Vermont! We made reservations for dinner in the main dining room and were promptly greeted and seated at a window which overlooks the lake. The meal was very good (steak) and the service was exemplarary. We made reservations for the second evening at the Red Mill Restaurant on the premises. This was much less formal and more to our liking. I would rate the food average, but again, the service was excellent. We reserved this stay through livingsocial.com and did receive a discount. I wanted to provide information on the stay, but it is limited due to the poor weather conditions. I would agree with others that it is pricy, but a discount and some nice weather would have made our trip pleasant and a "Very Good" rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinnytheChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We had a 1-Night stay and stayed in a 1-Bedroom Cottage. The grounds were beautiful and the cabin was comfortable. It looks like things are farther away on the map than they actually are. We walked EVERYWHERE! Dinner at the Red Mill Restaurant was great and the service was also good. Breakfast in the morning was full of great items - buffet style - my boyfriend loved the assortment of jams.

We live in Vermont, so it was a nice getaway for us. Relaxing along the waterfront was enjoyable. Reading the other reviews about not having televison & cell-service got me very excited to go! With the beautiful property why would you want to watch TV?

Also, by being guests we did recieve a discount at the Martime Museum!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCout313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
33.7 km away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
32.5 km away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
33.3 km away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 13 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
33.4 km away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
33.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club

Property: Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club
Address: 4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,666 - ₹ 52,316
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 slips for overnight docking. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Harbor Club Hotel Vergennes
Basin Harbor Hotel
Basin Harbor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing