We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of Stowe”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the heart of Stowe”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel was a very happy accident for me and my husband during a recent stay in Stowe. The hotel we were supposed to stay in for the 2 nights we were in town, really wasn't up to scratch and we decided to find an alternative. We arrived in the evening looking for a room and the guy on reception was so friendly and helpful we felt at home straight away. Given our poor experience with the other hotel he gave us a key to the room for us to view it before we agreed to take it. No comparison (he even gave us a discounted rate, despite us needing somewhere to stay).
Well decorated, clean, modern amenities, quiet air con, a jacuzzi and a separate sitting room (complete with another TV and DVD player). Heaven.
The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and we both felt very relaxed during our stay (my husband also had a massage at the hotel spa, which added to the whole experience). Stowe was a stop off on a tour of New England and one of the places we were going to be for more than one night, so it was a fab place to unwind before the next stint of driving we had coming up.
This hotel is right in the middle of the town and is close to the small boutiques if you want to have a wander around and there is plenty of parking available. Our room wasn't in the main part of the hotel and was set back from the main road, which made it very quiet. Free WIFI and coffee were added bonuses.
We also had dinner and Sunday brunch in The Whip restaurant that ajoins the hotel, which was also very good.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again if we are lucky enough to be in Stowe in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baglady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    426
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
369
1,023
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our family has stayed at the Green Mountain Inn twice and it has exceeded our expectations both times. The Inn is historic and charming yet updated, luxurious and modern! Our first visit was 4 years ago when our kids were 10 and 13 and we stayed at the Starr Apartment. WOW! We loved it - clean, modern and HUGE! Our second trip was a week ago and we stayed at the Pinnacle Apartment. We were not disappointed. Like the Star Apartment, the accomodations were very clean, the apartment had everything you could ask for and more! Flat screen tv's - 4 of them!, two fireplaces, huge jacuzzi tub ~ lots of space! Stowe is a great town to get away, relax and unwind. Great location for biking (Stowe recreation path is great!) and hiking (the jacuzzi felt awesome after a challenging hike up Mt. Mansfield) and also close to Burlington and Smuggler's Notch. I highly recommend the Sterling Pond trail at Smuggler's Notch ~ you will NOT be disappointed at the top!

Room Tip: Starr Apartment and Pinnacle Apartment are incredible. CLEAN, modern, HUGE ~ with all the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Green Mountain Inn June 28-30 2012,The Inn is gorgeous.Its quiet even though its in the heart of Stowe.We had a Groupon and the Inn was more than the description.We stayed in the Mansfield House in a luxury suite.The canopy bed was very comfortable as well as the living room.The bathroom is spacious and even had a vanity.The outdoor pool area was very clean.THE ENTIRE iNN IS EXTREMLY CLEAN,
Tyler at the front desk was extremely helpful.We had breakfast in the diningroom and it was very good.Everything about our trip was fabulous.Would definately return again.
Sue from Mansfield Ma.

Room Tip: the luxury suite was worth the upgrade,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our One Year Anniversary at the Green Mountain Inn. Our experience was amazing! I stumbled across a Groupon for a "Two-Night Stay in a Luxury Room or Suite at Green Mountain Inn..." which saved us approximately 50% + on our stay. A note on the Groupon I chose: I chose the Luxury Room option because it was just my wife and I, and the difference was only $20. I did not need a room for 4+ people (which is what the suite offered). Every Luxury room and Suite was identical in amenities, except for the obvious size difference.

Using the Groupon for our stay was seamless. The staff at the reception area was more than cool. We arrived, headed straight to the front desk, and they let me print out my Groupon from a computer that was available for such occasions. There were no hidden fees; it was as it said it was on the Groupon. Since the Groupon was a prepaid deal, I owed nothing at check-out (unless I racked up any room service).

The room was fantastic! A king sized bed sat in the middle of the room facing a nice 32in (approx) flat screen television set (with surround sound). On the far wall was a working fireplace (with controls by the bed). And just around the wall as you entered was a huge double Jacuzzi hot tub. Perfect set-up, hands down.

The restaurant we dined at on the first night, The Whip Bar and Grill, was great. The food and drink were delicious. We ordered the seared duck plate and the quail salad and it was incredibly tasty. For breakfast, we ate at the Main Street Dining Room. The spread was plentiful and delicious. My only qualm the whole trip was the service at breakfast...it could have been more attentive. Other than that, no complaints!

We did not get to experience the spa services on this trip. But we certainly plan on coming back for the ski season to take full advantage!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This historic inn has been very well maintained and has all the modern amenities you could want, including AC, which, believe it or not, was much needed in mid-June when I was there for a night. Though the wall unit is a bit loud, it doubles as white noise, so you won't hear any potential traffic sounds. I had a standard room, which was the least expensive for my business trip, but it was plenty big even for a couple without a ridiculous amount of luggage. There are a couple of cozy sitting areas throughout the inn, so if you need more space, it's available.

I did not use the pool or other facilities, but the meals were wonderful. Get the $14 breakfast buffet (plus anything you want made to order). It will fill you up for the entire day and is the freshest, best breakfast buffet I've seen in this country. It included far too many breakfast sweets (including peach cobbler!) to enjoy. Dinner at the Whip was first class. Some local ingredients, good variety, reasonable prices, and the best rhubarb-strawberry cobbler I've had.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
10.4 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.6 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
6.4 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
5.2 km away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#6 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,466 - ₹ 17,772
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing