We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveller rating
351
189
50
22
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
189
50
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley mini golf loft suite french toast sticks hot tub homemade granola small river picnic tables hard boiled eggs sliding door continental breakfast mountain road pull out sofa two double beds recreation path indoor pool main building
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 621 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

They have the best breakfast of any place we stayed over our 2 weeks of travel! The room did show some wear and tear. Also, make sure you grab dinner early as most of the town (and restaurant) close up around 9. If we had arrived early we could have enjoyed a round of miniature golf or gone bowling. But our stay was brief. We did enjoy the beautiful scenery in the backyard the next morning.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachvdberg, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Kristina R,

We will certainly pass this great feedback on to our breakfast crew! We have worked hard to improve the offering and quality of our breakfast. We will look into the room you stayed in to look at the wear and tear issues. Thanks for your review!

Kind regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

This is an excellent Inn! The price was right and the accomodations were great. It is family friendly and close of lots to do. We visited the area at the last minute and didn't have any accomodations. Sun & Ski popped up with one room left and we grabbed it.
The pool and hot tub were great, the bowling alley was a lot of fun and the food was delicious - especially the Black Bean Burger! We also enjoyed the mini-golf course. The space out back is great to enjoy as well with chairs overlooking the brook which was low so we could walk across the rocks and explore! The room is well appointed, spotless and quite roomy. I gave only 4 stars and would have given 4.50 because I am not sure if the air conditioner was not working properly - it did put out air. I set it as 64 because I am always hot and it was 98 degrees during the day. It seemed to have kicked on randomly. It was during the middle of the night so I didn't feel the need to bring it to staff attention and my husband seems to think that it is set to run so it doesn't run all day; so it could just be how the unit runs. If I were staying longer I would have simply asked but was not something that needed immediate attention or would require me changing rooms at all.
We will definitely be coming back!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dawnmarie668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

First visit back since the old Sun & Ski became the new Sun & Ski with bowling! Stayed three times in past years in a riverside room which we loved. Last time the place was under construction and a little noisy but to be understood. We were wondering if the charm of the place would be lost. This time stayed in second floor room in the main building. Room was quiet and clean, beds comfy. Never heard the bowling alley below! Breakfasts were great (hot & cold items & Green Mountain coffee. Loved especially the yogurt with fresh fruit and homemade granola. The breakfast room was a little crowded but extra seating in the bowling alley/restaurant. Lots of pluses for us- indoor pool, near the bike/walking path, walking distance to Stowe Farmer’s market on Sunday, and to our favorite restaurant, Piecasso. This was also our first time bringing our dog and no issues. Bowling was pricey but fun. Noticed they also have bikes for rent on grounds which is nice too. Glad we returned and hope to be back in fall.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachvdberg, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Robin T,

We are so excited to welcome you back to the new Sun & Ski Inn and Suites. It was absolutely our intention to preserve our old charm while bringing up the property to modern standards. Thank you for pointing out our different attractions and amenities like the bowling lounge, mini golf and rental bikes. See you again soon!

Kind regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The Sun and Ski appears to advertise itself as a mid-market, family-friendly resort within close proximity of the village and the mountain. I'm giving it five stars because it fully delivers on those expectations and even exceeds them in some respects.

The facility itself is clean and modern. The pool and whirlpool are well maintained. The fitness centre has decent cardio equipment. The mini-golf range and bowling alley on the property are great for the kids. Complimentary coffee, tea and cookies are always available. Although the breakfast is described as "continental", it's really a lot more than that, as eggs, meats and pancakes or french toast is served daily, with yoghurts, fruits, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, breads and pastries. We had a small issue with the A/C in our room on arrival and Tammy ensured we were taken care of immediately, despite the fact that she was juggling several things at once at the time.

Just to be clear: the Sun and Ski is not in the same tier as the Top Notch or Trapp Lodge, but doesn't try to be. Rather, it's a smaller, unpretentious property that is very well maintained and punches way above its weight in terms of amenities.

We recommend the property, especially for young families, and we will be back.

Room tip: Suites in the main building are clean, modern and spacious.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPhillip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted C, Front Desk at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

JPhillip_12,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and all our little resort has to offer. We work our hardest to keep our property well maintained so our guests can have the best experience possible. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Great location, great breakfast, great amenities. Never stayed at a hotel with a bowling alley and a putt putt course. What fun!!! Pool and hot tub were a delight. Well maintained facility with a helpful and friendly staff.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank G4118EDtimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews