We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“needs a major renovation!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverside Inn
Ranked #12 of 24 Stowe B&B and Inns
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“needs a major renovation!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

this inn needs a major overhaul. everything is falling apart and old. the location is excellent right on the river and bike path with an easy drive to everything from hiking to fine dining. in unit 15 the beds were old, the bathroom door didn't close, the toilet seat fell off and the fire alarm in the cellar went off all night long. i can say if the place were to ever sale to inn keepers who could afford a major renovation it could be an amazing place to stay as it has a lot of potential. but in the current condition it is not worth 97.50 a night for a family of four.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherThurber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    23
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
27
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed here as part of a group trip in June 2012.

Our rooms were clean and comfortable, the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful with tips about where to go and even allowed us to borrow bicycles. It was great to have use of the kitchen as a group, and the living area.

Great place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahe41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed in this motel two nights: Jun 25 and 26th. The room I was (#15) in with my family was far below than acceptable. We found bugs (not bedbugs but some kind of small roaches) in our bed. One of them actually bit my son in his cheek. The bathroom door doesn't close properly. THe owners were friendly till we talked about the problems. then the say sorry but...
We paid 75 / night plus 10% tax, which is not at all worth for the room. We will never come back to this place again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saibal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in one of the motel rooms for four nights with our dog, and even though the room could certainly use major upgrades, it was clean and functional and served its purpose. The a/c worked great during two 90+ degree days. The owners were very friendly. We would come again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingarchivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Sadly this was a terrible place to stay. The rooms are old, not that clean and in desperate need of a bit of paint and repair. It has an awful shower and the whole place is tacky. It is cheap but I would never recommend it . The only good thing was it had a comfortable bed with clean linen.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
8.1 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.6 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.5 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 25 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 25 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 km away
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
0.3 km away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Property: Riverside Inn
Address: 1965 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4769
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,770 - ₹ 8,010
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing