We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“as advertised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“as advertised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

just stayed 2 nights with my wife, daughter and 2 grandchildren in a room with 2 queens and a cot
that may sound a bit crowded but the room was big enough for all of us
we found the room to be clean and with plenty of towels (if it had been dirty we would have left)
i have read comments refering to the rooms as being a bit dated and its true but that isnt to say that it is in disrepair it is not
the only negative about the room would be that the beds are very low to the ground and could be a problem if you have limited mobility
we all agreed that it was a nice place and would return for another stay and you cant beat the breakfast buffet for $6.
also many quest did take advantage of the hotel being dog friendly

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    175
    83
    29
    18
See reviews for
130
147
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We go to Vermont every summer to visit my daughters. We usually stay in Waterbury at the Best Western. This year we couldn't find a dogsitter:(. So we went online to find a dog friendly hotel. We found the Commodore Inn in the lower village in Stowe.

We were a little leery after reading some negative reviews, but our fears were groundless. The hotel itself is in a good location in the lower village, near many attractions.

The hotel grounds are very well upkept, beautiful lawn, flowers, a pond, kayaks, and remote sailboat races! They even a a conveinent receptacle for dog waste.

The lobby is cosy and comfortable with a big screen TV, sofas, tables, and chairs. There is coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and juice available 24/7. They have cookies out every afternoon.

There is an indoor and outdoor pools. We used the indoor pool, it was a basic hotel pool and jacuzzi set up. We relaxed there with our grandchildren two afternoons.

The room we had was a king room on the first floor. The room itself was large with a king size bed, dresser, closet, two chairs, table, and refridgerator. The bathroom sink had a cracked basin and needs to be replaced, however the tub and shower and toilet looked new. The room was very clean but could use newer decor. It was looking very 80's or 90's.

The only disappointing things were no iron or ironing board and no hair dryer in the room. These were available at the front desk.

The staff I talked to were very pleasant, but the girl at the front desk was new and tried to be helpful but just didn't know too much about the area.

All in all we had a great stay and we will come here next year whether or not we have our dogs with us.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terriberri268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our tour of New England - check in was poor with a trainee on Reception with no supervision. After a long drive, we were sent to the wrong floor - luckily we'd left the cases in the car. The room was large, dark and dated but the bed was very large and comfortable - the shower cubicle was badly lit and the towels were hard. The restaurant only opened at weekends when we were there - bar food was available in a poorly-lit dining area. There is a porch area at the back overlooking a lake where you can sit and relax. It's a bit out of town but several attractions are within 10 miles.

We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommodoresStowe, Manager at Commodores Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we always appreciate the feedback.

I want to apologize that our new front desk agent had difficulty with your check in and rooming assignment. Unfortunately, even with our high standards of training and emphasis on customer service, new hires do get nervous and make mistakes every now and then. I can assure you that training is continual here and we work very hard to provide all our guests with the best experience possible.

I was glad to hear that you found our rooms to be large and our beds to be comfortable. As for the needed updates, we are continually doing renovations to areas that need attention.
We have recently begun remodeling our entire lounge and dining room areas and intend to make strides in improving our guests' experiences as the current economy will allow.

Warm Regards,

Karen Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goffstown, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Being the Founding member of a local car club, we wanted to patronize the Commodores Inn again for a driving adventure.

Carrie was more than accommodating with helping our car club with boxed lunches, BBQ dinner, and making sure the majority of folks attending our event was all in the same part of the hotel. Food was good for our BBQ and Paul, one of the wait staff was great.

The M'sters Miata Club will be back again for our trip in 2013!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redblur3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have been booking accommodations for my group of approximately 36 guests for the past several years at the Commodores Inn and will be planning next year's stay as well. The value as well as the friendly staff can't be beat. Upon arrival you will find an assortment of freshly baked cookies and brownies as well as coffee and juice . The rooms were clean and comfortable although needing some updates. The lobby and deck are nice places to hang around and relax or go for a boat ride if you choose. The pool area was clean as well. Above all, the buffet breakfast was the best start of the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannesgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.2 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.2 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
10.8 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.2 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
1.8 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,029 - ₹ 10,307
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing