We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay at Stowehof Inn, Still Spectacular!”
Review of The Stowehof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stowehof
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Stay at Stowehof Inn, Still Spectacular!”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This was our second stay at the Stowehof Inn and we were just as impressed as we were on our first trip which had made us want to make a return! The inn is just breathtaking on the drive up the wooded lane and seeing the entryway to the inn with the trees supporting the overhang. A warm welcome at the lobby and a lovely room with a gorgeous view of the mountains... And Emily's... Oh Emily's! Such amazing food, our mouths are watering just thinking about it! The presentation of the food alone is filling, you almost don't want to eat it it is so pretty...almost. The Stowehof is also so much fun to walk around and explore, there are so many little nooks upstairs and down. I can't say enough how much we have enjoyed our two stays at Stowehof Inn...only that there are sure to be more visits in the future for us!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePilgrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    124
    45
    42
    27
See reviews for
100
237
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adirondack NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We made our first ski trip to Stowe and stayed at the Stowehof Inn. Great spot. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and plentiful. The Inn was very European in nature and the staff was extremely friendly. There was no snow but we could sit in the deck in March in short sleeves. Will return next season for sure.

Room Tip: We had the middle grade room which provided lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purdymbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucksport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I found a deal through Groupon that we couldn't refuse. When we arrived we instantly fell in love with the place! Very cozy and friendly, it makes you feel right at home. We got a classic room and loved it! Very spacious, room 49. Dinner was well priced and very tastey! Breakfast was complimentary which is always great. The grounds are HUGE and there are trails in the woods to go on if you want. My husband and I did not want to leave and we are anxious to get back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeAnne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had room 44 and loved it, but would suggest putting a small coffee table in front of the couch. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. We did meet up with friends and their rooms were not as nice as ours. They were really small, but overall the hotel is very clean. We had breakfast, but thought that ending the breakfast buffet by 9:30 was too early, especailly for a Sunday morning. I liked the fire pit outside, but chairs around it would have been nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The common rooms and the bar in the basement are very cozy and welcoming. Nicely Decorated with an Austrian mountain inn style. The classic rooms are large. I shared a room with 2 friends - we were 3, and each of us had a real bed that was comfy. no one had to suffer with a fold up extra bed. the classic room also had a 'dressing' room - very handy for 3 friends sharing a room. Breakfast is good, and served in a room with fabulous views of the valley and the mountains.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.9 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.8 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.0 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
1.7 km away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
407 reviews
3.9 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#5 of 24 in Stowe
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowehof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowehof

Property: The Stowehof
Address: 434 Edson Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672 (Formerly Stowehof Inn & Resort)
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,858 - ₹ 13,075
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowehof 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stowehof is one of the last classic alpine inns in ski country. Located on the foothills of Mt. Mansfield, and surrounded by 28 acres, Stowehof provides an experience unlike any other Vermont escape! We have room options from luxurious premier rooms and floor to ceiling views to family rooms with multiple beds and the economical Ski Bum Rooms which are a bit more cozy, yet still clean and comfortable! All guests can take full advantage of the hotel's amenities no matter what room they choose. Pamper yourself while you're here and enjoy our cozy atmosphere. Play a game of cards in one of our game nooks, shoot pool in the pub with your friends, read a book by the fire in the living room, roast marshmallows fireside during the winter, play tennis in the summer, and relax by the pool in any season. Our spacious Living Room is perfect for cozying up after a day of skiing or hiking, too! We feature fine European-Vermont fusion style dining on site. Our restaurant feature a great fondue menu as well as seasonal menus created by our executive chefs to help your palate tour the European Alps while overlooking gorgeous Vermont mountain views. As the perfect place for a gathering of any size, we can set something up for you in our breathtaking setting. Your special day deserves great attention to detail; let our wedding specialists set you up right. Give us a call today and make your reservation with us! We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Stowehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowehof Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing