We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grey Fox Inn & Resort
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in Room 16 (deluxe room w\jacuzzi). The room and hotel were very clean. The staff was very friendly. The Pub had great food. The Dutch Pancake restaurant was wonderful (the waitress very friendly and gave us great tips on what to see and do in the area--which we appreciated very much!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Grey Fox Inn offer large, comfortable rooms with nice amenities - a very nice, large jacuzzi, a fireplace, a generous sized loveseat, large King bed, desk. The bathroom is small, but very clean and the shower is adequate. The downside - the bed is standard hard industrial issue - a bit like trying to sleep on the sidewalk. It's not lumpy, but no give whatsoever. I was exhausted the next day. The Pancake House is also dated, every possible pancake variation -sweet to savory, but much too expensive for what it is. Guests receive 15% discount, but convenience and time constraints are only reasons for dining there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Materforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Grey Fox Inn for 3 nights during Christmas/New Years week. It was a nice relaxing hotel. The room was a little outdated (we were in a traditional room, by the pool) but it was fine for us. We loved the pool and the jacuzzi was very nice. We enjoyed dinner at the Pub and breakfast at the Dutch Pancake House but both were a little pricy. There was a mix up with the wrong credit card being charged when we checked out so make sure you make it VERY clear to them how you want to pay. We played on paying with cash but they charged my debit card because that is the card I reserved it on. I did say that we were paying with cash at check out but that message never was delivered to the other front desk worker. In the end the problem was solved. I'd go back there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tara1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I was very happy with my recent stay @ the Grey Fox Inn. My girlfriend and I visited for a romantic getaway during Stowe's Winter Festival. We stayed in a Mountain View room w/ fireplace and jacuzzi. The room was good sized and very "Vermonty." It was also very well kept and clean. You can view the fireplace from the jacuzzi which was very cool. One negative, the bed was literally hard as a rock. The location of the Inn was also very close to a variety of restaurants, shops, & the mountain. The Inn is pretty expensive, but such is the case for Stowe in general. The breakfast at "The Dutch Pancake" was delicious but also on the pricey side for breakfast. A standard meal will run you $11+. The front desk was helpful when we ran into an embarrassing situation when our car battery went dead after leaving the courtesy light on inside. Staff was eager to help and had jumper cables on hand. The front desk clerk didn't seem to be as familiar with the area as we expected, we asked about local area stores and she referred to the "resort map" for answers to our questions -- something we could have easily done on our own. Stowe is an incredible winter experience and the Grey Fox is definitely a place I would visit again. I found a lot of the reviews to be very harsh -- so I would take them with a grain of salt.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Mountain View room w/ the fireplace & jacuzzi. Fireplace is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights during MLK weekend on a ski trip with my husband and 5 friends. Some of the other accommodation options we looked into locally were quite expensive so when we did a bit more research, we found the Grey Fox which was great value for a holiday weekend during peak season.
All of the rooms were really like two rooms/suites with a door you can close between the tv area with a pullout double-bed couch and the bedroom. Lots of space, clean and comfortable. Also nice and warm....you can crank up the heat if you need to on very cold winter weekends!
Downstairs there's a sauna, a hottub and a pool which were well maintained and clean. We all used these facilities to soothe tired muscles after long days on the slopes. It really added to our stay.
Great breakfasts too at the Dutch Pancake house, the Inns restaurant. We also ate dinner there one night and had the dining room to ourselves, a great big table for 7 by the fire and very prompt and friendly service.
The Inn is about 5 miles along Mountain Road to the ski resort and if you don't want to drive, there's a free shuttle that runs regularly throughout the day. There's also a very convenient general store right next to the Grey Fox if you need it.
All in all, we really enjoyed our weekend there. Had great fun skiing at the resort and could relax, unwind and rest in comfortable and cozy surroundings at the Grey Fox too. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GotTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
9.1 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.6 km away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
287 reviews
0.9 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
0.6 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,129 reviews
1.7 km away
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Fox Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Fox Inn & Resort

Address: 990 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Stowe
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: ₹ 9,020 - ₹ 20,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Fox Inn & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grey Fox Inn is in a prime location in Stowe right on Mountain Road within walking distance to Stowe Village and five miles from the Mt Mansfield ski resort. The Little River runs through the far end of our 7½ acre property as does the popular Stowe Recreation Path. The “Rec Path” used by walkers and bikers alike is a 5 ½ mile long paved trail that winds from Stowe Village along side the Little River. Skiing & Snowboarding – A significant winter attraction is skiing at Stowe Mountain Resort. Just 5 miles up Mountain Road. Mt Mansfield skiing is accessible via the free shuttle service or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Grey Fox Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grey Fox Inn And Resort
Grey Fox Hotel Stowe
Grey Fox Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing