We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can find better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You can find better”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I booked at NLL out of last minute desperation without much research. I must say that Mike (owner) was very friendly and accomodating, however the room and a little run down and the one of the two mattresses in the room was really saggy. If you must stay here, then make sure you check the mattresses first. Otherwise, the place was clean so no complaints there. Make sure you check out the stars at night right outside the lodge. Amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    142
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
103
138
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia...via Florida...via Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2012

As a new skier this was my first ski vacation. I thought the lodge was perfect. I do agree with some of the reviews about the rooms not being the best, but the reality of it was, we were there to sleep, not hang out at the hotel all day. The innkeepers are very friendly and helpful. The hot tub and sauna were nice to come back to after a day at Stowe. There is no doubt in my mind that the next time we got to Stowe, we will be staying at the Northern Lights Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhsoc721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed at the Northern Lights Lodge during a ski trip to Stowe Mountain. When we first walked in the owner was there and extremely helpful! He greeted us with a smile (and a chocolate chip cookie!) and explained all the insider /local information about the skiing news in the area. The room was comfortable and clean. We also a had access to their great bar/fireplace areas for our group party! They also offer a buffet breakfast that was unbeatable! I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Yes, the facilities are a little dated, but you can't beat the price, location, breakfast, and responsive hosts. It's been our choice at Stowe for the past 5 years. We'll be back next year!
Go Bears!

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast! Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have stayed there for the past 2 years and it is a great place. It has an awesome rustic wood bar area with a fireplace, and the breakfast there can't be beat! The rooms are large and comfortable, and the bridge over the pool is something you will remember! They are right next to Stowe, and Smugglers Notch is just a few miles away. The owners are very nice and friendly as well. I'll definitely be going back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.7 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
4.4 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.2 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#14 of 24 in Stowe
265 reviews
3.8 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,265 reviews
6.4 km away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 24 in Stowe
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Property: Northern Lights Lodge
Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,343 - ₹ 11,975
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing