We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northern Lights Lodge is your final destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Northern Lights Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Northern Lights Lodge is your final destination!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have stayed there for the past 2 years and it is a great place. It has an awesome rustic wood bar area with a fireplace, and the breakfast there can't be beat! The rooms are large and comfortable, and the bridge over the pool is something you will remember! They are right next to Stowe, and Smugglers Notch is just a few miles away. The owners are very nice and friendly as well. I'll definitely be going back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    136
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
98
137
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very comfortable and gets the job done for what you need in ski country. No bells and whistles. Bed was comfy, shower was hot, towels were clean and the breakfast is superb. When I'm in ski country I'm not there for the hotel experience, I'm there for the snow. Even on the latest trip when the snow was not wonderful, the hot tub, indoor pool, sauna, and especially the homemade cookies make it all worthwhile. If value = price vs. amenities, this place is a good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

For the last 4 years, I have been the trip leader bringing my Ski Club up to ski Stowe and stay at the Northern Lights. We range anywhere from 60-80 people each year, and each year we love coming back. After my first 2 years of doing this trip, Mike and Shannon (the innkeepers) bought the place and took over. They do everything possible to make sure you are happy and comfortable with your stay. Take it from someone who knows, that they are great at accommodating groups. When you come and stay at the Northern Lights, it feels more like staying with family than it does a hotel. We stay at a lot of different places each ski season, and this one by far has the best breakfast. Everything is hot and made fresh each morning. The indoor pool and hot tub area is great for relaxing and sharing stories of the day. The bridge feature over the pool to get to your room is a feature that wont be soon forgotten once you leave. Each room is unique and quite large compared to most of the places we stay. The grounds are nice too, and the property is on a brook running along the back of the property. You are also walking distance from the Matterhorn Bar and Restaurant, and a convenience store. Easy trip to the mountain in the morning on the shuttle that picks you up right across the street. Ever since they took ownership, they have been constantly upgrading and renovating the hotel, and there are some nice surprises waiting for us each year we return. Without a doubt, when we plan on visiting Stowe, we plan to stay at this lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the back building are along the stream running along the property. The family room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is the third time I've been to this hotel with my ski club. For our most recent stay, we had 80 people on our trip, and the owners and staff accommodated us well. The rooms were clean, and the breakfast buffet is probably one of the best I've had in Vermont. In the evening, they let us use their spacious common area for our Apre Ski party.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

After staying in many hotel/inns near all VT ski mountains this is the best deal by far. I love an afternoon arrival to homeade cookies made by the owners to the FABULOUS breakfasts they make as well. Rooms are clean and the hot tub is a great way to relax after a day of skiing. I always know it will be a great stay here and the owners, Mike and Shannon are so friendly and take great pride in the lodge. We had a ski club of 80 people that took over the hotel and things could not have been smoother. Mountain is quick shuttle ride to mountain. You will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.4 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.2 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
3.5 km away
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
6.0 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Lodge

Property: Northern Lights Lodge
Address: 4441 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,365 - ₹ 11,894
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lights Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northern Lights Lodge is family owned and operated and located on the mountain road in Stowe. We are the closest affordable hotel to Mount Mansfield and the Stowe Mountain Resort. We are just minutes away from many great dining options and activities. Our amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, heated indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. In the summer, both kids and adults enjoy playing in or lounging along the banks of the west branch river, located directly behind the Lodge. All of our rates include a hot country breakfast daily. We hope to welcome you to the Lodge soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Northern Lights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Stowe
Northern Lights Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing