We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and spa; awful restaurant service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and spa; awful restaurant service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed here for a conference in February. The hotel is very cozy...the rooms beautiful, with most of them having a gas fireplace. The first night we ate at Charlie B's Pub (a hotel restaurant) and had bad service. The waiter was slow...food came out slow. However, the food and drinks were delicious, so we let it slide. The last day of the conference, 6 of us went to grab lunch at Charlie B's again before we left for a long drive home. THe service this time was awful! The waitress barely came to our table to take our orders...wouldn't make eye contact with us to even get her attention. When she finally came over, she was not very friendly and it took almost 45 minutes for all of the food to come out. All in all, we ended up sitting there for 2 1/2 hours for a lunch that was supposed to be quick so we could hit the road. We all left the hotel very disgruntled after that.

That being said...a few other positives about the place. THhy have snow shoe rentals which was a lot of fun...beautiful grounds. ALos, the spa was top notch...one of the best spas I've ever been in. Beautiful facilities....waiting area with lounge chairs and cold cucumbers for your eyes. A great massage therapist. Then, a large communal mineral bath, jacuzzi, and waterfalls that a bunch of us girls hung out in for over 2 hours. Very very relaxing....also had everything needed to shower...shampoo/conditioner/soap, hairdryers, combs, q-tips, lotion.....everything!

This hotel is great for it's rooms, location, and spa...not so great for restaurant service (but again, food was very good).

While in Stowe, I would recommend eating at the Whip Bar and Grill in the Green Mountain Inn....excellent food and service. But make reservations...the place is popular!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kakipants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    222
    83
    46
    22
See reviews for
183
276
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

So I would never recommend the Stoweflake to anyone after my experience today. When there is an issue they are so rude, and they do nothing about it. I was unable to take a shower in my room cause the shower was broke so they told me I could go take a shower in the gym room. Then when I go to check out all they tell me they can do is 20% off my next stay with them. I will never stay again. They are so terrible it disgusts me. The spa is the only good thing about that place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I've been there a few years now with friends for ski trips. Great desk support, customer service, great rooms with fireplaces, and tasty breakfasts. The pool, the hottub, the gym. It's all great and I highly recommend a stay to see for yourself!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with fireplaces are a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Spent New Year's Eve in Stowe and had a great time until we spent a boatload of money to go to this New Year's Eve family party event at the Stoweflake hotel. The food was beyond disgusting at this hotel. We were warned beforehand not to go there, but we wanted the kids to have a good time. There are two other restaurants on the hotel property that also got horrible reviews. Whatever you do....don't eat anywhere on the Stoweflake property! We complained and the hotel manager offered us a gift certificate to one of the restaurants to use if we ever went back to Stowe. Needless to say, we really didn't want it and he never sent it as promised...Nice guy. It would of been nice of him to credit our credit card part of the $300 we spent on garbage food! We literally ate nothing that night but pepperidge farm crackers. So if you want a good meal in Stowe try the many other wonderful restaurants they have to offer like Norma's at Top Notch!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We've stayed here twice now and rate this as good as Top Notch Resort (also stayed) at slightly lower cost. Immaculately kept and about as good as you can ask from a family run resort. We would have loved the glitz and "Ralph Lauren-style" charms of the new Mountain Lodge at Stowe but were not going to pay $800 for a studio room. Instead we got two fireplace rooms at Stoweflake for considerably less. Have the breakfast buffet. Spa is very nice. Pub is welcoming and fun. Lots of 'family' activities for young kids during our stay. fitness equipment is old. Indoor pool and outdoor hot tub are very nice. Only issue here is that pub is far from lobby fireplace so there is no 'atmosphere' in the lobby. I'd recommend they move the afternoon cookie service to the lobby and have guests squash around the fireplace - would be less sterile. Ski shuttle runs to mountain from front door and we used it several times in addition to our car. If we come back to Stowe again, and the Mountain's fanciest rooms are still out of our range, we would stay here for sure. Again, this is family run, not corporate, so be nice to all the young people staffing and cleaning!!! A solid place.

Room Tip: Rooms cost more on higher floors but layouts are same. Claim is that noise is less on higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
8.3 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.3 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.5 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.1 km away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672-5099
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,635 - ₹ 21,072
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing