We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect place to stay in Stowe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Perfect place to stay in Stowe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I've been there a few years now with friends for ski trips. Great desk support, customer service, great rooms with fireplaces, and tasty breakfasts. The pool, the hottub, the gym. It's all great and I highly recommend a stay to see for yourself!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with fireplaces are a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    211
    81
    44
    21
See reviews for
172
263
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Spent New Year's Eve in Stowe and had a great time until we spent a boatload of money to go to this New Year's Eve family party event at the Stoweflake hotel. The food was beyond disgusting at this hotel. We were warned beforehand not to go there, but we wanted the kids to have a good time. There are two other restaurants on the hotel property that also got horrible reviews. Whatever you do....don't eat anywhere on the Stoweflake property! We complained and the hotel manager offered us a gift certificate to one of the restaurants to use if we ever went back to Stowe. Needless to say, we really didn't want it and he never sent it as promised...Nice guy. It would of been nice of him to credit our credit card part of the $300 we spent on garbage food! We literally ate nothing that night but pepperidge farm crackers. So if you want a good meal in Stowe try the many other wonderful restaurants they have to offer like Norma's at Top Notch!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We've stayed here twice now and rate this as good as Top Notch Resort (also stayed) at slightly lower cost. Immaculately kept and about as good as you can ask from a family run resort. We would have loved the glitz and "Ralph Lauren-style" charms of the new Mountain Lodge at Stowe but were not going to pay $800 for a studio room. Instead we got two fireplace rooms at Stoweflake for considerably less. Have the breakfast buffet. Spa is very nice. Pub is welcoming and fun. Lots of 'family' activities for young kids during our stay. fitness equipment is old. Indoor pool and outdoor hot tub are very nice. Only issue here is that pub is far from lobby fireplace so there is no 'atmosphere' in the lobby. I'd recommend they move the afternoon cookie service to the lobby and have guests squash around the fireplace - would be less sterile. Ski shuttle runs to mountain from front door and we used it several times in addition to our car. If we come back to Stowe again, and the Mountain's fanciest rooms are still out of our range, we would stay here for sure. Again, this is family run, not corporate, so be nice to all the young people staffing and cleaning!!! A solid place.

Room Tip: Rooms cost more on higher floors but layouts are same. Claim is that noise is less on higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I went to Stoweflake to enjoy a girls getaway weekend with my two roommates from college. We arrived at Stoweflake for a long weekend and checked in without any hassles. However, when we went up to our room, we were disappointed to see a large hairball on the bathroom floor. We promptly called the front desk, and they quickly sent someone up to properly clean the bathroom, however in cleaning it the attendant made a sarcastic comment about a 'killer hairball'. I thought this was very unprofessional and not comedic at all. We also asked for extra supplies as there were three of us staying in the room (they knew this when we checked in) however each day when our room was cleaned, they forgot to give us enough towels and washcloths. They also forgot to replenish our toiletries each day, so we had to keep requesting those items as well. Overall the service was sorely lacking.

However, the room was beautiful and did have a remote controlled fireplace and minibar which was a nice touch. We stayed right above the spa which had great views of the mountains in the distance and the serenity garden. The hotel was also in close proximity to a nice walking path which runs a few miles through Stowe. We also made use of the hotel's outdoor whirlpool, indoor pool, and its sauna, all which were very nice. And the convenience to the amazing spa, which was just a floor below us, was priceless. The Spa at Stoweflake had amazing mineral baths, waterfalls, and treatment rooms as well as a steam room and a sauna.

If I returned, I would likely not stay at the hotel, but I would certainly visit the spa for treatment again.

Room Tip: Stay near the Spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocogirl013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were six people staying in one of the townhouses. There was more than enough room and it was very comfortable. Full kitchen to boot, which we used. I suspect the townhouses are some sort of timeshare because our looked as if it was decorated in the early 1990s and hasn't relly been renovated since then. It felt more like someone's cottage than a four-diamond hotel. I presume the hotel rooms are more luxurious, but the townhouses offer much more space and great amenities, which outweighs any of the above concerns. We'd stay there again for sure.

The location was close to the base. Maybe a five-minute drive. There's also a shuttle than runs every 20 minutes to the mountain, but it's a bit of a hike to get from the townhouses to the front of the hotel where it stops. You really need a car everywhere in Stowe, except for the walking paths that run right beside the hotel, which we used to walk our dog!

Between Tremblant and Stowe, I'd return to Stowe (it hurts me as a Canadian to say this). The built-up areas feel much more organic than Tremblant and the calibre of restaurant is very high. If you have a Volvo stationwagon and a Thule rack, this place is for you!

Room Tip: Townhouses are at the back of the property; hotel rooms are in the main complext with the pools (yes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelbtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
8.3 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.8 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.4 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.9 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.1 km away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#6 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa

Property: Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Address: 1746 Mountain Rd, PO Box 369, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#4 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#9 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,922 - ₹ 25,046
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa is a full-service resort ideally located in the heart of Stowe. Owned and operated by the Baraw family for fifty years, the AAA 4-diamond property is home to an unparalleled array of amenities and facilities, including a 50,000 square foot world class spa, an award-winning restaurant, elegant accommodations, and the largest resort-based conference center in Vermont.Stoweflake is situated on 60 acres and includes golf facilities, clay tennis courts, play areas, indoor and outdoor pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and groomed XC trails. Within walking distance is a wide variety of popular restaurants, pubs and specialty shops to explore.Visit us soon for a relaxing retreat or an adventurous mountain getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoweflake Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stoweflake Mountain Resort And Spa
Stoweflake Mountain Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing