We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fall stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fall stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This was a fairly basic inn. The owners were friendly. Good for the price, we wanted a cheap night and we did get that. There was a big choice at breakfast and the owners recommended a lovely restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    66
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
110
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I took a much needed 3 night vacation to Stowe at the very end of the fall foliage season. I was looking for a decent priced place that was cozy and comfortable. The Gables Inn was just that. I found the owners to be very helpful and friendly from the time I made my reservation until the time I checked out. I arrived mid-afternoon on a drizzly day and was promptly greeted and given the key to my room. I chose to stay in one of the standard rooms as they were the lowest price. These rooms do not have a TV, but who needs that when you are trying to relax! The room was very charming with wooden floors, a beautiful quilt on the bed and a large bathroom. The floors were creaky and the bed also creaked when getting in and out, but I thought that just added to the charm. If you don't enjoy staying in old buildings, this would not be the place for you. I was given great recommendations for restaurants that were close by and not too pricey. The breakfasts each morning were simply delicious. The weekend special was a crepe with caramelized peaches, mascarpone cheese and raspberry syrup! I don't know that I have ever had something so wonderful. I really enjoyed coming back to my room at the end of each tiring day, knowing that I could relax in bed with a good book. They also do have free Wi-fi and a TV in the common area. Coffee and cake are out all day. The Inn is not far from the center of town and was very easy to find. If/When I return to Stowe, I will certainly stay at The Gables Inn.

Room Tip: If you want a TV, you'll have to choose one of the suites. Rooms aren't air tight, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tine1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We felt lucky to find accommodation in the area for a reasonable price, and were not at all disappointed by what we arrived to discover. The inn was quaint, rustic, and charming - everything it claimed to be. It was not luxurious or opulent but had never sold itself as such and we felt that the laid back nature of the inn and its owners only added to the experience. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious. The location was lovely. The innkeepers offered wonderful suggestions for activities and for great restaurants to try for dinner. All in all, we thought the inn was fantastic and would certainly return again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVandmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

As part of New England Fall tour we stayed at Gables Inn with Randy and Annette (innkeepers), and Yogi the faithful dog.
Extremely friendly hosts and lovely accomodation,food and surroundings.
Breakfast are legendary as Randy says!
Large Room with Fireplace , very comfortable bed, very clean and well kept.
The place retains some authentic touches and does not try to be too sanitised, the better for it in my view.
We enjoyed this leg of our trip very much thanks to our hosts. No need to elaborate about Stowe what more can you say a beautiful destination.

We enjoyed the recommended hostelry "the Shed" pub for Ale & Food - try it you will not be disappointed.

Thanks for everything we will try and visit again.

David & Carole - Uk visitors

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a fireplace if you are in the fall or winter (i guess) it helps the am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is really good value for money. The owners, Annette and Randy are also operating the property. Therefore, if you need to speak with someone, you speak with the owner, it is sometimes easier than speaking with an employee. They are charming, helpful and very welcoming. The room I had, which was in the main building, could likely handle a little updating, but it would then be more expensive. And, the room & bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable. I was there alone, so even if the room was more than adequate for a couple, I visited 2 another rooms for future reservations when I travel with my wife. These 2 other rooms were excellent, spacious, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast offered is just excellent and is generally available from 8:00 to noon. There is coffee and cake available at all times in the lobby.

Room Tip: Give a description of what you need, because they have rooms for different tastes and needs. The ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaynaldLortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.3 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
3.2 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.1 km away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
0.6 km away
The Mountain Road Resort
2.5 km away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn

Property: The Gables Inn
Address: 1457 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,624 - ₹ 9,244
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Gables Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its cozy atmosphere and great breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing