We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Terrible Service and Customer Assistance” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anchorage Inn
Danville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service and Customer Assistance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. I had a cancelled flight and they did not have the courtesy to waive the charges for the room. I called to discuss this with someone and the service I received from the front desk manager Allison was possibly the worst experiance I have ever had with a hotel; she was rude, demeaning and completely unwilling to be of assistnce. The rates they charge guests to stay in their dilapidated establishment should at least come with good customer service.

Room Tip: DO not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    27
    32
    31
    61
See reviews for
46
49
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

I stayed on a very busy weekend the rooms are a nice size the front desk was very helpful actually met both managers at check in and both were delightful. They were willing to accommodate with the few problems that I encountered nothing big I needed a hair dryer extra pillows and towels rooms was clean. I have read previous reviews and yes the housekeepers were working when I checked in and the hall had dirty laundry but i at least knew my room was clean. You do get what you pay for ..... Great price for great service

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I have been staying here for thirty years. It has slowly gone downhill. The last stay will literally be my last stay. I checked in at around 5:30 -6:00 PM. The halls were littered with dirty bed linens and towels. Everywhere. House cleaning had apparently stripped the sheets and piled them in the halls, but not picked them up. Dirty too.
My room was not good. I had to change from one room to another because the first was so poor. The second had a broken outlet so the television plug did not stay in. The cell phone would not charge. The light in the shower / bathroom was broken.
People were smoking and drinking right outside the side door to the rooms.

Room Tip: I looked at three rooms, one on each floor. The top floor was the best, but still not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Burlington hotels

gatineau
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

i stayed there september 3rd.

there was no hotels that has rooms availlable for this labor day weekend in burlington except the anchorage inn. when i arrived, iv seen the outside of the hotel,seems okay.they got a small check-in counter that show a lot of wear. so, when i walked to my room(3rd floor) i been scared.the carpets looked very old,and the baseboards was removed from the bottom of the walls. but the room looks good. its not the hilton but it was very clean.this hotel shows its age but its not that bad. comfy bed,bad pillows(i always bring mine anyway). they got a great indoor pool. unfortunately the hot tub was out of order. the breakfast aera is not very good,cereals n donuts,thats it. so if youre gonna stay there,just bring your pillow and plan to have a breakfast at a restaurant.

staff is great and helpful

i do recommend this hotel to somebody who wants a not expensive room,and is ready to live with some little flaws

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chainsman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Yes, the price was the best I could find. A Labor Day event had led to many hotels being
totally booked. An '800' number operator identified this place for me. I would rather sleep in
a tent than stay here again.
First, the good things. The young people at the desk were polite and helpful. I needed
access to a refrigerator for medication, and that was quickly and pleasantly provided.
And, there was a bed to sleep in, though there was no mattress cover under the sheet.
Next, the less good things. I don't mind mismatched furniture, but the room was in the basement and felt damp and smelled mildly of that dampness (or mold?). There was a fly
(or maybe flies) that kept buzzing around the room. The on/off switch on the bedside
lamp barely worked. From the photographs of mold on bathtubs shown by another
reviewer, I am surprised that the Burlington Board of Health has not visited this place.
They could provide a clean, basic place to stay, for a relatively reasonable rate, but
they are not even doing that. I couldn't wait to get outside the next day and breath some
fresh air.

Room Tip: My room was in the basement. I have no idea what the rooms above that are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ilovetotravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Burlington hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 14 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Burlington
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Bur...
#9 of 14 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 14 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.9 km away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Property: Anchorage Inn
Address: 108 Dorset St, South Burlington, VT 05403-6231
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Burlington
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,628 - ₹ 7,079
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a supremely convenient location, Anchorage Inn and Suites provides a spectacular venue for budget travelers, family travelers, business travelers, college travelers or what ever the situation that brings you to Burlington.Our 89 room split level facility offers a guest room for everyone’s needs. Our room features are from the simple economy level to the more spacious, comfortable and well appointed suites and family rooms. Located adjacent to University Mall, Barnes & Nobel, Outback Steak House, IHOP, Applebee’s and the interstate you can see, our location is superlative. We are, also, in close proximity to UVM and Fletcher Allen Health Care facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel South Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing