We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Second bedroom
First floor, looking from dining room into bathroom
Sunroom on second floor, window faces South, perfect spot to read a book
The endless fascination of watching the flames dance
Looking from living room into dining area
Half of the living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Rupert, Vermont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JulieBonn...
Blackstone, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This home was like something out of a fairy tale...so beautiful and so much detail through out the house and even outside. Such a peaceful and relaxing place. Not only that, the owner made us warm bread which tasted amazing! The house was very clean too. Definitely a great price for what you got. Our dog had a blast too because the yard was huge. A lot of running around space for him. I just wish we had stayed longer. I will be booking again! I definitely recommend you stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful place
Liked least: Only one tv which was in the master bedroom and the DVD player for it was not working.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Shaftsbury, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quintessential Vermont”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We recently spent a long weekend at Rik’s Hickory Ridge Cabin. It was everything as billed and then some. The location was perfect. We could only hear the rustle of trees and the song of birds. Rik was the perfect host – he was very clear in his explanations of the house and environs but otherwise left us to discovery this magical place at our leisure.

Rik possess that fine-kind-of-madness of the artist and is rightfully proud of his masterpiece in the trees. His cabin was a source of continued amazement and conversation throughout our stay. A favorite was the downstairs bathroom and shower. I won’t even try to explain it - simply a treasure. My daughter remarked she felt as if she was showering in Hawaii. The cabin and location permeates a sense of the sublime.

We also enjoyed walking the area and visited two nearby award-winning farms. We bought raw milk and great cheese. We visited goats and other farm animals. It was the perfect stress reliever. The locals were so friendly and willing to help. The Farmers’ Market in West Pawlet is a must-see of bygone era.

The house may not suitable for very young children as the porch railings are wide. Cell phone coverage is spotty but that suited us just fine. We hope that all visitors will respect this special house made by a special artist.

Not only have we decided to come back – we want to move to Vermont!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the cabin itself.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samanthap...
1 review
“Beautiful cabin in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My boyfriend and I booked this cabin with another couple during Christmas. It was a perfect backdrop and atmosphere for the holiday season. The cabin was warm and cozy for when we arrived. Rik kindly allowed us to set up a Christmas tree, which added to our exprience. Rik is knowledgeable about the area and can give directions for groceries and nearest amenities. The cabin is equipped with all kitchen supplies. Rik also promotes an echo friendly stay, with focus on compost and recycling. The only complaint we had was that the beds were a little uncomfortable. We would definitely come back again. It was well worth the drive!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithN22
Blackstone, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Life Changing Experience”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We found this cabin with just a Google search for "Vermont cabin rentals." There were hundreds of them, but something about this one stood out. It was the look of the place, with all of the natural wood and trees used in the construction. Booking it turned out to be the best vacation decision we've ever made. As great as the pictures are on this site, they do not even begin to do the place justice, and they don’t show everything. There are several very pleasant surprises that aren't mentioned anywhere, like the covered “garage” area where we kept our motorcycles so they’d be out of the weather. When you arrive you see and feel what it really is - an extension of nature built into the beautiful surroundings. We were greeted by Rik and also treated to some delicious fresh-baked bread, but the real treat was Rik himself. An amazing guy that created this amazing place and decided to share it with the rest of the world. And if you’re like us, after the first few minutes there you’ll realize that whatever you paid for it was an unbelievable bargain. The whole environment, from the unique and clever use of trees and nature throughout the cabin to the “Garbage Rules - so garbage doesn't rule” notice, has inspired us to make some major “green” changes at home. So this was literally a life-changing vacation and experience for us! We will be going back regularly, as often as we can. This place gets 5 stars, 10 out of 10, A++, and the best of any other rating format that’s used. And then there’s Rik’s latest project that he’s creating on the property – no spoilers here, you’d have to see it to believe it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a natural extension of the environment, not just another building.
Liked least: That we can't live there permanently!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather12...
Westfield, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cabin was absoulutely amazing. The pictures and description of the cabin and property is very accurate and then some. We traveled with two teenagers and a 4 and 6yr old and they all loved it!!! The cabin is so unique and one of a kind. The property itself is beautiful, plenty of space for kids to run around or enjoy a campfire. I can only imagine how beautiful it is in the fall. Very peaceful, the cabin is secluded but close enough to a grocery store, gas stations and other ammenities. I would (and will) recommend this to anyone wanting to visit Vermont. Knowing nothing about Vermont, Rik was so very helpful to answer all of our questions and give us great advice on things to do (which we did everything except find a moose). Honestly, I can't say enough. We loved it!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique features of this cabin and secluded feeling
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing