We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bailey's Mills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Reading B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My new wife and I started our honeymoon in Vermont by staying 2 nights at Baileys Mills. We have nothing but good things to say about the house and our hostess, Barbara. Her breakfasts were exceeded only by her hospitality. Barbara took us on a 2 hour or so hike thru the hills that was wonderful. She told us the local places to buy syrup, apple cider and recommended places to eat. All of her suggestions worked out. She even took the time to call ahead for us to make sure they were open. We will stay at Baileys Mills again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midlothiantexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

A group of 7 of us stayed at this amazing and interesting property. We had the whole place to ourselves and felt as if we were at home. Barbara is a delightful hostess. Nothing was too much foible odor her and she was able to give us interesting information about her home and the area. The rooms are all well appointed have individual flavors. The breakfast are served in the beautiful old dining room and at a time to suit you and are generous and delicious. We felt very welcome there. We enjoyed Woodstock and surrounding areas and found the whole experience to be most enjoyable and a unique taste of life in Vermont.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Barbara at Bailey's Mills B&B is the perfect hostess. She is welcoming and warm as a hostess. Her place is beautiful and very well appointed. As a large group we rented the entire house and were very comfortably accommodated. Woodstock the nearby town is very cute and well worth a look. Great breakfast and a very warm welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We've been here many times. The scenery beautiful, the food is sublime -- order up what you like for breakfast, its all good. And Barbara the host is one of the friendly, interesting and accommodating hosts you will ever meet. The rooms are cozy and comfortable without being stuffy. And if you like to read -- Barbara has an enormous library, including books by local authors. Because the guests tend to come back, you will start to feel like
your part of a little community.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hankcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Off the beaten track of the main tourist destinations, but absolutely perfect for us on our honeymoon. As an older couple who like the outdoors and the depths of the countryside, this was a piece of heaven. A historic house set in its own grounds, with swimpond and frogpond. Quiet, yes - well, the neighbours sure are. See photos!

Our hostess, Barbara, welcomed us into her home and provided us with the utmost in service and friendliness the whole time we stayed. We were lucky enough to be the only guests for the 4 days we stayed here before moving on to Stowe, and our whole stay was just perfect. We had a wing of the house to ourselves, bathroom, dressing room, spacious bedroom with equally enormous sun room attached.

Breakfast was a sumptuous but healthy feast - a choice of fresh fruit and yoghurt, toast and jams/jellies; fresh fruit juice; and a different hot entree every day. The delicious chicken,apple and maple sausages from local suppliers I could have eaten everyday, although she did serve a different variety on another day, together with hot freshly made Waffles or pancakes or french toast, egg dishes plus the offering of pumpkin pie. This looked absolutely mouthwatering but we just couldn't find space.

Her excellent advice on where to go locally to eat - Keepers Cafe and 1815 Seedhouse Cafe where we enjoyed top notch food, meant our days ended on the right note. The fresh corn on the cob on the 2nd night at Seedhouse was so mouthwateringly sweet and good, we had a second helping. Everyone we met here was friendly, interested and made our stay just great. Barbara assisted us in booking some trips allowing us to use her laptop and phone.

Barbara took us on a local favourite walk of hers, and after jokes between me and Alex on whether bears were evident, gave us 'bearsticks' to carry, although we never encountered any. Sitting on the porch in the evening as it slowly went dark, sharing our champagne and chocolates, chatting quietly watching fireflies twinkling in the trees - perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linnty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bailey's Mills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey's Mills Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rr 1 Box 117, 1347 Baileys Mills Rd, Reading, VT 05062
Region: United States > Vermont > Reading
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Reading
Hotel Class:3 star — Bailey's Mills Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing