We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been coming here for 20 years & keep returning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
Ranked #1 of 6 Quechee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“We have been coming here for 20 years & keep returning!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The Quechee Inn (formerly the Inn at Marshland Farm) is located at the site of the former homestead of Vermont’s first lieutenant governor; the oldest part was built in 1793. It is quaint and charming, despite having modern amenities. Each of the 24 rooms is different in size, layout and decoration, but the general theme is New England colonial. Two of the rooms are suites, each with a separate sitting room.
We have been coming to the Quechee Inn for over 20 years; we usually come 2 or 3 times a year. Since Rick Trahan took over as innkeeper and general manager several years ago, he has engaged in an extensive program of upgrades and improvements. The bedding has been updated and improved; rooms have been repainted and/or repapered. Each room now has free wireless internet, a flat screen TV and a refrigerator. Complimentary sparkling water is provided in each room. The Quechee Inn is now in the process of upgrading and replacing the bathrooms. (As a result, older reviews of the Quechee Inn are out of date.)
In the morning, a complimentary breakfast is offered in the dining room, which usually includes scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, home fries or some other potatoes, coffee and tea, a selection of juices, and an assortment of cereal, breads, and fruits.
The Inn also serves dinner and another upgrade has been the quality of the food. The menu is available on the Inn’s website, but we especially like the roasted garlic shrimp appetizer (4 jumbo shrimp) and the bruschetta primavera (loaded with good stuff). For dinner I can recommend the slow roasted crispy duck, the filet mignon and the grilled salmon. (The garlic shrimp is also available as an entrée.) There is also a fresh catch of the day entrée. For dessert, I recommend the double berry tart, the crème brulee or the molten chocolate lava cake. The restaurant also offers a fairly large wine selection at reasonable prices. The chef, Ed Kroes, was featured in the winter 2011-2012 issue of Woodstock Magazine; unfortunately, the article doesn’t talk very much about the Inn itself.
The first floor has a huge gathering room with a large fireplace. It is furnished with sofas and overstuffed chairs. Decorations include artwork by local painters that is for sale and antique farm tools. There is also a piano and bar, where one can order drinks and “small bites” meals for about $9.00. In the afternoons, complimentary coffee, tea and cookies are provided.
Depending on the season, one can use the wilderness trails, go cross-country skiing, shoe shoeing, kayaking, canoeing, and fly-fishing. The Inn does not have an exercise room, but one can use the facilities at the nearby Quechee Club for a modest daily fee. There are a number of nearby places to visit, including the town of Woodstock and its charming shops, Billings Farm (where you can go on a sleigh ride, which we enjoyed), the Rockefeller Mansion, and the Quechee Gorge.
The Quechee Inn is available for weddings (it can accommodate 225 people outdoors or 65 people seated indoors). The Inn is also a popular destination for office holiday parties.
The Quechee Inn offers various packages throughout the year; you should check the website to see what is offered. (We recommend the “winter warmer” 2-night package and the Wednesday night prix-fixe dinner.) In addition, the Quechee Inn has a Facebook page; specials will also be offered to Facebook “friends.”

Room Tip: Try to get a suite or a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yondan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QInkeeper, General Manager at Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
I would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review. We have been very active in proceeding with upgrades to our rooms while still maintaining the historical identity of the Inn. It is our goal to see all of our guests enjoy the Inn, the Common Room and the beautiful grounds. I am very fortunate to have a great Staff here, and we all look forward to making every guest fully enjoy everything the Inn has to offer.

Again, thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    96
    18
    18
    7
See reviews for
74
175
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have been going to the Quechee Inn for winter getaways off and on for twenty years. We enjoyed a two-night stay in mid-January, after an absence of several years. Happily, the inn remains the same year after year. We were there on a Wednesday night and enjoyed their mid-week prix fixe menu in the dining room. A jazz duo entertained throughout the dinner hour. Most enjoyable.
We go for the cross-country skiing and were disappointed because of the lack of snow. We did manage an hour and a half on the icy tracks though.
Breakfast was somewhat skimpy, but adequate. One has a choice of several continental style offerings and a choice of cooked-to-order eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage. Nothing special.
The rooms are lovely and well appointed. High speed wi-fi and flat panel televisions. The rates are quite economical.
It's easy to recommend the Quechee Inn.

Room Tip: Their website is a good resources in choosing a room. We have stayed in many different rooms and enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We brought a group of 19 professionals to the Inn in the late Fall for a one night 2 day retreat. Due to the time of year we were able to secure the Inn for our entire group. The welcome and service by the Inn's staff was excellent. All attendees commented on the wonderful and charming guest rooms. While this is not a modern meeting facility (a true country Inn) the Inn met and exceeded our requirements for an intimate and relaxing retreat. Hors D’oeuvres and dinner were outstanding as were breakfast and lunch. We conducted round table discussions during the day and relaxed by the fire in the lounge in the evening. One of our group entertained on the Inn’s piano. Some attendees took time to enjoy the grounds and the Village of Quechee which has recovered nicely from Hurricane Irene.
I would be pleased to speak to you about our experience.
Peter
Vermont State Dental Society
[--]

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Inn and generally enjoyed my 2 night stay. While the food and the service could not have been better and the atmosphere so relaxing, the Inn needs cleaning- bugs and cobwebs in the windows, dust under beds and behind bureaus, and rugs are old and dirty. If these issues are addressed, the Inn can once again find itself as a truly "superb example of a classic New England Inn".
Signed, WorldTraveler

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroad77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Advice to anyone booking Quechee Inn at Marshland Farm online based on our experience: We didn't even get to stay because Quechee Inn didn't accept our fully paid confirmed reservation for three days because they overbooked accommodation. We had a fully paid confirmed reservation booked online a month ahead of our stay. We travelled 16,000 kilometers from Australia plus booked Boston accommodation and hire car to drive to Quechee, only to find the middle day of a three day stay would not be accepted. The Inn expected us to stay one night, go elsewhere for the second night and then back to Quechee Inn for the third night even though other inns in the district required a minimum two or three day stay plus it was a holiday long weekend and many places were booked out. In our opinion, an appalling way to treat it's guests especially since at the time we got the message about the overbooking, weeks after we’d booked, the Inn’s website, as confirmed by their front desk receptionist and hotels.com, still indicated they had a room available. Would never consider staying there or recommending it to anyone regardless of how quaint and pleasant it might be. On top of that, they have a penalty for guests who cancel their reservation but there appears to be no penalty for them when they cancel. If it wasn't for hotels.com sorting alternate accommodation nearby for all three nights, don't know where we would have stayed. A real pity as we were looking forward to the stay.

Room Tip: How would we know? Our fully paid confirmed reservation wasn't accepted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AussieSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QInkeeper, General Manager at Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
As the General Manager I feel very compelled to respond to this review. How terrible that this guest unfortunately perceives that this Inn would have done this to her or any guest. When we received this request from Hotels.com, we immediately contacted their management response team to tell them that we had just completely sold out all rooms for that Saturday just prior to getting the request from them. We are not given any direct contact information for Hotels.com bookings other than a name, room type requested and arrival date. We have no way to contact a guest who books on-line with them as they do not, as a policy, provide us with a phone number or email. If only they did, none of this would have occurred. We, as a policy, never over-book. Hotels.com asked us if we would “bump” someone else to accommodate this request. We said no, as we would never do that to anyone. We then suggested that if this guest wished to stay here just that Friday to enjoy the Inn for at least the one night, we would be happy to book that. Hotels.com told us that this would not work and that they would relocate guest. We then gave them several suggestions as to other nice places to stay in the area. We heard nothing further.

Two weeks later I noticed on the on-line inventory grid we use to manage rooms we make available to on-line booking websites that this guest was STILL listed as a pending arrival here at the Inn. I then contacted them and was told that the guest had been relocated and that they would remove the still pending reservation. To my amazement, they then called us to say that they had observed that we still had a room available on-line and that our front desk clerk had also confirmed this, which was nonsense. If by any chance we had experienced a cancellation, we would have contacted Hotels.com to see whether the guest still wanted to book here. Several days before this guest was to arrive in the area, I noticed that she was STILL listed as a pending arrival. I then spoke with a senior manager at Hotels.com directly who clearly contacted the guest only days before they were to arrive to apparently tell them that we were reneging on the reservation. What a shame. We did everything we could possibly do to make sure that the guest was well situated in advance of her stay. What this guest clearly does not understand is that the paid for confirmation she received is from Hotels.com, not the Inn. We do not and can not directly send any information to guests who book with these types of agencies, and we are only paid after the guest has stayed here.

I certainly hope that this guest would contact me here directly at the Inn as I would be happy to provide her with as much detail as possible regarding this unfortunate incident. I encourage anyone who does book with an on-line agency such as Hotels.com to contact the Inn directly to confirm your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quechee
1.3 km away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
12.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
13.7 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
350 reviews
8.7 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
9.4 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm

Property: Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
Address: 1119 Quechee Main St., Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,012 - ₹ 15,566
Hotel Class:3 star — Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1793, the inn was originally the home of Colonel Joseph Marsh, Vermont's first lieutenant governor. Since that time, the historic residence has been expanded and carefully restored to maintain as much of the 19th century character and charm as possible, while adding modern conveniences like private baths, cable TV, and air conditioning for all of the guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm Hotel Quechee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing