We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not ever stay here!”
Review of Salt Ash Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salt Ash Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We booked this place paying top dollar for Xmas time having top expectations. But it turned out to be a miserable stay. The place was under construction when we first walked in. Apparently they were recovering from Hurricane Irene which happened about 4 months ago which is ridiculous. The owner of the place did not touch a thing the opening day of the season. So I think it is OK in his view to have guests walking in to their rooms passing through a construction time.

Do not expect to have breakfast at time. We were told breakfast starts at 7 am. Forget about it. You are lucky to find anybody in the kitchen before 8 or 9am. And some days nobody shows up at all. The building is so old and noisy. You can literally hear everything happening upstairs and downstairs.

Overall, do not go to this place if you are looking for a nice ski vacation.Period.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tuna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

Don't let the exterior deceive you. My kids' faces fell when they first saw it, as it is right on the street and looks quite run down. But we all LOVED the rooms - charming, spacious, and nice bathrooms (we had the 4 bedroom suite, which was a lot of fun for them). The pool was fine -- clean, but quite cold and a few nasty flies around! One of our rooms didn't have a fan, but maybe if we'd asked for one more it could've been provided. The breakfast was fine, and the staff working were extrememly helpful and friendly. Perhaps it was a bit overpriced, but otherwise a very nice summer stay.

Room Tip: If you have a large family, my kids LOVED the "sleeps 9" railroad style suite with 4 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMKCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We loved this place and will be going back this winter to ski at Killington. The place is rustic and unique. Like no other I stayed in before. We appreciated all the rich history. The original post office window where Calvin Coolidge picked up his mail from is in the bar. There are great old pictures from the 1800s and Al was kind enough to give us a bit of a history lesson. Our room was fabulous and breakfast hit the spot. Looking forward to our return trip!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NYCSkier020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We were disappointed in the Salt Ash Inn. We found the property poorly maintained on the outside. Our room was not clean and decorated with garage sale type furniture.

A positive comment was the person in charge was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DeboDebo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We loved the Salt Ash Inn. Al was the best. It is a very relaxing environment. Played volleyball outside, some of our family swam in the pool. Took lots of photos in the garden area out back. Our rooms were great. We stayed in the modern part and our rooms were extremely clean and our bathrooms were oversized and great. We really enjoyed our stay and would go back again for sure. Great value for price!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdabaum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
12.0 km away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
277 reviews
17.8 km away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
14.5 km away
Mountain Lodge at Okemo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
15.2 km away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
19.3 km away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Ash Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Ash Inn

Address: Jct. Routes 100 & 100A, Plymouth, VT 05056
Region: United States > Vermont > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: ₹ 5,080 - ₹ 17,519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salt Ash Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salt Ash Inn is conveniently located near Killington and Okemo Ski Areas in Calvin Coolidge's hometown of Plymouth, in Vermont. We are just up the road from the Long Trial Brewery, and a short drive to Woodstock. The Inn is a very casual, home-style Vermont Country Inn, think about it as a home full of friends you haven’t met yet. The main building is rich in history and much of our furnishings are antique and rustic. The main building has been an 1830s stagecoach stop, a general store and even a post office. The Inn has undergone many updates over the years and recently underwent a major renovation after damages caused by Hurricane Irene. It now offers 13 uniquely decorated guest rooms (all with private baths, individually controlled heat, TV's and telephones with free domestic calls). We offer warm common areas for lounging or reading, a cozy rustic Country style bar with pool table, gas fireplace, and some of the most unique furnishings you will find anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salt Ash Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Ash Hotel Plymouth
Salt Ash Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing